We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of options on beautiful beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Canyon Ranch Hotel & Spa Miami Beach

Save Saved
You added Canyon Ranch Hotel & Spa Miami Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Canyon Ranch Hotel & Spa Miami Beach
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   6801 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33141   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
One More Night
Ranked #12 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
CT
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Lots of options on beautiful beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Reading some of the negative reviews, I'm wondering if we even stayed in the same hotel! While the rooms aren't overly lavish, they are extremely comfortable and comparable to other luxury beach rooms. (This is the beach after all; plush carpeting and heavy sofas would be out of place.) I can excuse the sometimes inefficient service because for the most part it is fine, and it is always pleasant. And the setting combined with the activities - to do or not do at your leisure - makes for a great way to spend a few days!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe P, Director of Sales and Marketing at Canyon Ranch Hotel & Spa Miami Beach, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your experience. it was a real pleasure to welcome you and we are excited to see that you were able to fully enjoy our property and service. We are looking forward to welcome you back. Please let us know if we can be of any assistance.

Healthy regards

Philippe Parodi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    320
    88
    45
    27
    11
See reviews for
104
158
49
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Stayed here only 1 night; 1 BR Suite. Really nice, clean, spacious, luxurious. Staff friendly. Super nice lap pool (I am a swimmer) and they even changed the lane markers for me so I could do laps.
Workout center has all the bells and whistles and latest equipment and great music. Mens locker room/spa is spacious, clean and luxurious. Breakfast buffet really nice but not outstanding (remember its a 'health' place). Beach and boardwalk.very nice. There is a great supermarket across this street and nice restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe P, Director of Sales & Marketing at Canyon Ranch Hotel & Spa Miami Beach, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experiences with all for your stay at Canyon Ranch Miami Beach. We are pleased to see that you took full advantage of our services and you have enjoyed your time with us. Nothing can better satisfy and motivate our team more than your feed back and we are thrilled that we have been able to provide you with such a great time for your vacations with us. We hope to see you back very soon.

Healthy regards

Philippe Parodi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

We were seated quickly, despite not having a reservation. The meal was healthy, delicious and the service was outstanding. Josue was our server and he was friendly and helpful. Can't wait to go back again!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe P, Director of Sales & Marketing at Canyon Ranch Hotel & Spa Miami Beach, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words describing your recent Dinner at The Grill. We find motivation and inspiration when our guests are having a true Canyon Ranch experience.
The Grill restaurant has been recognized for the excellence in healthy cuisine for many years as we are paying a very special attention in the selection of all our fresh organic ingredients and our technics of cooking, Everything in our menus is home made and prepared on the spot to provide the maximum of flavors and nutritional benefits. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your experience and look forward to welcome you again soon.


Healthy regards
Philippe Parodi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Let's start with the positive: Great spa area that's included when you stay at the hotel (minus services) and steps away from the beach (which was beautiful). Now onto the rest: First off, I booked on Hotwire and feel as if we were treated as second class citizens from the moment we walked into the door. This is the main reason for my low score and review of this hotel. I don't care where people book, they should all be treated the same way.

The room: We were put in what I consider to be the worst room on the property: second floor, right next to the elevator with a view of a wall and a teenie tiny sliver of ocean... if you stand on your toes. When I asked if we could move to a different room, my request was promptly denied because no other room at "our rate" was available. On top of that, the room was not five star standards: There were long female hairs all over the shower and bathroom floor (my parter and I are both men with short hair), the bathroom finish out was cheap and the TV in our living room didn't even work. The bed and pillows were very nice.

Food and Beverage: Overpriced. Heads up to management: you can make organic, healthy food that still tastes good. I'm all about eating healthy but what we had was not cuisine up to par with a five star resort. Our french toast was sliced bread that had been warmed up with a mediocre fruit cup. Cocktails were not up to par either. Very strong pours (if you're into that) with little attention to how the drinks taste. I don't know about you, but I would rather have a drink that tastes good and is a bit weaker as opposed to a strong one that tastes gross.

