We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic Plaza, Rough Exterior, Beautiful Interior, Exceptional Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Garden Hotel South Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Garden Hotel South Beach to your Saves list
The Garden Hotel South Beach
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1050 Washington Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5018 (Formerly Wyndham Garden Hotel Miami South Beach)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #110 of 204 Hotels in Miami Beach
Jaco, Costa Rica
1 review
“Historic Plaza, Rough Exterior, Beautiful Interior, Exceptional Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

As far as Miami Beach boutique hotels go, this place was exceptional. Have stayed in various other hotels in the area and I have to give much credit to the Housekeeping Dept. for the cleanliness of the hotel. It is obvious they have a challenge working around a historically protected property, but they succeed in keeping the place spotless.

Value/cost of room corresponds with what is to be expected of the hotel. Very happy with all the service I received throughout our stay. All the employees of the hotel always smiled and said hi to us. Would love to return to Miami/Garden ASAP!

Room Tip: Bel Aire building worked great for us, walk in and walk out very easily...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gardenhotelmiami, General Manager at The Garden Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Wow... What a great review! Thank you. Our housekeeping team will be thrilled to hear about your review. Thank you for putting in words your thoughts about our hotel. You have no idea how much we appreciate the time our guests take to review our property. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    90
    55
    14
    15
See reviews for
38
92
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montpellier, France
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I spent 5 nights in this hotel for a very good price according to the location.
First of all, all the males I talked with at the front desk were very nice and helpful, but the female were not really friendly...
The room was ok, clean, not very large but enough. The bed very confortable, housekeeping every days... The air conditionned was a little noisy but it did not really disturb my sleep.
I had continental breakfast included with my booking (a yoghurt, a muffin and a pastries with tea/coffea/chocolate and orange juice). I was so frustrated to see every morning people eating the buffet breackfast with eggs, sausages, and fruits... The regular price for the continental breakfast is $10+tax. and $13.50+ tax for the buffet. So sorry I haven't had choice when I made my booking...
It is also the only place I stayed in Florida where local calls are not free....
Our room (134) had a window hard to close, actually unclosable..., so we met lizard visiting us...
About the location, it was perfect. Just 2 blocks to Ocean drive, bus lines just next to the hotel...
I really think it is a nice place for a trip in Miami Beach if you can find a good price (for me less than 100 € per night)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gardenhotelmiami, General Manager at The Garden Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your reply. We hope that enjoyed sunny South Beach and that you were able to take advantage of our amenities and services. Thank you for sharing information about our staff and of course the window situation will be resolved immediately. Thank you for reporting this to us.
Take care and we hope to see you again some day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

My friends and I stayed in the double junior suite back in April. I was a little concerned about how the room would turn out given the reviews here, but the room turned out to be nice, clean, and spacious. Hotel exterior isn't much but the room itself looked like it was renovated not too long ago.

Location is super convenient! Close to the beach, shopping areas, Espanola Way and Lincoln Road. There are tons of eating options in the area. You can easily walk to most places. The airport bus that goes to South Beach drops you off about a block away.

Only downside was that we got a ground floor room and it did get kind of noisy. Not too much natural light in the room for the same reason. Otherwise, the room was great for the money. Booked direct through their site and it was better deal than other hotel sites. Front desk was very nice and helpful when I called with questions after booking.

Room Tip: ask for a higher floor if possible, ground floor rooms tend to be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gardenhotelmiami, General Manager at The Garden Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you so much for your review!
As I read through your notes I really feel that we were able to meet/exceed your expectations of what our hotel could do. We're so glad you took the time to share your thoughts regarding our hotel. What I found most exciting was the fact that you used our hotel site to book your stay! That is great!
All I can say is thank you for staying with us and please stay with us again in the future.
Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois City, Illinois
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

My boyfriend and I went to South Beach this past weekend and originally we stayed at a different hotel but decided to stay another night so I called around and came across The Garden, which we had not seen online anywhere. They said it was $195 for the night which was 50 dollars cheaper than our current hotel was asking for, we walked about two blocks and when we got there the concierge said it was $175 a night which we thought was an even better deal (also a $13 resort fee, which pays for their buffet breakfast). The lobby was beautiful, very modern. The next day when we actually stayed in our room we were able to check in early, at about 11:30am. Our room was so beautiful, it had a tropical feel to it, the walls were floral and light blue, clean and had a very nice bathroom. The location was absolutely great, it is two blocks down from Ocean Dr so the walk home at night was very nice but far enough that you weren't awaken with all the screaming drunks outside if you stayed at a hotel on Collins like we did the first night.
The only negatives were the air conditioning was loud, but most importantly when we got breakfast we were informed that the $13 we paid was for the continental breakfast, which was a yogurt, muffin and croissant. To eat the buffet breakfast we had to pay another $4.50 a person which I thought was very sneaky! Even though I was very upset at the time I would absolutely stay here again when we visit South Beach next!

