We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for price, right on beach” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Mimosa Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Mimosa Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Mimosa Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6525 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33141   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #122 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Bozeman, Montana, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“OK for price, right on beach”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed at the Mimosa for 4 nights and found the facility to be ok for the price but lacking in certain areas. The platform bed was horriby uncomfortable, the rooms are tiny and the overall appearance of the place was of something that was trying to be updated and refreshed, but didn't quite make it. With that said, it was one of the more reasonably priced options right on the beach and the location was wonderful. The parking situation was not secure and was an added expense . We don't plan to stay there again.

Room Tip: The only rooms with real ocean view are the premium rooms. While they advertise that the other rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    87
    77
    44
    34
See reviews for
85
98
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The Mimosa met our needs. A cute, small property with a nice (albeit unheated) pool and perfect beach access - you're literally steps from the beach. The cafe in the lobby serves espresso. Mmm! There's also a hammock by the pool, strategically placed under a swaying palm. Um - yes please!

The bathroom in the room was a little dated; the doorknob was a little wonky, the panel behind the shower control was askew and the towel rack was falling off the wall. The room was pretty clean though, and the tile floor was nice. The mattress was on the firmer side, but nothing too crazy. Free wifi, which worked decently well.

It IS quite a ways from the heart of South Beach - great if you're looking for R&R, not so great if you're looking for the action. The hotel is at 65th St. and the heart of it all starts way down at around 16th st. It was about a $10 to $15 cab ride to get down there, and about a $65 cab ride to Ft. Lauderdale airport.

If you stay here, you MUST try the New York Bagel Deli tucked into the little strip mall across the road. Incredible food and perfect hippie-dippy, real fruit juices and smoothies. Mmmmm.

Overall not a bad stay - not a lot of "heart" to this property, but not bad for a place to sleep with a great beach right outside the door.

Room Tip: There's a condo being constructed right next door - ask for a room as far from the construction...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Hubby and I take an anniversary trip for a long weekend each year. We enjoyed this small hotel almost hidden among the modern high rises in the area. Gorgeous beach and recreational trail just steps from the back of hotel. Bike rental less than a block south. New (2012) Public's grocery - deli and many restaurants within short walk. We used public transportation and taxi to visit area and did not miss rental car or driving. Enjoyed the beach view and studio room with mini kitchen. Bring your own small dish liquid as none is provided. We also packed two microwaveable bowls but 4 coffee cups are provided. Whirlpool in our room was regular tub size. We watched surfers one morning when waves and wind were up. Pool is not heated, but very clean and 3 to 10 foot deep. Beach towels and Robes were great. Owners and staff were eager to please and very accommodating.

Room Tip: Enjoyed view to south and east.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for a few days less than a month while arranging for renovations our our condo just down the street.
Room was clean and comfortable with a frig and microwave. Very pleasant and responsive staff. Simple but ample free breakfast. Easy access to the beach. Terrific value !

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee Scotland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Stayed here for two nights on our first visit to Miami - we would agree that the walls are thin !
We were lucky that we had nice kids staying on our floor that were at the rowing school so they were all in their beds early!
The hotel was further from South beach than we thought -more Mid Beach - but a much nicer area but not much selection of restaurants .
Room was lovely with great shower & hot tub , small but but very clean .
The hotel had a lovely feel to it very boutique !
Pool was excellent with gate to beach , cabanas & a hammock !
Breakfast was simple -probably not worth the money but it was a lovely area to eat beside the pool & beach .

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

This hotel is clean, cute, and right on the beach, the room had a whirlpool tub and bath robes BUT...the walls are paper thin (you can clearly hear your neighbors and folks in the hallway), the rooms are TINY, the futon style platform bed is good for one night tops, the TV is tiny, we have yet to find 'The Spa', there is no restaurant, the staff was polite but not friendly, and we are still waiting for two wash clothes that we called house keeping for on our second night of our five day stay. The house keep staff spoke little to no English. We would not stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Mimosa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mimosa Hotel

Address: 6525 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33141
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#81 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mimosa Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Mimosa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mimosa Hotel Miami Beach
Mimosa Hotel & Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mimosa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.