We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay - can't wait for the finished result!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Garden Hotel South Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Garden Hotel South Beach to your Saves list
The Garden Hotel South Beach
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1050 Washington Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5018 (Formerly Wyndham Garden Hotel Miami South Beach)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #111 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
“Great stay - can't wait for the finished result!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Stayed here for a night on South Beach. As former locals who prefer to get a room rather than risk the drive home when the party's over, let's just say we've experienced our fair share of South Beach/Downtown Miami hotels. For the price, this is probably the best one we have stayed in. The rooms are spacious (especially the bathroom), the decor is cute, and the added pull-out sofa is a nice perk for random friends who might need to crash. Beds are comfortable with lots of pillows and, for people like me who are always freezing, ample bedding. Absolutely LOVED the room darkening curtains when it came time to sleep.

You can't beat the location - steps from the ocean, nightlife, shopping and dining. Parking is a breeze - there are several parking garages nearby. Downside is the hotel is currently under construction so you can't fully appreciate all it has to offer (ie the pool). But seriously, the beach is right in front of you and there are plenty of other hotels with pools (and even pool parties if that's your thing).

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    92
    55
    14
    15
See reviews for
38
93
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I was not blown away. But it was perfectly fine and I certainly didn't hate it.

Good points:

Amazing location. You have the beach on the doorstep. Close to fantastic places to eat such as David's Cafe, the 11th Street Diner and Chalan on the Beach.
Cute decoration and colours in the rooms.
Room cleanliness.
Friendly staff.
Complimentary fruit, papers etc.

Bad points:

It isn't 'bad'. However, the room was small and the bathroom tiny. I think I also hoped for more original Art Deco features and for it to seem fresher.

I would recommend it mainly for location.

Room Tip: No lift: ask for a ground floor room if you have heavy bags.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Shores, Florida
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

My stay in this horrible hotel did not like at all, is under construction, there's cucurachas and rats, no cell phone signal, no wi-fi, the pool is closed, The manager of the hotel is a dump, treats customers very badly, have no professional ethics, my stay had to be 6 days and 5 nights and poude not be even a single day and also they charged to my credit card the whole week and still have not returned my money
For me.that crap does not deserve call hotel

Room Tip: Choose another place
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buenos aires
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

this hotel is under construccion, so most of the amenities are closed , like the pool.
During my stay phones were not working at all . only phones from the front desk were working.
They should tell u when u book you r room . so you can be notified about it and may have some kind of attention for the inconvenient

In the other hand i must said that the rooms are excellent, the hotel is super clean , the location is also very very good, wifi works perfectly and we didnt heard any noices from the remodeling.
Comparing to the rest of south beach hotels was a very good choice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

I had an absolute amazing stay in this hotel. People were very sceptic about this place because of the renovations and no pool issue. But come on.... You are on South Beach!!!!!! You can go to the beach within just a minute or two walking. I really had no problems not having the pool to cool down in. The staff is really friendy and helpfull with their information and you can ask them anything at any hour. I want to give a special thanks to Carol. This is a girl who really knows her way around in miami and recommeded excellent things to do in Miami. Same for Chan. Also really kind and helpful. I really cant wait to go back to Miami and if I go back. I will definetely go back to this hotel. Im always afraid to write food reviews because that would mean that there is less chance for me to get the same room which they provided me with. But they really deserve a great reviews!!!!!!

See you back next time when the renovation is complete and I can try out the pool :)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GardenHotelMiami, General Manager at The Garden Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property and give us your wonderful feedback. We are delighted that our staff was able to help you with anything you needed regardless of the hour and hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

this place was a very good choice for us, for what we paid we were very happy with this, it was a shame about the pool which wasnt open went otherwise the location is perfect, walking distance from everything you need.
four of us stayed here and the size was perfect for us would choose we had two double beds and a double sofa pull out bed
the cleanliness was also very good

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Garden Hotel South Beach is a good choice in Miami Beach. The location is really good, just two blocks away from Ocean Drive. It´s a perfect to stay in a quiet and calm spot but just three minutes walk from the Ocean Drive bars and the beach.
The hotel got a Art Deco style with lots pastel colours, quite nice actually. The service was good all the time. Got a toilet out of order once and it was immediately fixed.
The room did actually look just like the webpage pictures, if you fancy turquoise this is a dream come true. The bed was really comfortable, all the basics are there and WiFi is included.
A good complimentary breakfast was served. The poolarea is really nice but there are far to few sunchairs.
This is a really good 3* choice with a great location. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Garden Hotel South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garden Hotel South Beach

Address: 1050 Washington Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5018 (Formerly Wyndham Garden Hotel Miami South Beach)
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#77 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Garden Hotel South Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our boutique hotel in Miami Beach is designed as an oasis for travelers who desire an escape from the common hotel, yet still value traditional services and hospitality. With a fresh, innovative appearance, well-appointed rooms and a casually-sophisticated atmosphere, our South Beach hotel can transform your trip into a time of inspiration and renewal. Vacationers looking for lodging in South Beach can appreciate our hotel's ideal location within walking distance of the beach, the Bass Museum, beautiful Art Deco homes and Ocean Drive's many famous attractions. Upscale fashion boutiques are at your fingertips when you stay here, with the Lincoln Road Mall and Collins Avenue shopping district less than a mile from the hotel. Our Miami Beach accommodations also offer quick access to the Port of Miami, where cruise ships dock for boarding. For the very best in Miami Beach accommodations, choose the The Garden Hotel South Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Garden Hotel South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bel Aire South Beach Miami
Bel Aire South Beach Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Garden Hotel South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.