We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond My Expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Canyon Ranch Hotel & Spa Miami Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Canyon Ranch Hotel & Spa Miami Beach to your Saves list
Canyon Ranch Hotel & Spa Miami Beach
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   6801 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33141   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
One More Night
Ranked #8 of 204 Hotels in Miami Beach
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beyond My Expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I live in Florida but my girlfriend and I needed an "escape from life" but only had 2 days to enjoy it. I had heard of this hotel prior to my arrival but unfamiliar with it. Like many travellers to Florida, my choices of a getaway would have been South Beach or Ft. Lauderdale Beach. I was pleasantly surprised by my experience in North Miami Beach, just 10 minutes drive from South Beach. Canyon Ranch does not have a rustic feel as its name might suggest. On the contrary, it exudes a feeling of a luxury all-spa resort. From the moment we drove up to the valet we felt like we had left the city and entered a spa resort in the desert. The contemporary open feel made it very welcoming. We stayed in a 1-bedroom suite with city/bay view. The room was very spacious with its long hallway, and open kitchenette and living room area. The bedroom was big enough for 2 queen size beds, large flat screen tv, night table, and sitting chair. The marble bathroom with its sunken tub, vanity area, glass door shower stall with various shower heads and separate water closet just added to the luxury expected of a 5-star hotel. After a thorough walk through of the property and beach area I truely felt like I was on an island miles away from home.
From the moment we entered the lobby all employees made you feel special and were very professional and accommodating. The relaxed desk check-in service was very welcoming. The concierge staff was very knoweledgeable of the area. The food and beverage staff made some very good suggestions. All the food at this hotel is very healthy, which only added to the "getaway" experience as I am not the typical health food junkie. From breakfast to appetizers, healthy mediterranean/european is the theme. A must for all to try is the "Ginger Ale", a specialty of the Lounge, not your typical ginger ale soda.
Now for the amazing spa....Aquavana is an experience that everyone must undergo at least once during their stay. My favorites were the HydroSpa, Crystal Steam Room, and Herbal Laconium. After a 50-minute massage, 2 hours in the Spa, and all the health food I could eat, this was truely a well-deserved getaway. Thank you Canyon Hotel & Spa for making this a most memorable vacation.

Room Tip: 2-bedroom suites wheter or not you need it has ceiling to floor glass windows behind the master bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe P, Director of Sales & Marketing at Canyon Ranch Hotel & Spa Miami Beach, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for sharing great details about your recent stay with us and your enthusiasm about our property. We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed our little oasis in Miami Beach and the graciousness of our service. We look forward to welcoming you back real soon.

Healthy regards
Philippe Parodi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    98
    48
    27
    11
See reviews for
120
186
61
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Niagara Falls, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

This is my third trip to this hotel and it only gets better each time. the facilities and staff are amazing as well as the residents too! We really enjoy the classes and the instructers who are tru professionals. Our suite was beautiful and superbly appointed. The only thing that was missing was the fact that they eliminated the "grab and go" type kiosk in the lobby. We really missed that. Chaumcie the concierge is amazing and is extremely knowledgable. every time we go there she exceeds our xpectations.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe P, Director of Sales & Marketing at Canyon Ranch Hotel & Spa Miami Beach, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your loyalty and for sharing your experiences with all. We are pleased to see that you continue to take full advantage of our services and you have enjoyed so much your time with us this again. Nothing can better satisfy and motivate our team more than your feed back and we are thrilled that we have been able to provide you with such a memorable time for your vacations with us. We hope to see you back very soon.

Healthy regards.

Philippe Parodi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

This was our first true relaxation vacation since having our little guy; who's now 14 months old. Wanting to use some accumulated miles we looked for the best hotel we could get with our points and while Canyon Ranch fell just below Ritz Carlton for cost per night I can't imagine another hotel outdoing what they have to offer. The hotel is within a luxury residential development on the ocean and from the moment you pull up you don't want to leave. Staff are friendly and helpful. The atmosphere has 'relaxation' in every corner- from the dimmed lighting to the scented environments. The rooms are extremely generous with space- we had a full size crib that the hotel provided (at no cost!) and didn't even notice it was there. Having checked in just hours before the Super Bowl I was pleased to find a large flat-screen waiting.

The pool areas are just magnificent. The attendants (shout out to Andre!) are there to help you with everything you need. The views are to die for. The have 4 outdoor pools, 3 of which children are allowed to- all strategically placed so that at least one gets sun at any point during the day.