Spa/Resort: Was great. Pricing on par with what you would expect for a high end spa and a really nice treatment area. The grounds were well kept and the best part was the beach. A few steps from the hotel and very nice staff that are happy to set everything up for you. There is a cocktail waitress that works very limited hours. We arrived to the beach at 9AM and were told she didn't arrive until 11A. That in itself is annoying but was even worse when she didn't show up until 11:45A. Five star hotel should equal five star service, especially on the beach! We didn't partake in any group fitness classes during our stay but that didn't stop us from hearing them the entire time. Even all the way on the beach you can hear Timmy's Boxing class. Nothing says relaxing time on the beach like some dude screaming at people.

All and all: Not worth the price at all, would not recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe P, Director of Sales & Marketing at Canyon Ranch Hotel & Spa Miami Beach, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent stay. I appreciate both your positive comments relating to our beach services staff, wellness facility and spa services as well as your feedback on areas for improvement. In response to your concerns, we try our very best to accommodate requests for one-level upgrades when available and it's my understanding that during your visit, such an upgrade was not possible. Management is already looking into your room concerns and investigating the noise level in relaxation areas. I hope that during your next visit to Miami we will have the opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Healthy regards,
Philippe Parodi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Stayed just for one night in an One Bedroom Suite Ocean View.
People who work there are very nice but the hotel need more people to improve the services.
The room was clean but dated, the air-conditioning is really noise; bathroom has a good size but need a renovation.
I have no plans to return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe P, Director of Sales & Marketing at Canyon Ranch Hotel & Spa Miami Beach, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing details about your Canyon Ranch Miami Beach vacation. We would have loved to welcome you for a longer stay in order for you to fully benefit from all the complimentary services and activities which make the reputation of Canyon Ranch Hotel & Spa. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Healthy regards

Philippe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purchase, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We have been to all of the canyon ranch properties over the years and found a liking to Miami after it opened a few years ago. We have been here three times now...and sorry to say it may have been the last. The service has worsened to incompetent...where do you go from there!?! It is unfortunate the the work force in the Miami area is as it is or else this 5 star property would be run accordingly like the other ranch properties.
The Spa is horribly managed...stylists show up hung over to cut hair and cut chunks out between running to the bathroom and literally blowing chunks. Yes they cut a chunk of hair out of my wife's hair mid way...and she only was in for a trim. The manager in the spa was horrifying to anybody and stated "well its not so bad...maybe tomorrow it will be better"...Really!
No!...it was not better.
Multiple problems with the Front desk staff...one does not know what the other is doing in the hotel. Even the manager William was completely frustrated with the level of incompetence displayed from his employees. In his defense he was being told by engineering and other departments that they "in fact had completed tasks"...so he had no idea of knowing these employees were not being truthful. Once he discovered this he certainly made things happen...unfortunately the entire experience still resonates.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe P, Director of Sales & Marketing at Canyon Ranch Hotel & Spa Miami Beach, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your loyalty and for sharing your experience. On behalf of our management team, I would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused during your stay. Further to your review, we have investigated the issue that you have reported. Our salon has always been an example of professionalism providing the highest quality of service. Unfortunately, during your experience at our Salon, our employe fell sick while accomplishing her duties and if she had advised her manager, would have been replaced. I would like to precise that we have established after our investigation that our employee was simply sick and not intoxicated. We are also sorry to hear that despites the several conversations with our Spa Manager you felt that our management team didn't meet your expectations and apologize for the misunderstanding occured in our communication as it has never been our intention to show any careless behavior. Our main priority has always been our guests and their total satisfaction and we sincerely hope that we will be able to prove it in the future.
I personally remain availble to assist if you would decide to visit us again.
We are looking forward to welcome you.

Healthy regards.

