We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll be back next year again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Place

Save Saved
You added Ocean Place to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ocean Place
226 Ocean Dr. 225 Collins, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (South Pointe)   |  
Hotel amenities
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We'll be back next year again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We have stayed at Ocean Place for the past 2 years. The 2 bedroom unit we rent is clean and has an excellent view of the ocean. The owners are very nice and accommodating and make us feel like family. There is private parking with a rear entrance and a security guard at the front desk. Just a short walk away from the strip and no rental car is needed. We stay in unit 5-D and highly recommend staying there. We will be there again next year.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    3
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

Generally speaking we enjoyed the condo & location. There are 2 different buildings - one on Collins and the other on Ocean. All the ocean facing condos on Ocean Drive will have amazing unobstructed views of the water. We were in the condo on Collins Ave behind the aforementioned building with unobstructed views. So, while our building did have water views - they were limited by the building in front of us and I'd suggest you clarify which building you'll be located in. Our condo (8KL) was a 3BR 2.5Bath which beautiful furnishings, everything you need in the kitchen and it was very clean. Location to the beach is awesome, just a quick 2 blocks. Walking to the party areas are easy and if you like Nikki Beach Club and Joe's Stone Crab - then this is the perfect location for you! In fact, there are many great places to eat in a 1-2 block radius of this condo. Pool is on the smaller size (in the other building so you have to cross the alley) but it was super clean and quiet. I would definately recommend this condo but probably would have preferred the unobstructed ocean view as we like to sit on the balcony in the evening with a glass of wine and gaze at the water.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Unknown
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

Cleaning is a MUST that needs to be improved, dirty floors they were black, bathrooms and furniture were dirty with spills. I personally had to clean them myself because the bathrooms were so dirty it gross me out. Only one elevator was working, water was out for the whole morning one day until after lunch time. Great location away from the craziness, ideal location for family with children and is really close to the shopping/restaurant area. MAKE SURE you verify that it is ocean view and ask for current pictures because the condition of the place from the pictures was deceiving from what we actually saw.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2009

I have stayed at Ocean Place approx. 3 times and I keep going back there because the location is so perfect. It is situated on the quiet end of South Beach, but is within walking or biking distance to all the action. Great restaurants nearby, a dog park across the street (which my doggies make great use of), a market next door, Ocean Drive a few blocks north, and of course the beach within 100 ft. The condo we stay in is a two bedroom/two bath with full kitchen. We cook about half of our meals.
Shopping and eating at Lincoln Road is a 5 minute cab ride (or you can walk if you're feeling adventurous). We have also used the place as 2 or 3 day pit stop before setting sail on cruise from the nearby Port of Miami (17 minute cab ride).
I have recommended this place to a couple of friends who have loved it also.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2008

Understand that this is a condo, and every unit is decorated differently. The pictures on this site show a 2 bedroom unit. We just stayed in a 1-bedroom unit (7J) which looked very different (except for the kitchen). So be sure you get pictures and descriptions of your specific unit before booking.

We booked through dreamdestinationsllc.com, which quoted a 1-br at $130/night. But after they added tax, $100 cleaning charge and $125 condo association charge, it was $230/night.

Ocean Place consists of 2 buiildings, one directly facing the ocean (across from a street and park), and the other buiilding (the one we were in) is behind the first. We had a decent ocean view, partially obstructed by the first building, but it was OK.

The swimming pool is located at the first building, and the hot tub is at the 2nd. I used the hot tub, which was clean and worked well.

Our unit was furnished reasonably well, and we did save good money by making our own breakfasts - could have saved a ton of money if we wanted to make our own dinners, as restaurants are all pricey down there. There is a small but well-stocked little market just next door - very convenient.

I agree with the other poster that the location is great. And for a family of 4, you do save good money staying in a condo over a hotel, although you have to be your own concierge.

  • Liked — location, kitchen, lots of room
  • Disliked — not upscale, small pool
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bones12
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2007

great location...a block from the beach, south of fifth...so quieter at nights...beautiful place..and much cheaper than a hotel...with beautiful kitchens. much nicer than most of the hotels in sobe...

  • Stayed February 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Place

Address: 226 Ocean Dr. 225 Collins, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > South Pointe
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residential condo building. 1,2 and 3 bedroom units. Some are owner occupied year-round so not all condos are available for rent. Some owners rent their condos on their own and other owners choose to use vacation rental companies. Prices and services vary depending on the actual unit. Décor in each condo varies. The building has an attached parking garage with assigned parking, a small pool, small gym and Jacuzzi. The building is secure and requires a FOB to enter. There is a security guard on duty but no concierge desk. The beach is only 1/2 block away and the location is in the heart of SoFi, South of Fifth, in South Beach. Walk to restaurants, clubs, shops, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ocean Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Place Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.