Canyon Ranch also has it's own private beach area that's fully staffed from early morning until dusk. A hit for us was the children's play area that's dug into the sand and outfitted with toys, buckets and shovels. Our son had a blast!

Saving the best for last, the Spa was the most relaxing place I've ever been to. Clean, calm and a slice of heaven. If you're coming down, make certain to bring a few sets of gym clothes for the classes they offer; I wasnt able to take full advantage but will next time around.

All said and done- CR Miami is on our permanent destination list.

One drawbacks: 1) The in-suite dishwasher had a slightly 'musky' smell, as did one of the glass enclosed showers. Then again, we only showered at the spa on the 4th floor and didnt use the dishwasher at all so it wasn't a big deal.

Room Tip: You need to ask for, and pay for, a room with an ocean view. The base rooms, while wonderful, have c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe P, Director of Sales & Marketing at Canyon Ranch Hotel & Spa Miami Beach, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experiences with all. We are pleased to see that you have enjoyed so much your time with us and especially with your little one. Nothing can better satisfy and motivate our team more than your feed back and we are thrilled that we have been able to provide you with such a memorable time for your vacations with us. We hope to see you back very soon to fully experience our facilities and in a few years your son may be able to enjoy one of our kid fitness activities proposed between 8 to 14 years old.

Healthy regards

Philippe Parodi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

After reading some of the other online reviews, I was skeptical to stay. I'm really glad we still gave it a chance, it was totally worth every penny! I booked through the online travel agency Scarlett Hospitality, and they did a really good job of getting all my room requests and early check in to the front desk. The staff at the desk was very friendly and we really felt welcomed after a long flight. I have to say the spa was AMAZING! I've been to different spas all over the US and this is now on my top 10 list. A must! The resort has beautiful pools and the hotel grounds were great. I will surely come back!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe P, Director of Sales & Marketing at Canyon Ranch Hotel & Spa Miami Beach, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your experience. Our entire team is excited to see that you were able to take advantage of our many offerings and enjoyed the uniqueness of our Wellness Spa and Aquavana during your stay with us. We sincerely hope to see you again you for another stay. We are looking forward to welcoming you again..

Healthy regards

Philippe Parodi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Five of us spent a long weekend at Canyon Ranch Miami. We booked a 2-BR suite and upon arrival we were upgraded to an Ocean View Suite! The views were amazing and the setup of the suite worked well. The rooms were spacious (including the bathrooms!) and clean. Having the kitchenette in the common room was so convenient--there is a huge Publix right across the street from the hotel so we stocked up on snacks and drinks. The kitchenette is stocked with plates, utensils, etc. My friends had breakfast at the restaurant and I grabbed a sandwich in between classes from the cafe but we ate dinner mostly in South Beach which is a short cab ride away. The variety of exercise classes offered was really great. You can spend the whole day going to classes or you can just sit and lounge by the pool or the beach. Take a class with Paul: he teaches ballet, ballet booty workout, Zumba, Gyrokinesis, and who knows what else? I even saw him leading a kids' activity--he has a really fun personality perfect for the setting. All of the staff were really friendly and helpful--from check-in to the spa attendants to the guys on the beach who set up umbrellas for us. We also booked treatments at the spa--we booked them in advance as suggested so we could get the time slots we wanted--which we enjoyed thoroughly. Canyon Ranch Miami was definitely worth the splurge. Service was excellent, the accommodations were lovely, variety of activities was plentiful, and the location was convenient to South Beach dining and shopping. The weekend went by too quickly! I would definitely return--it was perfect for a girlfriends getaway but I think it would also be fun to stay as a couple!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe P, Director of Sales & Marketing at Canyon Ranch Hotel & Spa Miami Beach, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing details about your stay and your enthusiasm for the many activities to be experienced during a Canyon Ranch Miami Beach vacation. The entire team is thrilled that you and your girl friends enjoyed so much your stay with us as we are totally dedicated to provide an amazing experience for everyone of our guests. We look forward to welcoming you and your friends back real soon.

Healthy regards.

Philippe Parodi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Hard to believe this is one of the "Leading Hotels of the World". One the plus side, the folks are friendly, the options to enjoy the ocean are plentiful, and the decor is a soothing minimalist (for Miami). Room-suites are spacious and well equipped.

But prepare for glitches: the card keys to the room work half the time, necessitating a call to front desk when they balk; we were awakened at 2 am by a hotel employee handing over the plastic bags you pack your wet bathing suit in... friendly but semi-insisting we'd called for them. NOT!

