We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay and Great Host” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Place

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ocean Place to your Saves list
Ocean Place
226 Ocean Dr. 225 Collins, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (South Pointe)   |  
Hotel amenities
toronto
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay and Great Host”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Perfect 2 bedroom/bathroom condo right across from the park and beach with a direct, and i mean direct view of the ocean/beach and morning sunrise. Renting suite 5d was very easy and Steve took great care of us on our arrival. Parking is available but we did not need it. 2 sets of keys and fobs were also available. nice little pool that is sunny most of the day and a small gym for basic workouts. master bed is a big size with direct access to walk in closets and ensuite bathroom. Room also has access to the terrace. 2nd bedroom does not have a window and has a bathroom across the hall. All rooms have great tv's and av equipment. Kitchen is fully stocked and we cooked bfast everyday. Lots of appliances too-feels like home but with a great view! Washer and dryer in the suite which was handy as we worked out everyday. Publix was a 15 minute walk away for food and booze along 5th street at Alton road. Condo very well located. All in, good value and great location with good hosts. people very friendly in the building. We'll be going back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    3
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We selected unit 5D for a 5 week stay because of the location and great photos (which were accurate).

We noted a strong dog smell when we first arrived (and mentioned it) but assumed it would go away.

The back bedroom and sofa bed were infested with fleas. They did not come with us as I have asthma and we have NO pets. Flea pupae can lay dormant for 170 days and spray doesn't kill pupae. The condo manager acknowledged this. See fleas, 4th paragraph: http://www.cdc.gov/nceh/publications

We have photos to prove our bites. We collected glasses of water filled with fleas that the local custodian saw. We moved out for 3 nights and 4 days to give the managers a chance to clean and spray, to get rid of the dog smell,and to remove the sofa bed, rugs, and blankets that had fleas. We spent all day washing our clothes at the laundry (which we had not done since we were at university) and vacuumed the floors. Then the exterminator came and after looking at the fleas we had collected, decided the infestation was worse than he thought. He said he would have to wear a mask to spray as a result.

The managers offered to put the four of us in a single hotel room for one night. With an infant who goes to bed at 6 p.m. and takes naps, this was not an option. Besides we were out of the infested condo for three nights not one.

We returned, already suspiciously checking our legs and concerned for our grandson about the amount of insecticide. However,the fleas jumped on us again. We would have preferred to stay where we were; we did not want to deal with moving clothes and food during our holiday.

We contacted the owners and said we were moving out, but they refused to help us find another place in the same condo building, saying that none was available. In fact, several were available. We had to pay MORE for the 2nd condo and have the documentation to prove it. The 2nd condo did not have fleas nor did any show up during our three weeks there. It is in the 2nd building, facing Collins. It has been GREAT and their customer service has been outstanding.

We have disputed the credit card charge for the weeks we had to move out. The owners have yet to call or apologize for this amazing inconvenience. We were also told by several people in the building complex that this same unit had a problem in March and had to be sprayed. Another person told us that "dogs were in there all the time." The contract allows for dogs at the discretion of the owner.

If you had a minus star, I would give it that. If you stay here make sure you have a clause in the lease about fleas and CHECK the unit.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrans, Manager at Ocean Place, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
As another reviewer noted, this is a private condo building and not a hotel. Some individual owners rent their condos on their own, as was the case with this unit. Other units are managed by vacation rental companies and more than one vacation rental company operates in the building. The reviews on Tripadvisor are reviews of individual units rented by owners and units rented by vacation rental companies so be sure you ask who manages the unit you are booking, they are all not the same! As an example, our company does not permit pets so there wont ever be a flea infestation in the units we manage!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We have stayed at Ocean Place for the past 2 years. The 2 bedroom unit we rent is clean and has an excellent view of the ocean. The owners are very nice and accommodating and make us feel like family. There is private parking with a rear entrance and a security guard at the front desk. Just a short walk away from the strip and no rental car is needed. We stay in unit 5-D and highly recommend staying there. We will be there again next year.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

