We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FABULOUS TIME AT THIS HOTEL & SPA” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Carillon Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Carillon Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
The Carillon Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   6801 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33141   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free!
Ranked #37 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Silver Spring, Maryland
1 review
“FABULOUS TIME AT THIS HOTEL & SPA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This was my first visit to this hotel since the property was taken over by Carillon. I had been to the hotel twice when it was Canyon Ranch. I found this visit to be just as wonderful as my previous visits. The staff is exceptionally warm, friendly, kind, and helpful. I truly enjoyed the variety of exercise classes and lectures taught by high quality teachers. I had one spa treatment and it was exceptional. I enjoyed the high quality food at the restaurant and they catered to my special food needs. The breakfast buffet was excellent. I loved the easy access to the beach and walking path near the beach. The rooms are very spacious, quiet, and include a living room area and kitchen. This was a great experience and I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: request ocean view and to be away from the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    8
    3
    2
    4
See reviews for
13
13
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Property is a little tired and spa although nice really doesn't have much besides chirping bird sounds and one smallish jacussi. Staff is lovely but really needs an overhaul. Linens were great and food was average.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Since changing from Canyon Ranch to Carillon a few months ago, MANY horrible changes have been made at this resort. As a former resident and (now) sometimes guest at this resort, I can tell that the entire (once enjoyable) experience at this property has severely declined to the point where I feel the need to voice my opinion on TripAdvisor. It the past few visits to Carillon, it is very evident that the level of service has taken a nosedive. Note to Carillon management: decreasing services and simultaneously charging for items and services that were once free may increase the profit of the resort, but you apparently don’t understand that it also exponentially decreases the enjoyability of your guests and residents. From my personal experience, it appears that the resort has simultaneously decreased service and increased prices. So now we guests pay more and get less. The valet is a good example. Valet parking here is mandatory; there is no “self-park”. The service used to be free for guests of residents. But now it costs $15, even if you stay only for a few minutes. Overnight parking is much more expensive. And good luck getting your car in less than 30 minutes. The valet attendants seem to be much more interested in standing in a circle and chatting than actually doing their jobs and getting cars. This decreased service level and increased pricing is evident all over the resort - from the valet, to the restaurant, to the beach services, to the spa.
Long story short, if you want to be nickel-and-dimed to death, wait 45 minutes for cold food and 30 minutes for your car from the valet, please feel free to waste your money here. Otherwise, you can find much better value/service/amenities for your money much closer to South Beach or Bal Harbour. Avoid this waste of money.
P.S. This is actually my second review of this property. The first one was published a few days ago, then TripAdvisor took it down less than 24 hrs. after they published it. It appears that the Carillon management team cares MUCH more about getting rid of unflattering reviews than they do about actually creating an enjoyable experience for Carillon guests. It’s sad, really, because this resort used to be one of the best in Miami Beach. Now it’s not even in the top 50.

Room Tip: The best room to get here is any other hotel room at any other hotel in Miami Beach. Avoid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My experience at the Carillon has been.....Terrible. I will concede that their spa and gym facilities are not bad, as are the rooms and views. However, the food in the restaurant and by the pool is so bad, so so bad, that I have genuinely wondered if I am on one of the hidden camera shows. I asked for a steak medium and they said it came with lyonnaise potatoes. They brought a charred overcooked filet on burned sliced potatoes. I sent it back and they brought an actual raw piece of meat (no kidding), i felt mocked by the kitchen. The third time it was burned again. I switched by order to a salad. And nothing was said another the potatoes, but lyonnaise they were not. My friend’s salmon was very dry and our heirloom tomato appetizer was made with one mealy and one not yet ripe tomato. We obviously did not return again for dinner. However we did have breakfast included, it was like something out of a comedy sketch, spoiled milk, over salting of eggs to the point that the crystals are visible, and chlorine tasting oatmeal are just a few examples. i didn't leave that many examples out bc you barely had any choices, it looked like a kids buffet. I'm not saying the food isn't good or that you won't get fine dining....I'm saying that it's AWFUL!!!! STAY AWAY!!!! Lets talk about the security guys, they are rude and disrespectful, i was stretching at the gym after a long run, the security guy approached me and said in a rude tone of voice “you can’t stretch here”. Its a gym where else should i stretch? The pool looks nasty and super dirty, full of sand and dirt. The front desk is very rude and not helpful at all, if you ask any of them a question, they will direct you to GOOGLE .I will never stay here again and with food and service like this it should not be considered a leading hotel. The Canyon Ranch is better off not associating their brand with this “motel quality service” hotel. They are many other hotels on the beach with the same views, same beach but better service. i would recommend The Setai, St. Regis and many other hotels for the same price as this nasty hotel. Don't be fooled by the "5star reviews". Do your research.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Carillon is a special place in Miami Beach. The Cabana Pool on a Saturday has the perfect balance of family fun & adult enjoyment. The bartender, Chavy made us some incredibly tasty Miami Vice frozen drinks! Julio also made sure that we weren't missing a thing as we dined on our fish tacos poolside & the pool attendant Ana was ever so polite each time she adjusted the umbrella as the sun moved. A special thanks to Cody the manager a/k/a Cabana Mayor - his presence & pleasant demeanor made our entire weekend a superb experience! Can't wait to go back to paradise!

Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

What a beautiful place to just "be." Spent my 40th here with my twin sister and was not disappointed. The accommodations (all suites) were perfect; a refresh each day with a real espresso machine and superb turn down service are just the tip of the iceberg. Our concierge, Jose, provided great recommendations on local places to eat and included a few special recommendations for great experiences in South Beach. The Spa and workout facilities are unlike any I have ever seen - no detail is too small for them to cover. After just a few short days, we are relaxed and refreshed and ready to head back to the craziness of regular life.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I loved staying at this resort. Right on the ocean, the beach is georgeous. We could even order lunch by the sea. And the drinks when you get thirsty . The service is impecable and friendly. I took some Yoga and Zumba classes, the instructors were very professional .
I would recommend this place to relax and rejuvenate . I will go back there as soon as possible.

Room Tip: Balcony facing the ocean is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCarillon, General Manager at The Carillon Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Roxycallen,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We are thrilled to hear that you loved your stay here at The Carillon Hotel & Spa Miami Beach. Our number one goal is to provide guests with the absolute best service. We are so happy you enjoyed the beach, the fitness classes (particularly Yoga and Zumba) and found the service impeccable and friendly. Your kind words are greatly appreciated. We look forward to seeing you on your next relaxing and rejuvenating getaway.

Warm and healthy regards,
Bernard Agache
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Carillon Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carillon Hotel & Spa

Address: 6801 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33141
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#22 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#30 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#40 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#41 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Carillon Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A feast for your senses, The Carillon Hotel & Spa in Miami Beach offers inspiring healthy living opportunities in a stunning luxury hotel setting - plus easy access to everything an exciting city has to offer. Housed in the modernized and restored Carillon Hotel - a classic of Miami Modern architecture - our hotel will enchant you with its exquisite design and matchless views. Situated on more than 750 linear feet of uncrowded white beach, The Carillon Hotel & Spa is convenient to both Bal Harbour and South Beach. This all-suite hotel just 30 minutes from Miami International Airport is an oasis of tranquility, warmth and healthy living in one of the world's most vibrant cities. In a serene atmosphere of casual elegance, you can relax in your spacious, luxuriously appointed suite, float in a sparkling pool, savor healthy gourmet cuisine and organic wines and spirits at award-winning restaurant, work out in the largest and most beautifully appointed Spa in South Florida, and discover unsurpassed spa, fitness and health and wellness services. With its beautiful beach and menu of activities for parents and children, this splendid oceanfront hotel also offers a taste of healthy living experience for families. From morning walks on the beach and the thrill of our two-story indoor rock-climbing wall to integrative health experts to advise and inspire you, you'll find endless ways to reawaken your spirit and refresh your soul at The Carillon Hotel & Spa in Miami Beach. Whether you're traveling for business or pleasure, our Miami Beach boutique hotel offers an abundance of choices. In this magnificent oceanfront setting, kick back and relax, get outside and play, or explore our holistic approach to health and wellness with top experts to guide you. You can also take advantage of our legendary signature spa services that are conveniently offered a la carte to fit your schedule. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LHW, Orbitz, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your The Carillon Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canyon Ranch Hotel And Spa Miami Beach
Canyon Hotel Miami Beach
Canyon Resort Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Carillon Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.