Signage to the various places where classes are held is somewhat obscure so first-timers wander around until acclimated. The classes aren't anything special and some of the resident members seem protective of their turf "Oh, this is my usual spot ...can you move your mat?" The lecture on skin care was basic, and disappointingly a sales pitch for CR product. (You expect that when you go to Saks...but CR bills these as 'educational'. Would have been good to keep the pitch for the last minute and say "come to our store if you want to see what we have for exfoliation."

A bit of irony. . .we booked Canyon Ranch this trip to Miami Beach because I'd always wanted to try it. My husband wasn't so eager, wishing to go to another hotel. I book, on my credit card, too late for any special deal, and I do the check in. We walk into the room and the "big screen" on the hotel channel shows a hearty welcome to my husband! I call to make sure I'm registered, too, as our names are different : "Oh yes, you're registered!" I jokingly remark that I might have been welcomed too on the TV screen. I was told the the computer could only add one name. Note to marketing department: check this problem out.

I might return with girl friends on some special package -- but I'll have my expectations in line with the stay we just had.

Room Tip: Unless you're dying to see the ocean 24-7, no need to book a room w/ an ocean view. You can choo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe P, Director of Sales & Marketing at Canyon Ranch Hotel & Spa Miami Beach, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience. On behalf of our management team, I would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused during your stay. We value your feed back and our team is looking into all aspects of your review in order to improve your experience. I also well noted the TV mention that i will address. In the meantime, we sincerely hope that we will have a chance to welcome you again with your friends this time and provide the real Canyon Ranch experience in line with your level of expectations.
I will be happy to personally assist you for your next stay with us..

Healthy Regards.

Philippe Parodi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights and was one of our best getaways in awhile. From the moment you
pull up to the front doors you are greeted by seasoned employees. The hotel is gorgeous spacious clean rooms the lobby is so relaxing we didn't even want to go to our room. The spa was high quality and outstanding service. Everything was just outstanding we will defintely
return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe P, Director of Sales & Marketing at Canyon Ranch Hotel & Spa Miami Beach, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing details about your stay and your enthusiasm for your Canyon Ranch Miami Beach vacation. Wre are thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to see you back. We look forward to welcoming you soon.

Healthy regards

Philippe Parodi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Canyon Ranch Hotel & Spa Miami Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canyon Ranch Hotel & Spa Miami Beach

Address: 6801 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33141
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#5 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Canyon Ranch Hotel & Spa Miami Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first of its kind, this spectacular Miami Beach boutique hotel combines the flexibility of a la carte hotel services with many of the limitless healthy choices of acclaimed Canyon Ranch health resorts. A feast for your senses, Canyon Ranch Hotel & Spa in Miami Beach offers inspiring healthy living opportunities in a stunning luxury hotel setting – plus easy access to everything an exciting city has to offer. Housed in the modernized and restored Carillon Hotel – a classic of Miami Modern architecture – Canyon Ranch Hotel & Spa in Miami Beach will enchant you with its exquisite design and matchless views. Situated on more than 750 linear feet of uncrowded white beach, Canyon Ranch Hotel & Spa is convenient to both Bal Harbour and South Beach. This all-suite hotel just 30 minutes from Miami International Airport is an oasis of tranquility, warmth and healthy living in one of the world’s most vibrant cities. In a serene atmosphere of casual elegance, you can relax in your spacious, luxuriously appointed suite, float in a sparkling pool, savor healthy gourmet cuisine and organic wines and spirits at award-winning Canyon Ranch Grill™, work out in the largest and most beautifully appointed Spa in South Florida, and discover unsurpassed Canyon Ranch spa, fitness and health and wellness services. With its beautiful beach and menu of activities for parents and children, this splendid oceanfront hotel also offers a taste of the Canyon Ranch healthy living experience for families. From morning walks on the beach and the thrill of our two-story indoor rock-climbing wall to integrative health experts to advise and inspire you, you’ll find endless ways to reawaken your spirit and refresh your soul at Canyon Ranch Hotel & Spa in Miami Beach. Whether you’re traveling for business or pleasure, our Miami Beach boutique hotel offers an abundance of choices. In this magnificent oceanfront setting, kick back and relax, get outside and play, or explore our holistic approach to health and wellness with top experts to guide you. You can also take advantage of the legendary Canyon Ranch signature spa services that are conveniently offered a la carte to fit your schedule. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LHW, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and Tingo so you can book your Canyon Ranch Hotel & Spa Miami Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canyon Ranch Hotel And Spa Miami Beach
Canyon Hotel Miami Beach
Canyon Resort Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canyon Ranch Hotel & Spa Miami Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.