We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not worth the money” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Congress Hotel South Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Congress Hotel South Beach to your Saves list
Congress Hotel South Beach
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1052 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly The Strand)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
$15 Pool Bar Credit/Stay
Ranked #78 of 204 Hotels in Miami Beach
Colby, Kansas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“not worth the money”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

My friends room didn't even have a room darkening blind and they were facing the parking garage with lights shining into the room all night. They asked for a blind and were told they would send someone up. one of the stayed in the room for over a hour(beach time wasted) and nobody came. She stopped by the front desk four times and they assured her it would be taken care of. By late afternoon it still hadn't been taken care of so she asked to be moved to a new room. They told her someone was on the way to put the shade. When we were ready for bed she stopped in again and they told her sorry but they had been unable to get to it, she asked for another room and they said they didn't have one. She said she would be leaving a bad review on tripadviser, they said they were sorry to here that. By the time we reached our rooms the bellboy( the only good employee) had come up to tell them that there was another room available and he would help them move. by this time they were angry and tired so they decided not to pack everything up and move. The bellboy felt very bad for them and tried to make it up to them by giving them champagne. So even though I gave the service a terrible rate this young man was excellent, if only all the employees were like him.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy R, General Manager at Congress Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Thank you very much for your posting.

Our most sincere apologies for the discrepancies you have experienced during your stay at the Congress Hotel. We will take a look at our room product and assure it exceeds all expectations from a usage and cleanliness perspective. We will be working on improving our rooms and functionality all through next year and will be utilizing your feedback to improve our service levels. On another note I am happy to hear that the bellman met your customer service expectations. I hope the next time you are in town you will reach out to me prior to arrival, so I may assure we exceed your expectations.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

963 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    283
    128
    103
    80
See reviews for
101
374
45
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Staying at the Congress Hotel was one of the best decision have made so far. It was a fantastic experience. We were greated by the best , most professional and friendliest staff, starting outside by the bellman Brian, to the front desk with Eleonor . The hotel was very clean and very new to be in the heart of South Beach. Close to every restaurant and clubs of Ocean Dr. The room was very clean and fully loaded just as described on the booking. Getting back on forth to the airport was very simple and very cheap with the Go shuttle as well ($21 per person).
If you are looking for a nice clean safe hotel really close to everything on Ocean Dr I recommend the Congress for the value and the quality you get without any doubt.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms of the main building (C) are great for the view and very close to the roof top pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy R, General Manager at Congress Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Stephan,

I am so happy to hear that that we exceeded all of your expectations. We take pride in providing the best customer service possible to all of our guests. We appreciate the feedback and are looking forward to your next stay at the Congress Hotel.

GO DOLPHINS!

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel the night prior to our cruise departing from the port of Miami. I had extremely high hopes for this hotel and found myself quite dissatisfied. I was expecting a modern room without a nice beach view...or any view. I got a small room with 3you windows looking nowhere. After struggling with the broken shades I realized why they Sid not open! I was also excited for this modern tub I was promised (yes its tue little things) lol...there was no such thing in our room. Just a crappy old bathtub that was clogged. All of the hotel entrances on ocean boulevard are set behind restaurants that will push you into seats with their so-called happy hour! Don't fall for it! We left the congresses hotel restaurant twice!! I would rather eat dirt than pay $50the for an appetizer! If your eating on a budget there are other places! Tyhe beach is across the street and there is a very very small roof top pool! I will def try a different hotel next time however it did serve its purpose for 1 night!! ***the $12.50 resort fee is SUPPOSED to include breakfast however they don't offer it up....you have to ask for the voucher!! The voucher gets everyone on your party free breakfast from the kitchen menu ( up to $5.75)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy R, General Manager at Congress Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thank you very much for your posting.

We are saddened by the results of your stay. We will take a look at our room product and assure it exceeds all expectations from a usage and cleanliness prospective. We will be utilizing the feedback to improve our service levels. Unfortunately, since we do not own or operate the restaurants, we do not have direct control over their prices or service. I hope the next time you are in town you will reach out to me prior to arrival, so I may assure we exceed your expectations.

Warm Regards,

Nancy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

First time to South Beach and it was awesome, all thanks to the location of our hotel! Right at Ocean and 11th is great for those who are looking to walk everywhere. Right across the street from the beach, a block away from David's Cafe, a few blocks (still walking distance) from Lincoln Road Mall and the shopping along Collins Ave, next to the Clevelander, down the street from Wet Willie's and News Cafe, and easy access to bike rentals and the boardwalk.

This hotel doesn't have a fancy reception, instead a simple desk and smiling staff, and it has everything you NEED. Our junior suite included a full kitchen (with plates, pots, etc.), a couch, a safe, an awesome shower (rain shower and hand-held at the same time) and a comfy queen (although it seemed like a king size) bed. One of the BEST perks of this hotel is the ROOF TOP POOL with the best view of the ocean! This hotel is great value for your money!

