We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent view from the penthouse to the beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Congress Hotel South Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Congress Hotel South Beach to your Saves list
Congress Hotel South Beach
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1052 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly The Strand)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Book direct & Save 30%!
Ranked #83 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Santo Domingo, Distrito Nacional, Dominican Republic
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“excellent view from the penthouse to the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

well.. my opinion is close to the beach, good service, good location.
has a restaurant on the first floor and roof outdoor.
you find many attractions, the beach is across the street, excellent customer service,

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy R, General Manager at Congress Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Perfect! Thank you so much for your short and sweet review! We are all smiles that you had a wonderful stay. Thanks again, and we hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

985 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    292
    130
    105
    82
See reviews for
106
381
46
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I was really looking forward to my stay in South Beach and booked the Congress for location, size of room available and affordability.

The hotel is listed as five star luxury - well, its really tatty, and could do with a facelift. There was mould all over the bathroom, hadnt been cleaned properly and the lift insurance is out of date. |The walls are paper thin, sdd to that the doors dont fit properly and so really noisy.

Unless you want to party all night - dont bother staying there! the noise from the bars goes on until at least 2 am and then at 7 am they start clearing up and boy is it noisy!

The hotel doesnt offer any decent room service - greasy burgers and pizzas only, cash or card only - and if you use the pool bar its cash only, you cant charge anything to the room. The 'restaurant' is downstairs and seems to be worked on a partnership basis. The hotel doesnt offer breakfast - we pushed for it as it was listed on my booking they reluctantly gave me vouchers to the value of $5.75 per day but I couldnt use it as they didnt open til late and I had to get away to the office.......... The bedlinen and towels are really thin and need replacing - all in all it was very disappointing.

However the staff were very friendly.

Room Tip: If you want to use the pool, make sure you stay in that building - otherwise you have to walk up the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy R, General Manager at Congress Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Our most sincere apologies for the discrepancies you have experienced during your stay with us. We take great pride in our hotel and the service we provide our guests and hope you will give us a chance to make it up to you on a future stay. We will be working on improving our rooms and functionality all through next year. We do address all guest noise complaints directly with Miami Beach Code Compliance, who in turn issue written warnings to the establishment in question and have the authority to close it down temporarily if they do not comply. Unfortunately, since we do not own or operate the restaurants, we do not have direct control over how loud the music is played, but we do our best to keep our guests comfortable and happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Came down to south beach a few weeks ago just for the weekend. My friends & I had seen a lot of good reviews about the congress hotel so we decided to go by that. And boy are we glad we did. We had an amazing that! The view from our room was perfect, the weather was awesome, & the best part everything is walking distance. The front desk staff were really nice & not one time did i see any of the girls snappy or rude. always smiling. We received a complimentary drink at check in which started our night off. Although we didn't really enjoy the pool, it is located on the rooftop and has a great view as well. I definitely recommend this hotel to all my friends & family.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy R, General Manager at Congress Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. I'm happy to hear that you had a great stay with us! We've been working hard to make sure guests have a fantastic stay and it sounds like we are succeeding!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

I was so impressed with the facilities and staff of the Congerss Hotel. The ocean front room had an amazing view of Ocean drive and the pool deck on the roof gave a perfect view of the ocean. The staff was friendly and attended to my every need. I will absolutely be staying with them again in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy R, General Manager at Congress Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for recently being our guest and taking the time to review us!

I'm very happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff was happy to help you with all of your needs and make certain that you had a special experience.

We look forward to welcoming you home soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel when I went to South Beach for a "Girl's trip" in September 2012. It is very Clean, Has a great location, and the customer service was terrific! The rooms were modern & spacious and very comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Florida, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Stayed for two nights. Sandra at the front desk was very friendly and nice. We got a Junior Suite which was very large and had a balcony with a side ocean view. Much more than I expected for the price I paid ($160 per night) There is a resort fee but it includes 2 beach chairs and towels. The rooftop pool is amazing. Sandra also allowed us to do a late check out with no additional fees. We will be back.

The only negatives I have are the construction on the beach nearby and the tub had no hot water.

Room Tip: I would avoid rooms close to the Clevelander they have very loud music all day and most of the night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Location, location, location! The Congress is located in the middle of hip and happening Ocean Drive! The room was clean, modern, and had great views of the beach. You are surrounded by bars, restaurants, and all that South Beach has to offer. The rooftop pool is great although there is not a lot of seating. The hotel also provides beach chairs and towels free of charge. I would stay there again for partying and people watching. I would stay farther North or South if I was looking for more R&R. There is music playing all night and then it starts back up at 9:00 am. It just adds to the South Beach vibe but makes it really hard to sleep. The bed was super comfortable though. If you want peace and quiet then Ocean Drive may not be th place for you. If you want a fun and energetic South Beach experience then The Congress is perfect for you! I would definitely recommend this hotel and hope to stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy R, General Manager at Congress Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you so much for your great rating of our hotel! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate the feedback and are looking forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Congress Hotel South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Congress Hotel South Beach

Address: 1052 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly The Strand)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#60 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Congress Hotel South Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Congress Hotel South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strand Ocean Drive Hotel
Strand Ocean Drive Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Congress Hotel South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.