We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why didnt this hotel inform people it was under construction?” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Garden Hotel South Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Garden Hotel South Beach to your Saves list
The Garden Hotel South Beach
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1050 Washington Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5018 (Formerly Wyndham Garden Hotel Miami South Beach)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #111 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Why didnt this hotel inform people it was under construction?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We wanted to stay here on our return in May 2014, because we had such a nice time here in May 2013 but was informed by the hotel that it was fully booked ?? why say that... we stayed at another hotel and walked past this one and it looks like a demolition site. Why lie to us? Anyway enjoyed our stay elsewhere this year

Room Tip: Check the hotel has finished the building works before booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    91
    55
    14
    15
See reviews for
38
93
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Loved the place and location!! We didn't know the pool was undergoing repairs, but we stayed a majority of our time on the beach, which was only approx. 5mins away. Only a couple of blocks away from the beach, all the clubs are based along Washington Ave and Ocean Drive, and 7 blocks away from Lincoln rd. and Collins ave. Great location!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

This could have been a good hotel, but a lot was missing. When we ordered, we were told that there should be a pool in the garden and a fitness centre at the hotel, but theese things were in a part of the hotel which was under construction. The room was good (more than we expected), but it did'nt get cleaned before in the evening. The breakfast was not impressive. Tha location was good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

This place seems ok on the website but it is undoing construction and is a mess. The room we had had a ridiculously small bathroom with no exhaust fan and the windows in the whole room were sealed shut. The whole place smelled of mildew obviously due to the lack of exhaust. The internet was basically non existent and the shower would take around 10 minutes before the water turned warm. The staff we nice enough except one. It was a great location which is the only thing going for it. Just not a pleasant place to relax you would better off staying in a resort.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Loved the place, location and breakfast. We didn't know the pool was undergoing repairs so they gave us an upgrade and the room was just perfect and very clean. Only thing is that it didn't have a mini fridge so you couldn't really have any cold water or soda in your room.
Only a couple of blocks away from the beach and Ocean Drive, and 7 blocks away from Lincoln rd. and Collins ave. Great location!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for one night before a cruise. The room was small but clean & looked cheerful. The air-conditioner in the room was very noisy. There was no lift in the hotel & the corridors smelt old & musty. The internet didn’t work when we arrived (or for the whole time we were there) & the staff seemed disinterested when we let them know it wasn’t working. Breakfast was basic but adequate.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hialeah, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

Hello, Me and my Gf were a guest last weekend at this hotel. An employee name Carol Montes upgraded our room to a king suite because she saw that it was my birthday and me and my gf were celebrating it in Miami. I was extremely shocked when she helped us out with an upgrade. Carol also had an employee name Israel help us out with our luggages. If I were to complain about something it would be that the wifi wasn't working well but thank god that their is a Starbucks down the street that has great wifi connection. I noticed that the hotel was going through renovations but the noise did not disturb me and my stay was very good overall. Great hotel to stay at with great employees. I recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Garden Hotel South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garden Hotel South Beach

Address: 1050 Washington Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5018 (Formerly Wyndham Garden Hotel Miami South Beach)
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#77 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Garden Hotel South Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our boutique hotel in Miami Beach is designed as an oasis for travelers who desire an escape from the common hotel, yet still value traditional services and hospitality. With a fresh, innovative appearance, well-appointed rooms and a casually-sophisticated atmosphere, our South Beach hotel can transform your trip into a time of inspiration and renewal. Vacationers looking for lodging in South Beach can appreciate our hotel's ideal location within walking distance of the beach, the Bass Museum, beautiful Art Deco homes and Ocean Drive's many famous attractions. Upscale fashion boutiques are at your fingertips when you stay here, with the Lincoln Road Mall and Collins Avenue shopping district less than a mile from the hotel. Our Miami Beach accommodations also offer quick access to the Port of Miami, where cruise ships dock for boarding. For the very best in Miami Beach accommodations, choose the The Garden Hotel South Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Garden Hotel South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bel Aire South Beach Miami
Bel Aire South Beach Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Garden Hotel South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.