There are 3 buildings to this hotel. If you go to bed early and hate walking, this is not the place for you. The Clevelander is next door and those parties last all night long, so if you don't like music at 3am, go elsewhere, or ask for the building far from the Clevelander.

The only thing I can complain about, if I had to find something wrong, was that our room sometimes smelled like cleaner. Which is nice to know that the room was cleaned, but the smell was a bit strong.

The staff was very helpful. I mentioned ahead of time that we were there to celebrate my husband's birthday, and we were greeted with a bottle of wine! 2 guys helped with our luggages, Louis (when we arrived) and Brian (when we left) who were both great and friendly. Concierge called the night before we left to ask if we needed assistance during check out and, gave us a 1 hour later check out which allowed us to spend some time at the pool.

Overall, FANTASTIC and would definitely return to this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy R, General Manager at Congress Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful posting. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us & thank you for mentioning the great staff. We hope to see you again soon.

Regards,

Nancy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This hotel was in a great location. The beach was in walking distance and there were great restaurants really close. My room was extremely comfortable and modern. The staff was wonderful! They were always polite and eager to help their guests. Stephanie the Front Desk Clerk was truly the greatest! She welcomed us from the time we stepped into this hotel. I will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy R, General Manager at Congress Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your superb review on our hotel and staff! I'm happy to hear that you had a great time while staying at The COngress Hotel. We've been working hard to make sure guests have a fantastic stay and it sounds like we are succeeding!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

If location is everything, this hotel would be a "5" as it sits right in the center of South Beach, however, while it is recommended, it is not for everybody. In addition to its location, the positives include a very attentive staff, modern art deco surroundings and above average size rooms complete with a full size fridge, dual burner cook-top range, dishwasher and microwave. The negatives were a very tiny 23 in LCD TV, no desk (although there is a pull out table in the kitchen but no chairs!), uncomfortable furniture, and a lot of noise on my second floor room located farthest from the ocean and the South Beach Strip. Parking is steep (typical for South Beach) at $25/day for self-park and $34/day for valet, so save some money and park in the public garage less than 3 blocks away for just $20/weekday and $15/weekend day. For just $79/night on Hotwire (plus the $12.50/day dreaded resort fee) this is a very reasonably priced hip modern chic place to stay with a great staff and good location, but still falls short in a couple important respects. For a party or romantic weekend, it would be a fine choice; for anyone else, there are better choices.

Room Tip: If you have to put up with the noise anyway, try to get ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy R, General Manager at Congress Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear Guest, I'm sorry to read about your experience at the property, I would urge you to reach out to me via email (nrednor@congresshotelsouthbeach.com) or via phone 305-534-6820 to speak in detail about your stay. We will be working on improving our rooms and functionality all through next year. South Beach is very much part of the nightlife scene and people are out at all times of the night so noise is something that is hard to avoid. We take great pride in our hotel and the service we provide our guests and hope you will give us a chance to make it up to you on a future stay.

Kind Regards,
Nancy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Good hotel. At first they didnt give us a room with a balcony or in the main building. But I asked can I be changed to a room with a balcony. She changed our room to 502 in the main building a 1 bedroom suite the best room by far. The room was oceanfront with a wrap around balcony. From our balcony we can see the ocean and get to watch all the action on Ocean Drive. Thank you so much. You really made our vacation memorable. We had a 5 month old baby so of course we didnt get to party but no worries with our room we never felt left out the action. We didnt hear a lot of noise so perfect for a baby to sleep. Pool was one floor up amazing view but our room had the same view as the pool so you can imagine how lucky we were. Pool was small but nice and it felt heated so definate plus wish we had used it more but it rained a lot.Pool was only one towel left to when we got up there. They did have umbrellas over some chairs at the pool and nice lounge areas and good music playing. The kitchen was great cooked all our meals.No oven or can opener.Elevators were quick.Only negatives breakfast want included like their website stated also resort fee sucks it included beach chairs and towels.Tub was dirty but maid came and cleaned it up in a flash.Umbrella you had to pay a extra 15 dollars dollars. Too much seaweed in the ocean yuck. Staff were nice.Thanks for making our stay memorable.

Room Tip: ask for room 502 main building best wrap around balcony and view. Entrance between the restaurants I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy R, General Manager at Congress Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for recently being our guest and taking the time to review us!

I'm very happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff was happy to help you with all of your needs and make certain that you had a memorable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Congress Hotel South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Congress Hotel South Beach

Address: 1052 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly The Strand)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#57 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Congress Hotel South Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Otel, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Congress Hotel South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strand Ocean Drive Hotel
Strand Ocean Drive Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Congress Hotel South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.