We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price, good location, fun rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Garden Hotel South Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Garden Hotel South Beach to your Saves list
The Garden Hotel South Beach
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1050 Washington Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5018 (Formerly Wyndham Garden Hotel Miami South Beach)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #111 of 204 Hotels in Miami Beach
Rhode Island
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Good price, good location, fun rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Garden Hotel South Beach in February, a return trip after staying there in March of 2013. We were combining a stay in Miami with a business trip elsewhere in Florida, and unfortunately the boat show was in town during the only time we had to spend there and prices were sky-high. We paid $359 a night Feb. 14-16 and $199 on Feb. 17, the night the boat show left! The reasons we returned are the location, a couple of blocks from the beach and right in the middle of the deco district so we could walk to everything; the funky deco-ness of the small but clean and cheerful rooms; and the pool, lounging and breakfast area right on Washington Street. Also, during a normal, non-boat-show week, the price is under $200. That said, this property is undergoing massive renovation. It consists of 4 small buildings that operate as one hotel (it used to be the Wyndham until last year). Last March, we stayed at the building farthest to the north, while everything else was being worked on. We pretty much assumed construction would be done by now. Don't assume! It turns out that the owner is trying to persuade the historic district to let an additional floor be added to the back of a couple of the buildings; that approval has taken forever and in order to do it the foundations have to be shored up, one of the employees explained. The buildings are on the Deco District historic tour; the tour explains what's going on and goes inside the Coral Building, where (free) breakfast is served, and indeed it is made of coral. Last year the pool was open; this year it was closed and in the construction area. If a pool is critical, call ahead. But the beach is very close and the hotel provides towels and chairs. There are chaise longues and tables and chairs in the lounging area in front of the hotel, and we sat out there and read a couple of times. If you have a car, you can park it at a public garage about a block away for about $20 a night. It's my opinion that the hotel tries to isolate its guests from the construction, at least on the weekend; we weren't bothered by any noise. The employees are friendly and there are always free apples and oranges in the lobby. One caveat: They charged us over and above what we had agreed to through booking.com, accidentally charging us $359 instead of $199 for the final night. When I called about this the day after we left, they said they'd check on it and call me back, which they never did. I called a week later and they refunded the extra charge to my credit card, supposedly. All in all, this place is going to be awesome when and if it ever gets done, but then I probably won't be able to afford it!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    90
    55
    14
    15
See reviews for
38
92
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warren, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

You cannot fault The Garden for their location. This area of Washington Ave. is quiet and clean, you're right across the street from the amazing Le Chic French Bakery (perfect for breakfast, lunch or a light dinner), you're a block from David's (a great spot for a Cuban or Media Noche, as well as late-night cortaditos), you're a short distance from Espanola Way, you're one minute on foot from the beach (a great way to spend the afternoon making your wife happy is walking north on the beach, doing the whole Lincoln Rd. shopping thing, and then walking south on the beach or taking Washington to see what else is open), the Wolfsonian is right across the street, a city-owned parking garage is only a block away, and you aren't too far from the A1A/mainland access for trips to Calle Ocho. The hotel itself features a nice outside patio & pool area which is great when you just want to drink a coffee, smoke a cigar, listen to some music, people watch and relax, and the rooms are clean, relatively updated in quaint SoBe decor, quiet and comfortable (you're in Miami - how much time are you really going to spend in your room?). After two straight trips of staying here, both for business and pleasure, I won't be going elsewhere... The neighborhood is great, the staff is great, the rooms are exactly what I'm looking for, and for me - mid-30s non-clubbing type - The Garden offers the sort of Miami vibe that I'm looking for.

Room Tip: I've stayed in both an outside-access room in the second building and an inside-access room in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

The location is fantastic!

If you are the type of traveler that uses a hotel room as a place to sleep or like to lounge outside of the hotel room, this is a great place to consider. Unless you are looking to pay big $$ per night, most hotels in Miami are dated and not the brand new hotels of other parts of the country. You can't beat the price for the place.

