We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HORRIBLE !!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Berkley Shore Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Berkley Shore Hotel to your Saves list
Berkley Shore Hotel
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   1610 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 24 Miami Beach B&B and Inns
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“HORRIBLE !!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

DONT STAY AT THIS HOTEL ME & MY GIRLFRIEND STAYED HERE FOR 6 nights the first two nights I seen roaches , the last night we were there we seen two mice run by we went to go complain & they told us it was nothing they can do & that the mice are inside the wall this has been by far the worst experience of my life do not stay at this hotel unless you wanna bring back roaches & mice back home

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    2
    3
    8
    24
See reviews for
5
12
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We knew with the price and the reviews we wouldn't be gettin a five star hotel. But...

We arrived an hour early and were not allowed to check in until three. The lady behind the desk was really unfriendly.. even though we were early she point blankly refused for us to park sayin there was no more parkin available even though we had got parked and there were three other parking spaces.. oh and the website says free parkin but they charge you $10 to park..

We eventually got our room and were not told where in the hotel we was supposed to go to get there until we asked her twice.. the room was really basic but it was fairly clean.. there were broke tiles but the bed was clean and comfy.. the back of the tv had a hole where the coax cable should have been screwed in..

I wouldn't stay here again

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

I freaked out when I found bed bugs on my bed after a two hour nap on my very first day. The manager was speechless when he saw them, they refunded me the entire stay. This place is awful, scary, dirty.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

I am writing this from one of the horrendous rooms at this hotel and honestly don't know why i did not listen to all the bad reviews on here and Still ended up booking into this hotel!! Even though I wasn't expecting too much, it is a cheap hotel after all, (I'm not a princess, I'm happy with basic facilities) this is beyond anything I've stayed in before... And I have backpacked extensively around Europe and the UK!

We arrived late, tired after a weekend at Coachella music festival in California. So you would think that I'm just keen for a bed, a shower and some sleep. Except that I'm wishing it was at least still before midnight so I could leave and find somewhere else!!

The lobby isn't too bad, standard really. But the moment we stepped into the lift, I got a bit of a bad feeling. But that's ok... Heaps of places have scary dodgy lifts, right? Well yes, but then you step out into the hall, and get a really bad feeling. It's like something out of a movie with the gross hotels where prostitutes frequent and people with hopeless lives live... Then we opened the door to our room and we were blasted with the stench of stale cigarette smoke, and a totally run down room. Words can't describe the horrible feeling you get in here. This place really should be knocked down, there is no saving it.

I've actually just looked back at other reviews and photos on here and had to laugh at how silly I have been... The photos of all the other rooms look the same as this one - crooked lamp shades, cracked tiles, cracked louvres and a pokey uncomfortable bed.

I've met two staff so far. Both have been hugely disinterested and unhelpful.

Don't make my mistake. There are so so many places to stay. This just isn't worth it!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

All I can say as I lay here with my clothes on is DO NOT STAY HERE ! Im from the bronx originally and have seen the worst of the worst but I was wrong . This is the worst ! No blower, tv remote, iron , OUTLET COVERS, TV RECEPTION ,

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

First the good: Location was GREAT! only a block from beautiful South Beach. And the outside was cute and looked like the photos if you didn't look too closely.

Now the bad: The lobby was very old and they handed us a brass key for our room, which puts me on safety alert right away. The attendant wasn't very friendly, probably from all the complaints she must receive. The elevator was small, but we've stayed in older hotels in Europe so I was hoping for "quaint". Nope.

And the ugly: The hall to the room had very dirty carpet and a long dark stain running the entire length. The room looked like something from a Hollywood ghetto movie. The tiles were cracked and dirty, the walls had been damaged and patched but not painted. The furniture looked like un-charming thrift store or dumpster diving finds. No remote to change the fuzzy channels on the old TV, no hair dryer and the "remodeled" bathroom was already falling apart. The faucet was very loose and the tile job was dangerous - slick wall tile on the shower floor. The towels smelled like cigarettes and and room smelled like someone had stayed in it before us and forgot to use deodorant. The double bed was lumpy and off kilter from the headboard mounted to the wall. We spent two nights here and survived but if you can afford to stay somewhere else, do it.

Room Tip: Judging from my experience and the others' reviews, don't choose any room in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graz, Austria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

I had a 17 hours lay over in Miami three weeks ago and decided to book this hotel for the night. Well thank God it was only for a night, I wouldn't have stayed there longer even if they paid me. This is the most run-down place I have ever been to. The halls make you feel like you are wandering some abandoned building the owners had to leave at short notice, not to mention the more than questionable elevator. It's not getting any better once you enter your room, they're just run down and very very spartan. The beds were not clean so i slept on a sheet i brougt myself. The tab in the bathroom is loose and almost breaks when using it, also the AC could not be adjusted. I have to say one thing though: I read the horribble reviews before picking this hotel (since it was only for one night) so i really expected nothing and was still shocked by the state this hotel is in. If had to spend more than a night in Miami I wouldnt have even stayed there that one night. I can't recommend anybody to stay at this hotel especially not for 65€ a night. The only plus is is location but that's it. Never again

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Di Lido Beach Hotel
Di Lido Beach Hotel
#115 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 7 reviews
City Center
San Juan Hotel
San Juan Hotel
#118 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 547 reviews
City Center
The Hall, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
The Hall, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
#189 of 205 in Miami Beach
0 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Albion South Beach
Albion South Beach
#97 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 1,104 reviews
City Center
Hyatt Centric South Beach Miami
Hyatt Centric South Beach Miami
#73 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 67 reviews
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#40 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 4,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berkley Shore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berkley Shore Hotel

Address: 1610 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Miami Beach
Hotel Class:2 star — Berkley Shore Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Berkley Shore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Berkley Shore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.