Generally speaking we enjoyed the condo & location. There are 2 different buildings - one on Collins and the other on Ocean. All the ocean facing condos on Ocean Drive will have amazing unobstructed views of the water. We were in the condo on Collins Ave behind the aforementioned building with unobstructed views. So, while our building did have water views - they were limited by the building in front of us and I'd suggest you clarify which building you'll be located in. Our condo (8KL) was a 3BR 2.5Bath which beautiful furnishings, everything you need in the kitchen and it was very clean. Location to the beach is awesome, just a quick 2 blocks. Walking to the party areas are easy and if you like Nikki Beach Club and Joe's Stone Crab - then this is the perfect location for you! In fact, there are many great places to eat in a 1-2 block radius of this condo. Pool is on the smaller size (in the other building so you have to cross the alley) but it was super clean and quiet. I would definately recommend this condo but probably would have preferred the unobstructed ocean view as we like to sit on the balcony in the evening with a glass of wine and gaze at the water.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Unknown
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

Cleaning is a MUST that needs to be improved, dirty floors they were black, bathrooms and furniture were dirty with spills. I personally had to clean them myself because the bathrooms were so dirty it gross me out. Only one elevator was working, water was out for the whole morning one day until after lunch time. Great location away from the craziness, ideal location for family with children and is really close to the shopping/restaurant area. MAKE SURE you verify that it is ocean view and ask for current pictures because the condition of the place from the pictures was deceiving from what we actually saw.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2009

I have stayed at Ocean Place approx. 3 times and I keep going back there because the location is so perfect. It is situated on the quiet end of South Beach, but is within walking or biking distance to all the action. Great restaurants nearby, a dog park across the street (which my doggies make great use of), a market next door, Ocean Drive a few blocks north, and of course the beach within 100 ft. The condo we stay in is a two bedroom/two bath with full kitchen. We cook about half of our meals.
Shopping and eating at Lincoln Road is a 5 minute cab ride (or you can walk if you're feeling adventurous). We have also used the place as 2 or 3 day pit stop before setting sail on cruise from the nearby Port of Miami (17 minute cab ride).
I have recommended this place to a couple of friends who have loved it also.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2008

Understand that this is a condo, and every unit is decorated differently. The pictures on this site show a 2 bedroom unit. We just stayed in a 1-bedroom unit (7J) which looked very different (except for the kitchen). So be sure you get pictures and descriptions of your specific unit before booking.

We booked through dreamdestinationsllc.com, which quoted a 1-br at $130/night. But after they added tax, $100 cleaning charge and $125 condo association charge, it was $230/night.

Ocean Place consists of 2 buiildings, one directly facing the ocean (across from a street and park), and the other buiilding (the one we were in) is behind the first. We had a decent ocean view, partially obstructed by the first building, but it was OK.

The swimming pool is located at the first building, and the hot tub is at the 2nd. I used the hot tub, which was clean and worked well.

Our unit was furnished reasonably well, and we did save good money by making our own breakfasts - could have saved a ton of money if we wanted to make our own dinners, as restaurants are all pricey down there. There is a small but well-stocked little market just next door - very convenient.

I agree with the other poster that the location is great. And for a family of 4, you do save good money staying in a condo over a hotel, although you have to be your own concierge.

  • Liked — location, kitchen, lots of room
  • Disliked — not upscale, small pool
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Place

Address: 226 Ocean Dr. 225 Collins, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > South Pointe
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residential condo building. 1,2 and 3 bedroom units. Some are owner occupied year-round so not all condos are available for rent. Some owners rent their condos on their own and other owners choose to use vacation rental companies. Prices and services vary depending on the actual unit. Décor in each condo varies. The building has an attached parking garage with assigned parking, a small pool, small gym and Jacuzzi. The building is secure and requires a FOB to enter. There is a security guard on duty but no concierge desk. The beach is only 1/2 block away and the location is in the heart of SoFi, South of Fifth, in South Beach. Walk to restaurants, clubs, shops, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Ocean Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Place Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.