We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Canyon Ranch Hotel & Spa Miami Beach

Save Saved
You added Canyon Ranch Hotel & Spa Miami Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Canyon Ranch Hotel & Spa Miami Beach
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   6801 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33141   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
One More Night
Ranked #13 of 197 hotels in Miami Beach
Lewisville, Texas
1 review
“AMAZING !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

I can't wait to return!! Before we even arrived, the staff was so awesome! Checking with us via email for any special needs and appointments... When we checked in, can I just tell you how welcoming and accommodating everyone was? The Suite, with the AMAZING view, was nothing short of Gorgeousness! The restaurant was soooooooo good! I loved every meal! The freshest fish, the clean eating, Gluten Free options, it was all spectacular. The massage I had was very therapeutic and just what I needed. Nicholas Vasaturo and his team, were the BEST! I can't thank them enough for such an amazing getaway!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe P, Director of Sales & Marketing at Canyon Ranch Hotel & Spa Miami Beach, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Dawnette A,

Thank you for your AMAZING review! We truly value each guests expereinec with us, even starting before you arrive!

We will make sure to let the restaurant, spa and sales team know how much you enjoyed each of them.
Looking forward to seeing you again soon for another amazing getaway!

Healthy regards,

Philippe Parodi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    284
    77
    41
    24
    11
See reviews for
91
135
43
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hartland, Vermont
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

I had three days of business meetings in Miami and thought Her Ladyship would enjoy the exercise and spa facilities at Canyon Ranch while I was dealing with software engineers elsewhere. Reservation for four nights made via the hotel's website, confirmed, and deposit paid.

When we arrived the hotel the porte cochere looked a bit shabby and dark. We were the only guests arriving at the time, yet we were hurried -- in a frantic rather than efficient manner -- to get bags out of our car, receive valet parking ticket, etc. I felt like I was at the loading-and-unloading zone of LAX, about to get a ticket if I didn't move at quick time.

We went through the lobby double doors -- both with flecking paint -- and sat down at a gnarly wooden desk to check in. Because we'd just been on the road for five hours, I sat while Her Ladyship stood behind me.

The young, officious desk clerk gave me a "release" to sign. It was a full page of tiny six-point type, and (based upon my cursory reading) talked about doctor's consultations and a full general release. This seemed very unusual for a hotel -- but, in principle, I was happy to read it and sign it (if it made sense). Miss Officious didn't give me much of a chance to read it: instead she then explained that Her Ladyship would also need to sign her own "release" and that that this was typical at all hotels.

Huh? I've traveled for 50+ years and have stayed in thousands of hotels all over the world -- and can't recall ever being asked for all guests to sign a "release." Nevertheless, I was still prepared to read it and for both of us to sign separately, and I explained this to Miss Officious. I understood (or at least thought I understood) that Canyon Ranch was different, and that spa usage, etc., were part of the shtick. So in these circumstances perhaps the "release" made sense.

Rather than remaining quiet and allowing me to read the "release," Miss Officious continued to engage in a debate with Her Ladyship about this form and how "typical" it was. At this point, I asked to please speak with her manager.

After a brief wait, out came Miss Officious #2 (Gloria), whose card indicates she's a "Hotel Director"). I asked if I could please speak with her without Miss Officious #1 hovering around -- but, no, I was told that wasn't possible. This apparently was going to be a 2-on-2 debate, rather than a customer service opportunity. I asked to please speak with the General Manager (I understand his name is Bernard) but he was in a meeting.

I have learned, in life, that if something is problematic from the git go -- it's often a warning that things aren't going to get better. I said we'd probably be happier elsewhere, and asked for a copy of the "release" and the refund of our deposit.

After a very long wait -- while were left at the desk in the lobby -- they agreed to the deposit refund but wouldn't give me a copy of the "release" because I hadn't signed it. Our stay at Canyon Ranch lasted about 45 minutes, all of it spent in the lobby.

If, atypically, they have a comprehensive "release" that needs to be signed by all parties upon check-in I have no problem with that -- but a draft copy should be sent by the hotel prior to arrival so the 6-point type can be read in advance, and even forwarded to your attorney if you're so inclined. From what little I saw, this "release" is fairly comprehensive -- and some guests may be uncomfortable giving such a complete "release."

