We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good enough” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Garden Hotel South Beach

Save Saved
You added The Garden Hotel South Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Garden Hotel South Beach
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1050 Washington Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5018 (Formerly Wyndham Garden Hotel Miami South Beach)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #105 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Nuremberg, Germany
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good enough”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

We stayed at this hotel/motel for one night in January. Considering the location (just a couple of blocks from the Art Deco district, Ocean Drive and the beach) the Garden Hotel offered a competitive price. Parking was a bit of a hassle (unless you decide to go for the rather expensive valet option(, as free parking space is not easy to find. But that would still be recommended if you arrive by car

As stated in other reviews, there is still construction work being done on the premises as it consists of several buildings. Our room was in the "Bel Aire" building, which was basically reminiscent of an old motel.

The room itself was large, quiet and clean. Free wifi (although with a slightly wonky connection) is included. Breakfast was also included in our room rate, but was very basic (cereal, toast, juice and coffee). But considering all the options just outside the hotel that should not be a problem.

In short: ok stay without any frills. Can be recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    87
    54
    14
    15
See reviews for
36
91
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
lancashire
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Got to the hotel about 8.00pm, the girl on the desk checked me in quickly and pointed me towards the nearest 7eleven store which was about 3 blocks away.
The room was clean and tidy in the Davis block, with a coffee machine, some water and a flat screen TV + air con. The bed was very good and had a great sleep at nights. The bathroom is compact and clean the shower was always hot.
The breakfast was ok but you need to get the voucher s when checking in, they were delivered to my room as I was not issued with them on check-in. The breakfast was bread for the toaster, bagels, various cereals, croissant, yogurt, small bit of fruit and tea, coffee, orange juice. The girl serving the breakfast was friendly and even brought me a book on things to do.
The hotel is about 3 blocks away from the beach and I always felt stay walking at night in the area. Some work was being done as the property but did not impact on my stay in the Davis block of the hotel.

Would stay here again as everything is in walking distance, hotel clean and tidy with nice staff.
Please note photos are from November as I forget to set date on camera

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meise, Belgium
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

We were looking for a comfortable, well located hotel in South Beach so we booked this hotel. Wasn't cheap but we wanted to make sure we were comfortable.
It went wrong from the start. Our reservation couldn't be found. Luckily we brought our booking confirmation. Took some time to get what we booked and we could only be lodged for the first 4 days. It was up to us to look for something else for the last few days. We had to talk to the manager the next day if we wanted to stay.
When we entered the building we were immediately struck by a strong sent of moist, humidity, ... It was the same in the room.
The room was very small and old. Cracks in the wall, no ventilation, fungus in the bathroom, prehistoric and loud airconditioning, miniature bathroom, we could see the corridor from within the room.
And all this for 300$ per night!?!
The lady at the reception gave us the key to another room in the same building but this time a floor up. Same story.

Needless to say we packed our bags and told the lady at the reception we weren't staying. This was the first time I left a hotel but it was an absolute disgrace.

I cannot believe anybody would stay in this hotel (this building?) and certainly not at these rates.

Will never come back here!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

This was a reasonably priced hotel for the South Beach neighbourhood. We were quite close to the shopping district, the beach and there were great restaurants all around us. We had a very nice time at this hotel. Our room was clean, brightly colored, and had a very comfortable bed!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

My friends and I had a great stay at this hotel 6-13-13 thru 6-16-13. The front staff was amazing with getting us checked in and out. The room was a little smaller than I had expected but definitely enough space to accommodate my friends and I during our stay. The only down fall was the restaurant manager, she was very rude. We arrive at the restaurant approx. 30 minutes before breakfast ended to pick up some fruit and muffins to start the day. We had to make several trips back to the front office because the restaurant manager stated that we did not have breakfast included in our stay (she even pretended to call the front office to "confirm" we had no breakfast included.) Finally, after the front staff employee had hand written a note to the restaurant staff were we allowed to get our breakfast, at this time there was only 10 minutes left and we felt very uncomfortable so we left with only scraps as the restaurant staff begun to clean up. On the better side, the front desk employee provided us with a credit for the breakfast we did not receive. I would stay at this hotel again but do NOT recommend the restaurant onsite.

Room Tip: Opt out of the restaurant portion if possible. Great Diner across the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Top Contributor
376 reviews 376 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

First, you have to ignore their growing pains: It is actually four old hotels being renovated into one complex. We stayed in the newly renovated "Bel Aire": Super clean and beautifully spacious room and bathroom. Its cool colors, couches, chairs, desk, etc. were nice. The staff is super friendly. The continental breakfast is excellent: bagels, toast, fruit, cereal, coffee, juice - all included in the room price.


It it a little confusing to check in, even finding the hotel(s), and there is construction, but ... Great location - two blocks from the beach.

I WOULD DEFINITELY STAY HERE AGAIN.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

We stayed there for 1 night before a cruise. Was able to the Airport Flyer ($2ish per/per) from the airport to basically the steps of the hotel. Clean and spacious room and bathroom. It was cute, and the staff is super friendly. Got the hotel for a very good price, considering that I have no complains. If you are going to the cruise port do not take their shuttle service, only $22 taxi to the port and there are lots of taxis soonest you step out of the hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floors are always a good option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Garden Hotel South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garden Hotel South Beach

Address: 1050 Washington Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5018 (Formerly Wyndham Garden Hotel Miami South Beach)
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#73 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Garden Hotel South Beach 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our boutique hotel in Miami Beach is designed as an oasis for travelers who desire an escape from the common hotel, yet still value traditional services and hospitality. With a fresh, innovative appearance, well-appointed rooms and a casually-sophisticated atmosphere, our South Beach hotel can transform your trip into a time of inspiration and renewal. Vacationers looking for lodging in South Beach can appreciate our hotel's ideal location within walking distance of the beach, the Bass Museum, beautiful Art Deco homes and Ocean Drive's many famous attractions. Upscale fashion boutiques are at your fingertips when you stay here, with the Lincoln Road Mall and Collins Avenue shopping district less than a mile from the hotel. Our Miami Beach accommodations also offer quick access to the Port of Miami, where cruise ships dock for boarding. For the very best in Miami Beach accommodations, choose the The Garden Hotel South Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Otel and Hotels.com so you can book your The Garden Hotel South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bel Aire South Beach Miami
Bel Aire South Beach Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Garden Hotel South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.