We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“*Best Vacation EVER*” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Canyon Ranch Hotel & Spa Miami Beach

Save Saved
You added Canyon Ranch Hotel & Spa Miami Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Canyon Ranch Hotel & Spa Miami Beach
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   6801 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33141   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
One More Night
Ranked #12 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“*Best Vacation EVER*”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

What a place. From the minute we pass the front door, We knew we were at the right place.Most of the staff was great; class offerings were exceptional. In the room, we felt that someone took time to think what the clients wanted and we thought they were successful. We will be returning.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe P, Director of Sales & Marketing at Canyon Ranch Hotel & Spa Miami Beach, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your experience. it was a real pleasure to welcome you and we are excited to see that you were able to fully enjoy our property and service. We are looking forward to welcome you back. Please let us know if we can be of any assistance.

Healthy regards

Philippe Parodi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    320
    88
    45
    27
    11
See reviews for
104
158
49
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Canyon ranch is a quiet small hotel with amazing facilities, an incredible spa and the most charming staff anywhere. Situated 10 minutes from Bal Harbor and South beach, Canyon Ranch is in the best possible area. It is one the few places in Miami where you have a vibrant latino community just outside and good food shopping at Publix and many small restos for different palates. We like the beach, the 4 pools, the gym, the aquavana shower systems, the spa, and the ambiance. If chill is your choice, Canyon is for you.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe P, Director of Sales & Marketing at Canyon Ranch Hotel & Spa Miami Beach, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience. We are very happy to see that you enjoyed so much your stay with us. As you mentioned, our property is surrounded by numerous small local restaurants and still is at the proximity of majors activities with South Beach and Bal Harbour nearby. We sincerely appreciate your feed back about our little oasis in Miami Beach and would love to welcome you back soon. Please let us know if we can be of any assistance.

Healthy regards

Philippe Parodi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boyertown, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

What an amazing property and staff! From the attendants on the beach, to the pool, the spa, the restaurant, front desk, concierge, and even the 2 gentlemen that we passed in the hall who were facilities team members, everyone was friendly and said hello to us before we had a chance to say hello to them. Coming from a hotel background this was truly an amazing experience in Customer Service at its finest. This would be a perfect property for Executive Retreats and Board Meetings especially with spouses. We had dinner and breakfast in the restaurant and the food is very well thought out, tasteful and innovative. Our servers were also excellent and our dinner server recommended a chimichurrri sauce that he brought out which great!

Room Tip: We had a suite on the 7th floor, quiet and great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe P, Director of Sales & Marketing at Canyon Ranch Hotel & Spa Miami Beach, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your experience. We are excited to see that you were able to take advantage of our many offerings and our service and staff met your expectations during your stay with us. We would love to welcome you back. Please let us know if we can be of any assistance.

Healthy regards

Philippe Parodi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

While we very much enjoyed the fitness classes, the service and the culture of the hotel needs to be changed for Canyon Ranch to be considered int the class of the Setai or Ritz. For example, our friends arrived last night at 9:45 and had not had dinner. The posted hours of the restaurant were from 6-10 but when we asked to be seated, the staff stated they were ready to leave even though they were not officially closed. When I checked into my room, we were put in a room that did not match with our reservation. My wife made an appointment for a haircut but upon arriving, the desk said they had made a mistake in booking her appointment and had been trying to reach us. Upon checking our phone as well as our room voice mail, we had no message. I had a massage booked for this afternoon but the therapist did not show. When we went out tonight for dinner, we were unable to obtain a taxi. This is the first time I have been unable to obtain a taxi from a hotel. This hotel could make a significant improvement if the culture was changed. While the staff is mostly pleasant, there is a lack of concern for the customer. I would only recommend this hotel should fitness be of paramount importance. Outside of the fitness and the fitness instructors, there a number of better options.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe P, Director of Sales & Marketing at Canyon Ranch Hotel & Spa Miami Beach, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience while you are still on property which gives our team an opportunity to recover any issue you have experienced. On behalf of our management team, let me say that we are deeply sorry about the inconvenience caused during your stay and all departments have been informed and are working to make such that such issues will not occur anymore . In the meantime, we sincerely hope that we will meet with your expectations for the rest of your stay and we all remain available if you would need any assistance. Our goal is primarely the satisfaction of our clients and we thank you for your valued feed back.