Room Tip: we stayed in 322!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gardenhotelmiami, General Manager at The Garden Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thank you so much for your response. Your review is great and we appreciate the fact that you took the time to write it. We take your comments as suggestions and will make changes as we move forward to make sure that we meet your expectations and the ones of our other guests. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon. Our hotel is moving in the right direction and with the help of our guests we will continue to improve our service standards and reach the level we seek. Again thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We have just had 2 nights at this hotel,i have been reading reviews over the last six months and if i had believed them i may have cancelled.
I now know not to trust everyone.
I have travelled for years stayed in many hotels and believe me this is hotel is GOOD.
For a few nights stay what more would you need than a VERY clean hotel, comfy bed, a pool and very friendly staff.
Its not far from the beach and all the shops bars etc you need.
Just try it make up your own minds.
Thank you South Beach Garden Hotel.

Room Tip: No fridge take a cooler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gardenhotelmiami, General Manager at The Garden Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
All we can say is: Thank you!
I read your review and found so many great things to share with our staff. We are working day and night to make sure we deliver a great performance for our guests. We believe every stay is an opportunity to showcase our standards and to promote our values as a company. Our staff feels proud when our guests see their efforts and share their stories. Please come again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We recently just stayed at this hotel on St. Patrick's Day weekend. We got a great rate and the room was very cute. it is just as it is pictured on the site. I felt it was clean and up to date. The wall murals were very cool and tropical. The room was enormous. We had a huge living room with large sectional and chairs and the bedroom was also a nice size. The beds were very comfy. We didn't need this much space. The bathroom was done nicely in a modern Florida style. The water pressure was good. I felt the shower and sink were clean. It was within walking distance to the beach and all the restaurants. The location was ideal.

We sat out at the pool one morning and got an awesome tan. There were towels and chairs available. We also had breakfast at the hotel which was very good simple buffet style. Overall we were very happy with our stay and would recommend it to anyone looking to stay in South Beach.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gardenhotelmiami, General Manager at The Garden Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you so much for telling us about your experience in our hotel. We are so glad you enjoyed a sunny day in Miami Beach/South Beach, you even caught a tan! Send us pictures! load them into our page. We love sharing our experiences too and hope that our guests feel the same way. We enjoyed having you here with us please feel free to le us know next time you're in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This hotel is really 5 small deco buildings fronting Washington Street. It used to be a Wyndham and is now independent. New owners have done a great job! We stayed in the first building, which has had a sleek South Beach-style makeover. The lobby is a sophisticated green and plum, while our room was two tones of miami aqua. Loved it! Rooms are small, but clean and just fine. Big bed was comfy. The location is in the heart of everything--we walked a few blocks to dinner in wonderful Espanola Way, suggested by front desk. Staff was very courteous and helpful. We booked this room late via a search engine, and thought the $131 price was great for the location. Free wifi, yay. It has a pretty little pool out front that people were enjoying. I had the buffet breakfast in one of the other little buildings of the hotel ($13) and it was yummy, including all u can eat scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, pancakes, chocolate croissants, Starbucks coffee. You could eat inside or out under the trees on Washington, which was a great option. The hotel has a little area on 11th (at Washington) where you can pull up in your car to check in and unload luggage. There's no hotel parking, but there are a couple of nearby options and the desk staff can help you figure out the best one for you. (If your stay is really short, like our less than 24 hour one, the open parking lot with meters might be the best bet.) The only con I can offer is that the elevator was out of order while we were there.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gardenhotelmiami, General Manager at The Garden Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Nothing is more satisfying than the pleasure of serving. Meeting the expectations of our guests is what we strive for and work hard to achieve. Thank you so much for taking the time to write this amazing review. We hope you come back again in the future. We are making changes and hope our guests will enjoy them. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Garden Hotel South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garden Hotel South Beach

Address: 1050 Washington Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5018 (Formerly Wyndham Garden Hotel Miami South Beach)
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#75 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Garden Hotel South Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our boutique hotel in Miami Beach is designed as an oasis for travelers who desire an escape from the common hotel, yet still value traditional services and hospitality. With a fresh, innovative appearance, well-appointed rooms and a casually-sophisticated atmosphere, our South Beach hotel can transform your trip into a time of inspiration and renewal. Vacationers looking for lodging in South Beach can appreciate our hotel's ideal location within walking distance of the beach, the Bass Museum, beautiful Art Deco homes and Ocean Drive's many famous attractions. Upscale fashion boutiques are at your fingertips when you stay here, with the Lincoln Road Mall and Collins Avenue shopping district less than a mile from the hotel. Our Miami Beach accommodations also offer quick access to the Port of Miami, where cruise ships dock for boarding. For the very best in Miami Beach accommodations, choose the The Garden Hotel South Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Expedia, Otel, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your The Garden Hotel South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bel Aire South Beach Miami
Bel Aire South Beach Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Garden Hotel South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.