Philippe Parodi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed there for five days; four of us in two rooms. Positives: The range of fitness classes was terrific and the classes we took were very well run. The aqua-spa was great, with unique features like the Igloo, Rain Forest Showers and Herbal relaxation room. The spa treatments were very good. It is great to be able to walk to the spa in 60 seconds -- the place is well laid out. The food in the restaurant is great and the service was solid. Negatives: The rooms felt dated with wear and tear showing. The refrigerator and air-conditioning unit in the kitchen made too much noise (65-70 decibel -- that's like having someone talk to you constantly). We worried about the electro magnetic field emitted by the (humming) Leviton box in the bedroom closet. The bed was good but not great. The bathroom should have two sinks. The kitchen was lightly equipped with low-quality items. The couches were uncomfortable to sit in because the bottom pillow kept sliding off the frame. The remote control was programmed poorly and frustratingly unresponsive. WiFi reception was hit or miss. The Spa lacks a place to relax after treatments. The restaurant lacks atmosphere and was over half empty all the time. The food and beverage on the beach was slow. The umbrella guys were very quick to fold your umbrella if a few clouds gathered -- their way of getting people to clear off the beach a bit early? Adding it all up and we felt the experience was simply not up to the standards of a five-star experience. That said, if you are over 40, want a very active vacation and don't care about the small stuff, then this is a very good option.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe P, Director of Sales & Marketing at Canyon Ranch Hotel & Spa Miami Beach, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experiences with all. Our goal with our team is to improve everyday and we thank you for highlighting in such details the different aspects of your experience. We are reviewing with our team all details and following up with your comments especially regarding the technical issues in your suite.We are pleased to see that you took full advantage of our fitness and spa services. We will make sure that your next experience with us will fully meet with your expectations.

Healthy regards.

Philippe Parodi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Canyon Ranch Hotel & Spa Miami Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canyon Ranch Hotel & Spa Miami Beach

Address: 6801 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33141
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#8 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Canyon Ranch Hotel & Spa Miami Beach 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first of its kind, this spectacular Miami Beach boutique hotel combines the flexibility of a la carte hotel services with many of the limitless healthy choices of acclaimed Canyon Ranch health resorts. A feast for your senses, Canyon Ranch Hotel & Spa in Miami Beach offers inspiring healthy living opportunities in a stunning luxury hotel setting – plus easy access to everything an exciting city has to offer. Housed in the modernized and restored Carillon Hotel – a classic of Miami Modern architecture – Canyon Ranch Hotel & Spa in Miami Beach will enchant you with its exquisite design and matchless views. Situated on more than 750 linear feet of uncrowded white beach, Canyon Ranch Hotel & Spa is convenient to both Bal Harbour and South Beach. This all-suite hotel just 30 minutes from Miami International Airport is an oasis of tranquility, warmth and healthy living in one of the world’s most vibrant cities. In a serene atmosphere of casual elegance, you can relax in your spacious, luxuriously appointed suite, float in a sparkling pool, savor healthy gourmet cuisine and organic wines and spirits at award-winning Canyon Ranch Grill™, work out in the largest and most beautifully appointed Spa in South Florida, and discover unsurpassed Canyon Ranch spa, fitness and health and wellness services. With its beautiful beach and menu of activities for parents and children, this splendid oceanfront hotel also offers a taste of the Canyon Ranch healthy living experience for families. From morning walks on the beach and the thrill of our two-story indoor rock-climbing wall to integrative health experts to advise and inspire you, you’ll find endless ways to reawaken your spirit and refresh your soul at Canyon Ranch Hotel & Spa in Miami Beach. Whether you’re traveling for business or pleasure, our Miami Beach boutique hotel offers an abundance of choices. In this magnificent oceanfront setting, kick back and relax, get outside and play, or explore our holistic approach to health and wellness with top experts to guide you. You can also take advantage of the legendary Canyon Ranch signature spa services that are conveniently offered a la carte to fit your schedule. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, LHW, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your Canyon Ranch Hotel & Spa Miami Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canyon Ranch Hotel And Spa Miami Beach
Canyon Hotel Miami Beach
Canyon Resort Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canyon Ranch Hotel & Spa Miami Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.