We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Garden Hotel South Beach

Save Saved
You added The Garden Hotel South Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Garden Hotel South Beach
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1050 Washington Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5018 (Formerly Wyndham Garden Hotel Miami South Beach)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #106 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The hotel is very well located, a couple of blocks from Ocean Drive and near to the restaurants on Collins Avenue. The pool was open when we visited at the end of July, and was a pleasant place to relax after a day in the city. The room was a good size with an extremely comfortable bed, and very little noise from outside despite being close to the road. Breakfast is available until 11am, which is appreciated after a late night! The hotel was great value for money taking into consideration it's location, and I'd happily stay there again

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    88
    54
    14
    15
See reviews for
37
91
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Very clean, comfortable rooms, and very close to South Beach restaurants, shopping and clubs. Perfect for a weekend trip on a budget. Lovely pool and very laid back atmosphere. We liked the bright rooms.

Room Tip: We stayed right by the lobby in the main building 1st floor, and it was quiet and convenient. Our bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

The location of this hotel is great to get around south beach. The rooms are a good size for 3 people with very comfortable beds but not a lot of storage space.
I was very disappointed when we arrived to find that the pool area was closed due to refurbishment as this was one of the main reasons for booking this hotel, there is an area to sit outside with sun loungers and seats but it would have been nice if they actually put the cushions on some of the chairs so they could be used. The hotel do have an arrangement with the flamingo park pool which is a 10min walk from hotel but its not the same as just popping down to the pool!!
Continental breakfast was ok but the staff were not at all interested in serving you especially one girl who pretended she didn't understand you but spoke perfect English on her mobile phone which she couldn't leave alone, and seemed to find anything you asked her for as an inconvenience

Great location but probably wouldn't stay here again until refurbishment is completed

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stockton
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Good location. Good breakfast. Hotel was being renovated at present no pool no parking. Disappointed. May be better after renovation but we were told that it had been renovated we weren't expecting to stay on a building site. The lady who served breakfast was only interested in looking at herself in the mirror and looking at her phone she was not interested in customers at all. William Morales was helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Dominican Republic
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

I had been in a lot of south beach hotels and something that you need to know about the place it is that is expensive, parking is limited and again $$$$, so I took the express bus from the airport and in less than half and hour I was about 20 yards from the hotel so even with my bags was a grate spot.

It is about 2 short blocks from the beach but the location is the the middle of the action, clubs and restaurants but also it is quiet and you can have a good sleep. Most of the hotels on the area for that price are old or a dump and I was expecting the worst because of the mixed reviews but to my luck I had a great stay, the lobby was nice and also the clerk was a lady that I dont remember but she was friendly and also at check out i had a nice chat.

The hotel has a nice pool and for south beach it is a luxury to have one and very nice after a day on the beach to refresh on the beach, also they provide you beach towels and the are seems fresh, inviting.

Overall it is a great place to stay for the price that you pay, I got a great deal and for sure I will be there if I can get the same rate.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed here at the start of our honeymoon to see a bit of Miami. We were upgraded because of this which was a nice touch. The rooms are fine, a little dated but they have tried to updated with brightly coloured walls and art deco style. The best thing about this hotel is the location, it's literally 2 minutes walk from South Beach itself and the bars and restaurants etc. I guess the draw back to it being so centrally located is that it's quite loud at night time. Definitely worth a visit, a great base to stay for a short break.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

The hotel is very close to sea. The room was quite good and well maintained. The hotel lobby staff are quite friendly. They also suggested a good restaurant for lunch. The breakfast they served was good but that does not fall in to Wyndham category.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Garden Hotel South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garden Hotel South Beach

Address: 1050 Washington Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5018 (Formerly Wyndham Garden Hotel Miami South Beach)
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
#75 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#106 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Garden Hotel South Beach 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our boutique hotel in Miami Beach is designed as an oasis for travelers who desire an escape from the common hotel, yet still value traditional services and hospitality. With a fresh, innovative appearance, well-appointed rooms and a casually-sophisticated atmosphere, our South Beach hotel can transform your trip into a time of inspiration and renewal. Vacationers looking for lodging in South Beach can appreciate our hotel's ideal location within walking distance of the beach, the Bass Museum, beautiful Art Deco homes and Ocean Drive's many famous attractions. Upscale fashion boutiques are at your fingertips when you stay here, with the Lincoln Road Mall and Collins Avenue shopping district less than a mile from the hotel. Our Miami Beach accommodations also offer quick access to the Port of Miami, where cruise ships dock for boarding. For the very best in Miami Beach accommodations, choose the The Garden Hotel South Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Garden Hotel South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bel Aire South Beach Miami
Bel Aire South Beach Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Garden Hotel South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.