What were they trying to hide? If they thought this "release" was nothing out of the ordinary, why not give me a copy? Or give me five copies? In their e-mail confirmation, under the heading "Room/Rate Terms and Conditions," there is no mention of a "release." Nor is there any mention in a second e-mail entitled "Welcome to Canyon Ranch." Why not send a copy as an e-mail attachment?

Perhaps, if someone from hotel management reads and responds to this unfavourable review, they can post a link to the "release" so that potential guests can read it.

We went elsewhere and had a wonderful stay in a new luxury resort -- and not a "release" in sight.

If I want officiousness, I can get that at my local Post Office.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe P, Director of Sales & Marketing at Canyon Ranch Hotel & Spa Miami Beach, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Sir:
We are sorry to hear you were less than satisfied, however, we do not feel that your review embodies a true guest’s experience with us.

It is our understanding that you had refused to sign our standard hotel documents, which include a registration card, commonly used at hotels worldwide, as well as our non-smoking policy. As a health conscious hotel, we are extremely strict about this for the wellbeing of our guests as well as staff.

We hope the remainder of your stay in the Miami area met your expectations.

Healthy regards,

Philippe Parodi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We're locals, and we came to Canyon Ranch Miami Beach for a mini-spa getaway. We first inquired about day rates for the spa. $295 per person. So we asked about room rates. For our dates, they had a city view suite for $565/night, which allowed you (2 guests) use of the spa, pools, beach, and fitness classes for 2 days- all day the day you check in, and all day the day you check out. Oh, and that came with free parking, free breakfast, and a $50 spa credit. Hardly makes sense to charge more for 2 people to use the spa for one day ($590) than you charge for 2 people to use the spa for two days AND occupy a large suite ($565), but ok, we'll take the room!

The room was huge, nicely decorated, had great beds, a nice soaking tub, and a kitchen w/ fridge, microwave, and coffee maker. The spa, pools (there are 3), and beach are all fantastic. The service was excellent throughout the property. The breakfast buffet wasn't too appealing, but the a la carte entrees were really good, as were the smoothies. We will definitely be back to enjoy this property again in the future!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe P, Director of Sales & Marketing at Canyon Ranch Hotel & Spa Miami Beach, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear guest,

Firstly, we loveyourusernamebaby! So glad you stayed with us and enjoyed the many facilities and amenities we have to offer! Since your our neighbor we hope you return soon, even if its for a meal.
And, the next time you stay with us, we will have to make sure someone shows you the 4th pool!

Healthy regards,

Philippe Parodi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Canyon Ranch has awesome amenities and a super chill/helpful staff. It's an awesome place to get away from reality and pamper yourself. Hit up Aquavana after a day at the beach, you won't regret it. I highly recommend this place. This is not a party spot though. Great healthy food, drinks and all the fitness classes you can dream of. Go rock climbing too.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe P, Director of Sales & Marketing at Canyon Ranch Hotel & Spa Miami Beach, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Ralph N,

We really enjoyed reading your review! It seems you were truly able to enjoy your Canyon ranch experience - including the rock wall!

We truly value you taking the time to let others know about your relaxing weekend with us and we do hope to see you again soon!

Healthy regards,

Philippe Parodi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

The Canyon Ranch knows what it is doing. I've visited multiple times and found their massages to be consistently better than any I have gotten elsewhere. At less than $200 for an hour treatment they are also a surprisingly good deal. Don't think twice about splurging.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe P, Director of Sales & Marketing at Canyon Ranch Hotel & Spa Miami Beach, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear keresch,

Thank you so much for this amazing review.
We truly value your business and faith in us that we will always deliver exceptional service.

We look forward to seeing you again soon for your next treatment.
Healthy regards,

Philippe Parodi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I discovered Canyon Ranch through The Leading Hotels of the Word and stayed 5 nights.
Service quality and attitude of every individual (Receptionists, Concierges, Waiters, Bar tenders, Beach assistants,etc.) is great!
The agenda is full of activities from 7AM until 6PM...I enjoyed the beach, and specially the Zumba! sessions, lots of fun and aerobics!!!

