We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach Hotel from Hell!!! Stay Away” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Carillon Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Carillon Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
The Carillon Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   6801 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33141   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free!
Ranked #25 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beach Hotel from Hell!!! Stay Away”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My experience at the Carillon has been.....Terrible. I will concede that their spa and gym facilities are not bad, as are the rooms and views. However, the food in the restaurant and by the pool is so bad, so so bad, that I have genuinely wondered if I am on one of the hidden camera shows. I asked for a steak medium and they said it came with lyonnaise potatoes. They brought a charred overcooked filet on burned sliced potatoes. I sent it back and they brought an actual raw piece of meat (no kidding), i felt mocked by the kitchen. The third time it was burned again. I switched by order to a salad. And nothing was said another the potatoes, but lyonnaise they were not. My friend’s salmon was very dry and our heirloom tomato appetizer was made with one mealy and one not yet ripe tomato. We obviously did not return again for dinner. However we did have breakfast included, it was like something out of a comedy sketch, spoiled milk, over salting of eggs to the point that the crystals are visible, and chlorine tasting oatmeal are just a few examples. i didn't leave that many examples out bc you barely had any choices, it looked like a kids buffet. I'm not saying the food isn't good or that you won't get fine dining....I'm saying that it's AWFUL!!!! STAY AWAY!!!! Lets talk about the security guys, they are rude and disrespectful, i was stretching at the gym after a long run, the security guy approached me and said in a rude tone of voice “you can’t stretch here”. Its a gym where else should i stretch? The pool looks nasty and super dirty, full of sand and dirt. The front desk is very rude and not helpful at all, if you ask any of them a question, they will direct you to GOOGLE .I will never stay here again and with food and service like this it should not be considered a leading hotel. The Canyon Ranch is better off not associating their brand with this “motel quality service” hotel. They are many other hotels on the beach with the same views, same beach but better service. i would recommend The Setai, St. Regis and many other hotels for the same price as this nasty hotel. Don't be fooled by the "5star reviews". Do your research.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    8
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
13
13
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Falls Church, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Carillon is a special place in Miami Beach. The Cabana Pool on a Saturday has the perfect balance of family fun & adult enjoyment. The bartender, Chavy made us some incredibly tasty Miami Vice frozen drinks! Julio also made sure that we weren't missing a thing as we dined on our fish tacos poolside & the pool attendant Ana was ever so polite each time she adjusted the umbrella as the sun moved. A special thanks to Cody the manager a/k/a Cabana Mayor - his presence & pleasant demeanor made our entire weekend a superb experience! Can't wait to go back to paradise!

Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

What a beautiful place to just "be." Spent my 40th here with my twin sister and was not disappointed. The accommodations (all suites) were perfect; a refresh each day with a real espresso machine and superb turn down service are just the tip of the iceberg. Our concierge, Jose, provided great recommendations on local places to eat and included a few special recommendations for great experiences in South Beach. The Spa and workout facilities are unlike any I have ever seen - no detail is too small for them to cover. After just a few short days, we are relaxed and refreshed and ready to head back to the craziness of regular life.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I loved staying at this resort. Right on the ocean, the beach is georgeous. We could even order lunch by the sea. And the drinks when you get thirsty . The service is impecable and friendly. I took some Yoga and Zumba classes, the instructors were very professional .
I would recommend this place to relax and rejuvenate . I will go back there as soon as possible.

Room Tip: Balcony facing the ocean is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCarillon, General Manager at The Carillon Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Roxycallen,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We are thrilled to hear that you loved your stay here at The Carillon Hotel & Spa Miami Beach. Our number one goal is to provide guests with the absolute best service. We are so happy you enjoyed the beach, the fitness classes (particularly Yoga and Zumba) and found the service impeccable and friendly. Your kind words are greatly appreciated. We look forward to seeing you on your next relaxing and rejuvenating getaway.

Warm and healthy regards,
Bernard Agache
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pottstown, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Tremendous 5 star property- amenities were fantastic (40 exercise classes/day - all types and levels, - thermal spas- all included with room) beautiful location, right on the beach ,fantastic beach service with towels, umbrellas, food and beverage service, 4 pools, great property layout. Stayed in a 2 room suite- was offered a complimentary upgrade at check in, but choose to decline (based on room readiness- personal choice) , Ingrid at guest services also checked me in an advised i sign up for leading hotels loyalty program- which offered comp. breakfast and late checkout (which we took advantage of , checked out at 4 pm thanks to Susan at Guest Services!)- All staff was extremely friendly courteous and attentive , suite was very very clean , all outside and spa areas were clean and tidy. We had dinner and a few lunches , food was fine- healthy, restaurant staff was great- quick , numerous local restaurants within walking distance for a change of pace- plus Supermarket across the street. certainly not a low budget getaway- but for the service and property location and upkeep- worth it!