Staff is very friendly and helpful. The bed is comfortable. The location is very close to the beach, yet far enough to muffle the noise of ocean drive.

Keep in mind that most of Miami is under construction, so you will likely hear noise during the day. This was a non-issue for us. We were hardly in the room during the day.

We were happy to get away to warmer weather.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights prior to a Caribbean cruise from Fort Lauderdale. Close to SOBE and across the street from an excellent diner. Clean sheets and good bed but small room and toilet got blocked. Bit tatty around the edges and construction still going on despite being told at booking that it would be complete.
There are air fresheners on all the time to probably cover up damp smells.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

I loved my stay here, the receptionist carol was just amazing she upgraded our room to a king suit and the room was excellent . Loved my stay here everything was clean and In perfect condition , the views where beautiful and it was a great price being located in Miami beach .

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Signed up for a trip advisor account just to be able to warn people. In short, if you are used to staying at a quality hotel, don’t stay here.

The photos are deceiving, as they don’t show the true state of the property and rooms. They have “band-aided” it for the time being while it appears all but 1 building of the 4 or 5 buildings are being “gutted”. There is literally a chain link wire fence surrounding the property. Approaching it, you would think it is closed. What is left is similar to old the roadside motel. The last building they are booking rooms for IS NOT YET RENOVATED, only has the colorful furniture, walls, and brown flooring.

No pool or courtyard as displayed in the photos (this is gone and inside the construction area). The furniture shown in photos is the same, but it is the structure itself that made this place undesirable.

NEGATIVES: missing glass in windows (only outside glass louvered slats were there, but the inside solid glass was gone, making for a and loud room); very loud air conditioner unit (I’m sure they are waiting to gut this building too); construction began at 8 or 8:30 in the morning, (in the building next door); seems like the people working here even hate it. Not that they were unfriendly, just that they acted like they couldn’t wait to leave.

POSITIVE: Comfortable bed and pillows. Clean sheets and towels. Free continental breakfast if included in your rate.

Booked this hotel through Hotels.com at a discounted rate, because we flew into MIA late afternoon, and wanted to see this area of South Beach prior to our "nicer" beachfront hotel in the 17th/Collins Avenue area. Honestly wished we had went ahead and checked into our nice hotel after all.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapala, Mexico
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

We stayed in The Garden for four nights. We booked through Hotwire, so price was great for South Beach and may be appropiate for the hotel quality. But I can not imagine paying full price, it would not be worth it. We stayed at Davis building. We got one bed, which was OK and comfortable. But the room and specially the bathroom was really small. And not very clean. The WiFi worked flawless. Breakfast was simple, toast, spread cheese, butter, jam, balgels, fruit, juice, tea etc. So nothing special. On the other hand, location is excellent, just 2 blocks from the beach and Ocean drive. Public transportation right in front. The construction was still giong on, but we did not notice noise or anything.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Garden Hotel South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garden Hotel South Beach

Address: 1050 Washington Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5018 (Formerly Wyndham Garden Hotel Miami South Beach)
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#76 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Garden Hotel South Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our boutique hotel in Miami Beach is designed as an oasis for travelers who desire an escape from the common hotel, yet still value traditional services and hospitality. With a fresh, innovative appearance, well-appointed rooms and a casually-sophisticated atmosphere, our South Beach hotel can transform your trip into a time of inspiration and renewal. Vacationers looking for lodging in South Beach can appreciate our hotel's ideal location within walking distance of the beach, the Bass Museum, beautiful Art Deco homes and Ocean Drive's many famous attractions. Upscale fashion boutiques are at your fingertips when you stay here, with the Lincoln Road Mall and Collins Avenue shopping district less than a mile from the hotel. Our Miami Beach accommodations also offer quick access to the Port of Miami, where cruise ships dock for boarding. For the very best in Miami Beach accommodations, choose the The Garden Hotel South Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Otel and Tingo so you can book your The Garden Hotel South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bel Aire South Beach Miami
Bel Aire South Beach Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Garden Hotel South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.