Room Tip: An ocean view room... Sun rises at 7 in October, so I left the curtains open and waked up with a mar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe P, Director of Sales & Marketing at Canyon Ranch Hotel & Spa Miami Beach, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Oscar427,

Thank you for this wonderful review! We are so glad that you chose to stay here with us and that you received excellent service from each of our employees.

It is so good to see that you were able to take advantage of the many offerings we have – including the beach and ZUMBA!

Looking forward to seeing you again the next time you are in Miami!

Healthy regards,

Philippe Parodi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Went to CR MIA for a girlfriend getaway - our only complaint is that we only booked 3 nights-should have booked longer!! We are very familiar with the CR lifestyle, having been to both Lenox and Tucson numerous times. This is entirely different since it has a beautiful beach!! In addition, all the rooms are lovely suites, so there is more than enough room to spread out. We loved the classes and the food was just wonderful. The staff was very attentive, friendly and always helpful, esp the mgr. The weather was perfect-sunny & warm and we went one night to a wonderful restaurant-Villa D'Azure, not far from the resort. There is also very good shopping close to the hotel and CR will shuttle you over. It is a very large property, but easy to navigate. We are home now but have the Canyon Ranch glow!!
Roberta, Ellen & Lorraine

Room Tip: All the rooms are basically the same-it is just a matter if you want to pay more to face the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe P, Director of Sales & Marketing at Canyon Ranch Hotel & Spa Miami Beach, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear presbert,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property! We feel that Canyon Ranch Hotel & Spa in Miami Beach is the ideal destination for a girlfriend getaway – and glad you felt the same.
The three of you truly captured the experience and everything we have to offer our guests, from the beautiful beach and the spacious suites, to the variety of classes and healthy cuisine! And, it’s good that the weather was perfect for you as well!

We look forward to seeing you again soon – and sure you will return still with that glow.

Healthy regards,

Philippe Parodi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Canyon Ranch Hotel & Spa Miami Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canyon Ranch Hotel & Spa Miami Beach

Also Known As:
Canyon Ranch Hotel And Spa Miami Beach
Canyon Hotel Miami Beach
Canyon Resort Miami Beach
Address: 6801 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33141
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#11 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#13 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Canyon Ranch Hotel & Spa Miami Beach 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first of its kind, this spectacular Miami Beach boutique hotel combines the flexibility of a la carte hotel services with many of the limitless healthy choices of acclaimed Canyon Ranch health resorts. A feast for your senses, Canyon Ranch Hotel & Spa in Miami Beach offers inspiring healthy living opportunities in a stunning luxury hotel setting – plus easy access to everything an exciting city has to offer. Housed in the modernized and restored Carillon Hotel – a classic of Miami Modern architecture – Canyon Ranch Hotel & Spa in Miami Beach will enchant you with its exquisite design and matchless views. Situated on more than 750 linear feet of uncrowded white beach, Canyon Ranch Hotel & Spa is convenient to both Bal Harbour and South Beach. This all-suite hotel just 30 minutes from Miami International Airport is an oasis of tranquility, warmth and healthy living in one of the world’s most vibrant cities. In a serene atmosphere of casual elegance, you can relax in your spacious, luxuriously appointed suite, float in a sparkling pool, savor healthy gourmet cuisine and organic wines and spirits at award-winning Canyon Ranch Grill™, work out in the largest and most beautifully appointed Spa in South Florida, and discover unsurpassed Canyon Ranch spa, fitness and health and wellness services. With its beautiful beach and menu of activities for parents and children, this splendid oceanfront hotel also offers a taste of the Canyon Ranch healthy living experience for families. From morning walks on the beach and the thrill of our two-story indoor rock-climbing wall to integrative health experts to advise and inspire you, you’ll find endless ways to reawaken your spirit and refresh your soul at Canyon Ranch Hotel & Spa in Miami Beach. Whether you’re traveling for business or pleasure, our Miami Beach boutique hotel offers an abundance of choices. In this magnificent oceanfront setting, kick back and relax, get outside and play, or explore our holistic approach to health and wellness with top experts to guide you. You can also take advantage of the legendary Canyon Ranch signature spa services that are conveniently offered a la carte to fit your schedule. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LHW, Tingo, Venere, HotelTravel.com, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Canyon Ranch Hotel & Spa Miami Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canyon Ranch Hotel & Spa Miami Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.