Room Tip: suites are great, had a 2 room, partial view of ocean, higher floor (8) super quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCarillon, General Manager at The Carillon Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Pottstowntraveller,

Thank you for writing such a fantastic post. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us. We are ecstatic to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at The Carillon Hotel & Spa. Providing guests with the best service is our number one goal. We are very happy you found the fitness classes, thermal spa, service and room fantastic. Your kind words are greatly appreciated and will be sent over to Susan and Ingrid. Again, thank you for the positive feedback. Looking forward to seeing you soon.

Warm and healthy regards,
Bernard Agache
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2015 via mobile

This is the perfect place for a miami a getaway. The hotel is in north Miami beach about 25 min drive to south beach but still a great location. The hotel features great rooms some with small kitchens. It is right across the street from a publix supermarket so you can get all the food you want. The hotel features a great spa. 4 different pools and beach access just a few steps away. I had my daughter with me so families are welcome, but honestly it skews girlfriends, men's spa and Romantic couples. Gay friendly. Lots of places to lounge and just enjoy the weather. Only drawback is the nearby restaurant selection is limited and the hotel is a spa menu. Also not the action of south beach. So if you are looking for nightlife and skimpy attire you need a different hotel. Want to just chill in a beautiful surroundings then this is a great spot.

  • Stayed March 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCarillon, General Manager at The Carillon Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 16, 2015
Dear 913WorldTraveler,

Thank you for posting such an amazing review. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us. We are delighted to hear that you found The Carillon Hotel & Spa in Miami Beach the perfect place for a Miami getaway. Providing our guests with the most excellent service is our number one goal. We are very glad you and your daughter enjoyed your stay. Looking forward to seeing you again on your next “relaxing and chill getaway”!

Warm and healthy regards,
Bernard Agache
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2015

I just celebrated a big birthday and brought my entire family to stay here for a long weekend. What fun. The kids all climbed the rock wall and so did two of the dads. There are 4 infinity pools, 2 of which were kid-friendly. The beach staff were helpful, gracious, quick to set us up and moved us when we requested it. All the staff was impressive and helpful: concierges, fitness instructors, spa desk. Classes here go on all day. I'm a tough critic of hotels and this one passed with five star colors.

Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCarillon, General Manager at The Carillon Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 16, 2015
Dear Beachlifewins,

Thank you for posting such a wonderful review. We are very happy you chose The Carillon Hotel & Spa as the place to celebrate your birthday. At The Carillon Hotel & Spa, our goal is to provide guests with outstanding service. We are ecstatic to hear that you and your family had a fun and wonderful time and found the beach staff, concierges, fitness instructors and spa desk impressive and helpful. Again, thank you for your support, we greatly appreciate it. We can’t wait to see you again!

Warm and healthy regards,
Bernard Agache

PS. We love your profile name, and couldn’t agree more!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Carillon Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carillon Hotel & Spa

Address: 6801 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33141
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#30 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#40 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#41 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Carillon Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A feast for your senses, The Carillon Hotel & Spa in Miami Beach offers inspiring healthy living opportunities in a stunning luxury hotel setting - plus easy access to everything an exciting city has to offer. Housed in the modernized and restored Carillon Hotel - a classic of Miami Modern architecture - our hotel will enchant you with its exquisite design and matchless views. Situated on more than 750 linear feet of uncrowded white beach, The Carillon Hotel & Spa is convenient to both Bal Harbour and South Beach. This all-suite hotel just 30 minutes from Miami International Airport is an oasis of tranquility, warmth and healthy living in one of the world's most vibrant cities. In a serene atmosphere of casual elegance, you can relax in your spacious, luxuriously appointed suite, float in a sparkling pool, savor healthy gourmet cuisine and organic wines and spirits at award-winning restaurant, work out in the largest and most beautifully appointed Spa in South Florida, and discover unsurpassed spa, fitness and health and wellness services. With its beautiful beach and menu of activities for parents and children, this splendid oceanfront hotel also offers a taste of healthy living experience for families. From morning walks on the beach and the thrill of our two-story indoor rock-climbing wall to integrative health experts to advise and inspire you, you'll find endless ways to reawaken your spirit and refresh your soul at The Carillon Hotel & Spa in Miami Beach. Whether you're traveling for business or pleasure, our Miami Beach boutique hotel offers an abundance of choices. In this magnificent oceanfront setting, kick back and relax, get outside and play, or explore our holistic approach to health and wellness with top experts to guide you. You can also take advantage of our legendary signature spa services that are conveniently offered a la carte to fit your schedule. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LHW, Orbitz, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your The Carillon Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canyon Ranch Hotel And Spa Miami Beach
Canyon Hotel Miami Beach
Canyon Resort Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Carillon Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.