We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant South Beach stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Congress Hotel South Beach

Save Saved
You added Congress Hotel South Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Congress Hotel South Beach
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1052 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly The Strand)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
$25 Pool Bar Credit/Stay
Ranked #71 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Pleasant South Beach stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed here for three nights at the beginning of a longer trip to Miami and the Florida Keys.

The location was great, right in the middle of Ocean Drive, and all facilities very good. The staff were extremely accomodating when we dealt with them.

However as comparison to the other hotels we stayed in on our trip, it was a bit inconvenient to have to leave our building to go and use the pool in a different building, the location means it is quite noisy and also bright from the lights on adjacent buildings, which mean it was a bit difficult to sleep.

Overally the stay was perfectly pleasant, but nothing outstanding.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

923 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    354
    266
    124
    101
    78
See reviews for
94
357
43
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oceanside, New York
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed from May 3rd to May 5th. First the good things: The location of the hotel is perfect. Across the street from the beach (the hotel supplies beach towels) and close to restaurants, bars, etc...The staff we encountered was very nice. I want to especially thank Paula and Louis. Paula helped us to find fairly last minute reservations for our group of 7 when reservations at another restaurant unexpectantly changed. She also helped us with other things along the way and was very nice and professional about everything. Louis helped us with our bags the day we were leaving and even printed our boarding passes when the lobby computer wasn't working. The rooftop pool is small but the view is great! And now on to the not so good things: We booked an oceanfront suite but we expected a king bed and a pull out sofa. There was a king bed but instead of a pull out sofa there was a futon. We were supposed to be 4 girls in a room but one of the girls couldn't make it at the last minute. In a way this was a good thing because it would not have been a comfortable situation. The futon is too small for 2 to share and not very comfortable. There should also be asuite option with 2 queen beds and the futons should be replaced with actual pull out sofas. Overall the good outweighs the bad.

Room Tip: The oceanfront suite is larger than most of the other rooms but bring earplugs as the music in the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Myself and a friend stopped off in Miami for 4 days and stayed at The Congress Hotel. Excellent location being so close to the beach and the main nightlife. Big rooms with comfy beds and lots of space! The rooftop pool has beautiful views and is great for relaxing. We found the staff very friendly and helpful especially Kelvin and the porter staff. We were sad to leave!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Overall: I gave a "4" because I was comfortable there, loved the location & enjoyed the rooftop pool. Rooms: I gave a "3" because I paid for Ocean Front with a balcony I did NOT get this room & wasn't offered a refund for the extra I paid. The TVs are miniature..I watched movies on my laptop instead. Service: I gave a "3" majority of the people were excellent friendly & very helpful from the manager Eleanor , Brian the bellboy, to the Rooftop DJ (Sunday 5/5) to Guillermo inhousekeeping & other housekeepers to the clerk that checked us in Weds evening but when asking for ice, can opener, extra linen it took forever!! The black female clerk at the desk during the day is rude!! Bad enough she wont greet u but if u greet her she wont speak but has no problem speaking while holding personal convos on the phone every time u walk by her..I guess she feels ur interrupting her thats y she's so impolite!! Value: I gave a "2" because of how much I paid & didn't get what I paid for & for the updates they need to make:

TVs should be at least the size of the lobby TV, When rooms are not available remove them from the booking options, They need dressers & more utensils for the full kitchen. They could have a wider selection of music for the pool, a REAL happy hour..when we arrived the bartender was "out of $3 shots. My last hotel was Essex & I loved it!! I ONLY booked with Congress because I wanted an ocean front room with a balcony so u can imagine my disappointment!! Essex had a free 2 hr Happy Hour for guest & a lobby & outside bar. & friends I met down there had hotels that offered HH also.

Congress is NOT horrible not sure Ill stay there again but if u know what to expect going in I think u will be less disappointed!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marchtrenk, Austria
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We were actually in the Mimi Vacations Rental next to the Congress Hotel, but we had our Check in and out with the Congress Staff and could use the facilities like the Pool.
I cannot comment about the rooms or food, but I want to comment about the very nice and educated staff working there. Starting from the lovely ladies at the reception, finishing with the well-educated help like Rafael or Brian!

Please keep staff like that in your team - they made our somehow problematic stay with Mimi, so much more pleasurable!!! Congratulations!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eleonor C, Front Office Manager at Congress Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you for your kind review; even though you did not stay at The Congress Hotel South Beach you were able to experience the excellent customer service that we provide to all guests . We hope to have you stay at The Congress Hotel South Beach next time you’re in town.

Regards,

Eleonor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

Rafa and Kelvin made our stay at the Congress extremely enjoyable. They were knowledgable about clubs and nearby restaurants. There was fresh apples in the lobby each day as well as cool refreshing water. Kelvin offered champagne to us while we were in the lobby, making the bachelorette party we were celebrating seem very special. The rooms has very tall ceilings and were bright and open.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eleonor C, Front Office Manager at Congress Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
We are happy to hear that you had a great stay at The Congress Hotel South Beach. Rafa, Kelvin, and the rest of the staff take great pride in providing excellent customer service and its seems that we are doing just that. Cant wait to see you on your next trip to Miami...

A big CONGRATS to the bride to be from The Congress Hotel South Beach!

Sincerely,
Eleonor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is like the pictures. Warning, there is a congregation of homeless people that live right outside this hotel. They will pester you non stop, we witnessed fights, drug deals.... One of them snuck up to the roof top pool & harassed pool patrons.
The 2nd day we were there the beach chairs & towels were not available because the beach chair company had a contract dispute with the hotel. They did refund our $25 "resort fee" for that day though. Yes the fee is $12.50 per PERSON.
Lastly, the hotel receptionists are all rude & act like you are bothering them.
Roof top pool is great, ocean view plus a view of the vagrants getting drunk & begging for money & left over alcohol.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Congress Hotel South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Congress Hotel South Beach

Address: 1052 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly The Strand)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#54 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Congress Hotel South Beach 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Otel, BookIt.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Congress Hotel South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strand Ocean Drive Hotel
Strand Ocean Drive Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Congress Hotel South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.