We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but an average hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Congress Hotel South Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Congress Hotel South Beach to your Saves list
Congress Hotel South Beach
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1052 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly The Strand)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Book direct & Save 30%!
Ranked #82 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
toronto
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good location but an average hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I stayed at this hotel on march 29th 2013-April 1st.

Pros
The location is perfect
The room is big but the sliding door for the washroom was broken.
Check in and check out was fast.
The beach is right across the hotel and if you stay at the hotel you get beach chairs when your at the beach.

Cons
The water was not working for a few hours so you could not take a shower. Lol
Check in is at 4 and check out is at 11
The pool on the rooftop is cold and the pool is small. No one is usually at the pool because the water is so cold.
The tv is the size of a laptop. The room is big but the tv is so small.
They have no pay per view or like monies to rent to watch.
The shower is weird if you want the water to come out from the top the water is burning hot.
The only way to take a shower is to hold a piece like a bar and water comes out of it and you have to hold it and take a shower.

**if you stay at this hotel you do not need a rental car because everything is walking distance. The beach is across the street. Overall the hotel is ok the location is very good. We had no problems there but when we were checking out another family was very unhappy with this hotel because they messed up their booking. Also the restaurants outside the hotel on ocean drive may seem cheap because of the prices they advertise but they charge donations on their bill which you can ask to remove and they put an 18% tip to your bill and the service sucks. Their is a very good Mexican restaraunt on espanola drive it's on the left.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

980 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    374
    291
    129
    105
    81
See reviews for
105
380
45
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

The congress hotel is in a great place to stay. It's awesome during the day being across the street from the beach and the rooftop pool bar is perfect for the afternoons to cool off after the beach before dinner. It was close to many night life attractions. Overall it was in a great locations and very walk able. The actual rooms they were very spacious, newly renovated and clean. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. In particular the bell boy Louis was very accommodating, willing to get whatever we needed, and gave us advice on need to go places in South Beach. Overall it was a great stay and vacation. I would highly recommend the Congress Hotel in South Beach.

Room Tip: We stayed in a junior suite and it was perfect for the week.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I frequent South Beach every year for WMC and Ultra Music Festival (8 years in a row). Have stayed in different hotels, condos, suites on A1A, Collins, Jefferson, and Washington. None have stacked up to my stay at the Congress. Perfect location: Right in the mix of Ocean Drive. The roof top pool was secluded so it wasn't over crowded. the room was spacious, clean, up-to-date, and comfortable. What really set the Congress apart: the hospitality. the front desk was patient (some minor issues) and friendly. The pool bar staff were awesome. Housekeeping was super friendly (and didn't try to clean my room at 10am when I was still recovering from the previous night). The restaurants downstairs were good, not sure if they are tied to the hotel. The entire staff at the Congress made this stay in South Beach memorable and legendary! I will stay at the Congress every trip now and all my friends are getting the Congress recommended only.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eleonor C, Front Office Manager at Congress Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay while at The Congress Hotel South Beach. I have to agree with you that we are in the perfect location, right smack in the middle of all the fun. The entire staff at The Congress Hotel South Beach takes enormous pride in providing the best customer service and it seems that we are doing just that.

See you next year!!

Eleonor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

It's right in the middle of "the happenings" on Ocean Drive. The room was nice and comfortable and Kelvin and Paula at the front desk were great. There is great food all around you and you're a stone's throw from the white sand of beautiful South Beach. Of course Ocean Drive in general is probably not the place to stay if you want "peace and quiet" but it's perfect for eating, drinking, shopping, and tanning!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eleonor C, Front Office Manager at Congress Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
The Congress Hotel South beach wants to thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay. We are happy to hear that we Paula, Kelvin, and the rest of the staff provided you with excellent customer service.

Sincerely,
Eleonor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed there in the end of January , and we we Very impressed . We had a horrible experience in the Perry South due to renovations, transferred to the Riu which was very "Motel like"...... . So the congress was our last shot at saving our Vacation, and it did . The rooms were nice , roomy , and very clean . The Staff was great especially the Manager of the Hotel , she was more than accommodating . This is the only hotel I ever want to stay at in South Beach , if you don't believe me , try it out , you won't be disappointed .

Room Tip: The Higher you go the less south beach noise there is . (There isn't much)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eleonor C, Front Office Manager at Congress Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review The Congress Hotel South Beach. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that the staff was helpful. We are glad that The Congress Hotel South Beach was able to save your vacation.

Sincerely,

Eleonor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Me and three of my friends stayed at the Congress during the first weekend of miami music week. Ocean drive has many hotels, however many are outdated and lack amenities (I know from experience, as I visit south beach often). However, the Congress is updated, clean, and extremely spacious. My friends and I fit comfortably in our 1 bedroom suite with a pull out couch and kitchenette with all new appliances. Need to mention that the bathroom was updated and the shower was amazing. I HIGHLY recommend the congress as one of the best hotels on Ocean Drive. Rooftop pool was also fun with spectacular views and amazing music. Hotel staff was very accommodating to all our needs, especially Kelvin. Definitely stay here if you are looking to book a hotel on Ocean Drive- you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eleonor C, Front Office Manager at Congress Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Hi Sara,

Thank you for your amazing review. We are happy to hear that The Congress Hotel South Beach met your expectations. We pride ourselves in giving the best customer service and it seems that we are doing just that.

Hope to see you next time your in Miami.

Sincerely,
Eleonor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

I liked it very much, the rooms are very comfortable. The staff is great, especially Paula and Rafael that helped us in everything we needed. Would go again, the staff at the beach also very good! The pool with the dj was a blast, and the breakfast was also good.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eleonor C, Front Office Manager at Congress Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you for the STELLAR review on your recent stay at The Congress Hotel South Beach. We pride ourselves in providing the best personalized customer service and it looks like we are doing just that! Paula & Rafael are a great part of our team and they truly enjoying helping out our guests with all of their needs.

Sincerely,

Eleonor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Congress Hotel South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Congress Hotel South Beach

Address: 1052 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly The Strand)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#59 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Congress Hotel South Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Congress Hotel South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strand Ocean Drive Hotel
Strand Ocean Drive Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Congress Hotel South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.