We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HOTEL IN CONSTRUCCION but VERY GOOD .” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Garden Hotel South Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added The Garden Hotel South Beach to your Saves list
The Garden Hotel South Beach
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1050 Washington Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5018 (Formerly Wyndham Garden Hotel Miami South Beach)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #107 of 201 Hotels in Miami Beach
buenos aires
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“HOTEL IN CONSTRUCCION but VERY GOOD .”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

this hotel is under construccion, so most of the amenities are closed , like the pool.
During my stay phones were not working at all . only phones from the front desk were working.
They should tell u when u book you r room . so you can be notified about it and may have some kind of attention for the inconvenient

In the other hand i must said that the rooms are excellent, the hotel is super clean , the location is also very very good, wifi works perfectly and we didnt heard any noices from the remodeling.
Comparing to the rest of south beach hotels was a very good choice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    90
    54
    14
    15
See reviews for
38
92
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

I had an absolute amazing stay in this hotel. People were very sceptic about this place because of the renovations and no pool issue. But come on.... You are on South Beach!!!!!! You can go to the beach within just a minute or two walking. I really had no problems not having the pool to cool down in. The staff is really friendy and helpfull with their information and you can ask them anything at any hour. I want to give a special thanks to Carol. This is a girl who really knows her way around in miami and recommeded excellent things to do in Miami. Same for Chan. Also really kind and helpful. I really cant wait to go back to Miami and if I go back. I will definetely go back to this hotel. Im always afraid to write food reviews because that would mean that there is less chance for me to get the same room which they provided me with. But they really deserve a great reviews!!!!!!

See you back next time when the renovation is complete and I can try out the pool :)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GardenHotelMiami, General Manager at The Garden Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property and give us your wonderful feedback. We are delighted that our staff was able to help you with anything you needed regardless of the hour and hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

this place was a very good choice for us, for what we paid we were very happy with this, it was a shame about the pool which wasnt open went otherwise the location is perfect, walking distance from everything you need.
four of us stayed here and the size was perfect for us would choose we had two double beds and a double sofa pull out bed
the cleanliness was also very good

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Garden Hotel South Beach is a good choice in Miami Beach. The location is really good, just two blocks away from Ocean Drive. It´s a perfect to stay in a quiet and calm spot but just three minutes walk from the Ocean Drive bars and the beach.
The hotel got a Art Deco style with lots pastel colours, quite nice actually. The service was good all the time. Got a toilet out of order once and it was immediately fixed.
The room did actually look just like the webpage pictures, if you fancy turquoise this is a dream come true. The bed was really comfortable, all the basics are there and WiFi is included.
A good complimentary breakfast was served. The poolarea is really nice but there are far to few sunchairs.
This is a really good 3* choice with a great location. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

On entering this hotel it was such a shock, nothing like the brochures or online photoes,we had difficulty finding the entrance and reception staff not very welcoming.there is major disruption on site with no pool or comfortable seating outside.there is only a continental breakfast and nothing else not even a bar. The rooms are small but clean and housekeeping are friendly and keep rooms tidy.any issues brought up with front of house staff were not followed up,we were aware of minimal disruption but this is more of a major refurb.this is not a hotel to relax at unless you stay in your room,this is more like a cheap motel.

Room Tip: Don't bother.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I'm not sure what value this review has, as when I arrived the hotel was undergoing remodelling and the main building, pool area were closed. Instead accommodation was in a couple of smaller buildings and a makeshift restaurant. After getting over the initial disappointment of finding most facilities were not available, the room proved to be large, comfortable, if a little tired and grubby. Most of the blinds barely worked, some of the lamps didn't work and the wooden floor was filthy. The maid service couldn't be faulted and the sheets and bedding were all clean and nicely made. The breakfast was in a small Coral house building and the set continental breakfast was awful. There were no choices at all for breakfast with no options. There was no restaurant. I was not informed of any alternative pool. but was later advised a public pool was available in Flamingo park. I tried it once but wasn't suitable as a place to relax with many locals using the pool as well, inc lots of kids. As for location, the hotel is wonderfully placed for all the local shops and the beach. The hotel however was very noisy, being woken at 3am one morning and frequently at 5am by what I could only assume was construction traffic and loading/unloading. All in all the experience was poor but I could help think once the work is complete and the main building and pool are back open it has all the potential to be very nice indeed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GardenHotelMiami, Manager at The Garden Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

It saddens me that your stay was not up to your expectations. We use these reviews to try and improve our services to guests in the future. We'd just like to ask a few questions to see if our staff was given the opportunity to handle things accordingly. We would like to hope that if you noticed your room wasn't clean that our housekeeping staff was notified in order to assist with this. We have had several guests have a good experience at Flamingo Park pool which is why we suggest, and reimburse the our guest should they decide to use it. When our pool was open, several families with children used it as well. We try to keep guests up to date with our amenities and that our restaurant is only open for breakfast and guests are usually able to utilize our location to find neighboring restaurant options. We also know Miami Beach has the tendency be very noisy, but being on Washington Avenue is a benefit as it is significantly more quiet than Ocean Drive. We apologize you heard construction noise, but we wanted to let you know our hotel has not yet broken ground so this may have been from some other project on Miami Beach. If you would like to talk further about this, please feel free to email us at sales@gardenhotelmiami.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The hotel is very well located, a couple of blocks from Ocean Drive and near to the restaurants on Collins Avenue. The pool was open when we visited at the end of July, and was a pleasant place to relax after a day in the city. The room was a good size with an extremely comfortable bed, and very little noise from outside despite being close to the road. Breakfast is available until 11am, which is appreciated after a late night! The hotel was great value for money taking into consideration it's location, and I'd happily stay there again

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Garden Hotel South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garden Hotel South Beach

Address: 1050 Washington Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5018 (Formerly Wyndham Garden Hotel Miami South Beach)
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#75 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Garden Hotel South Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our boutique hotel in Miami Beach is designed as an oasis for travelers who desire an escape from the common hotel, yet still value traditional services and hospitality. With a fresh, innovative appearance, well-appointed rooms and a casually-sophisticated atmosphere, our South Beach hotel can transform your trip into a time of inspiration and renewal. Vacationers looking for lodging in South Beach can appreciate our hotel's ideal location within walking distance of the beach, the Bass Museum, beautiful Art Deco homes and Ocean Drive's many famous attractions. Upscale fashion boutiques are at your fingertips when you stay here, with the Lincoln Road Mall and Collins Avenue shopping district less than a mile from the hotel. Our Miami Beach accommodations also offer quick access to the Port of Miami, where cruise ships dock for boarding. For the very best in Miami Beach accommodations, choose the The Garden Hotel South Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Garden Hotel South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bel Aire South Beach Miami
Bel Aire South Beach Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Garden Hotel South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.