We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as expected” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Mimosa Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Mimosa Hotel to your Saves list
The Mimosa Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6525 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33141   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #118 of 202 Hotels in Miami Beach
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Not as good as expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

If you want to sleep late this not the place... construction next door that makes your room vibrate from early morning. We found the hotel to be just average. The hallway carpet was somewhat soiled and the rooms were furnished cheaply. The staff was not too friendly and the beach was not as close as expected. I'm giving it average because it was clean but we definitely wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    91
    86
    45
    34
See reviews for
98
104
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

While the hotel is basic, but acceptable, it does not become clear from the website that there is currently a big construction project right next door, obviously causing noise and dust. This will be a big building, so all the rooms to the north will have no view at all any more. The distance is only a few feet. So do not take a room to the north!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlingame, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

It was one of smaller hotels and dwarfed by bigger ones beside it BUT it is a hotel that provided what we want. First of all, we did not want to pay too much so price-wise, it was better than others. We had a smaller but clean room - had 2 full size beds, a microwave, refrigerator, sink, safe, closet, table with two chairs, a jacuzzi in full bathroom, and air conditioner. It has its own pool and the beach is right behind the hotel so it was something that we wanted. It also has a cafe where we can order foods and drinks. I thought breakfast was included in our rate so I went to check out the breakfast buffet but it was not included. So, if you want breakfast, it is $7 per person. Since I just wanted coffee, the lady was nice to just let me have a cup.. which was a nice gesture.
We got there earlier than check in time so the concierge took our luggage for safe keeping while we went out to have breakfast. It is close to some shops, walgreens, and restaurants and $2 bus ride to go to Lincoln Road was just a block away. Taxi was also easy. Construction was ongoing next door but there was no noise nor did it bother our stay.

Room Tip: Since there was construction on one side (may b done now) but request for room away from constructio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed at the Mimosa for 4 nights and found the facility to be ok for the price but lacking in certain areas. The platform bed was horriby uncomfortable, the rooms are tiny and the overall appearance of the place was of something that was trying to be updated and refreshed, but didn't quite make it. With that said, it was one of the more reasonably priced options right on the beach and the location was wonderful. The parking situation was not secure and was an added expense . We don't plan to stay there again.

Room Tip: The only rooms with real ocean view are the premium rooms. While they advertise that the other rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The Mimosa met our needs. A cute, small property with a nice (albeit unheated) pool and perfect beach access - you're literally steps from the beach. The cafe in the lobby serves espresso. Mmm! There's also a hammock by the pool, strategically placed under a swaying palm. Um - yes please!

The bathroom in the room was a little dated; the doorknob was a little wonky, the panel behind the shower control was askew and the towel rack was falling off the wall. The room was pretty clean though, and the tile floor was nice. The mattress was on the firmer side, but nothing too crazy. Free wifi, which worked decently well.

It IS quite a ways from the heart of South Beach - great if you're looking for R&R, not so great if you're looking for the action. The hotel is at 65th St. and the heart of it all starts way down at around 16th st. It was about a $10 to $15 cab ride to get down there, and about a $65 cab ride to Ft. Lauderdale airport.

If you stay here, you MUST try the New York Bagel Deli tucked into the little strip mall across the road. Incredible food and perfect hippie-dippy, real fruit juices and smoothies. Mmmmm.

Overall not a bad stay - not a lot of "heart" to this property, but not bad for a place to sleep with a great beach right outside the door.

Room Tip: There's a condo being constructed right next door - ask for a room as far from the construction...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Hubby and I take an anniversary trip for a long weekend each year. We enjoyed this small hotel almost hidden among the modern high rises in the area. Gorgeous beach and recreational trail just steps from the back of hotel. Bike rental less than a block south. New (2012) Public's grocery - deli and many restaurants within short walk. We used public transportation and taxi to visit area and did not miss rental car or driving. Enjoyed the beach view and studio room with mini kitchen. Bring your own small dish liquid as none is provided. We also packed two microwaveable bowls but 4 coffee cups are provided. Whirlpool in our room was regular tub size. We watched surfers one morning when waves and wind were up. Pool is not heated, but very clean and 3 to 10 foot deep. Beach towels and Robes were great. Owners and staff were eager to please and very accommodating.

Room Tip: Enjoyed view to south and east.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for a few days less than a month while arranging for renovations our our condo just down the street.
Room was clean and comfortable with a frig and microwave. Very pleasant and responsive staff. Simple but ample free breakfast. Easy access to the beach. Terrific value !

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Mimosa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mimosa Hotel

Address: 6525 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33141
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#79 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mimosa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Mimosa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mimosa Hotel Miami Beach
Mimosa Hotel & Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mimosa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.