Healthy regards

Philippe Parodi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

But, crazy expensive! It cost me $1100 per night for my room. Great staff, great environment for the guests who want a healthier alternative. Do not go if you want to party! While they have some liquor, the selection is very small. And it turns into a silent property at 10pm! It is a must for people who strive for a world class spa experience! Without the party….

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe P, Director of Sales & Marketing at Canyon Ranch Hotel & Spa Miami Beach, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience at Canyon Ranch Hotel & Spa. I am pleased to see that our team has provided a service which met your expectations but sorry to hear that the atmosphere of the hotel was not what you were looking for. It is true that our concept is definitely adapted for guests searching for relaxation and an amazing wellness experience unlike our colleagues in South Beach providing more of a party experience a quick access away from our property. We value your feed back and look forward to welcome you back if you would decide to visit us again.

Healthy regards.

Philippe Parodi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My BFFs and I took a long overdue girls long weekend here in early December. There were 6 of us in the group so we were two to a room, which made it not crazy expensive. The rooms were fabulous (all are suites with living rooms and kitchenettes). The class schedule pleased every one with all of our different tastes, and the aquavana (which we referred to as "the water park" since we kept having trouble with the term aquavana) was a great additional diversion. Spa treatments were superb (as you would expect from Canyon Ranch); in particular, I did one where wrapped in plastic was lowered into a water bed of sorts to soak/warm. Totally unique. Service was A+ in every regard, from the check in, to the waitstaff, to the ladies in the spa locker room. Really exceptional and we will definitely go back. It was fun to go out in Miami a few nights for dinner so we were happy it was not an all inclusive. Perfect in every way.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe P, Director of Sales & Marketing at Canyon Ranch Hotel & Spa Miami Beach, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing details about your stay and your enthusiasm for the many activities to be experienced during a Canyon Ranch Miami Beach vacation. The entire team is thrilled that you and your BFFs enjoyed so much your stay with us as we are totally dedicated to provide an amazing experience for everyone of our guests. We look forward to welcoming you and your friends back real soon.

Healthy regards.

Philippe Parodi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Wide variety of classes is outstanding but during busy weeks (just returned) you have to arrive early at many or risk getting closed out. Many guests including those in my party were disappointed about this. Spa is very nice but again is not prepared for the peaks as they ran out of towels a few times this past week. Fitness facility outstanding. Food was good but when they are slammed with guests as they were this past week the service around lunchtime is horrible. Sometimes 2 hour waits to get what was ordered. Workers were trying but if they want to be rated excellent they need to staff up for the busy times as many guests and residents were complaining about this.

The key system is mediocre as it works most time but the gate to get to and from the beach takes 5 to 10 tries to get it open.

I took about 12 fitness classes over the 7 days and found a few of the instructors somewhat rude. One of them was nasty with a participant. These people need some training in guest relations. One class was canceled due to an instructor no-show. One other class started buy the guy saying this is my 3rd cardio class in a row so I'm going to talk you through the moves rather than demo what we should be doing. Management shouldn't schedule the instructors if this will negatively impact the class.

The concierges were very helpful. Willy at check-in was great - always willing to help. The valet service guys and bell staff were also great. Overall I would return but not during a busy time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe P, Director of Sales & Marketing at Canyon Ranch Hotel & Spa Miami Beach, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review describing your recent getaway. We are sorry that we haven't been able to fully satisfy you during your recent stay with us. We greatly appreciate your feedback on our restaurant and fitness operations and we will review our procedure to improve the experience during peak time. The Canyon Ranch team and I are looking forward to your next visit and provide this time a perfect service.

Healthy regards

Philippe Parodi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Canyon Ranch Hotel & Spa Miami Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canyon Ranch Hotel & Spa Miami Beach

Address: 6801 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33141
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#8 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Canyon Ranch Hotel & Spa Miami Beach 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first of its kind, this spectacular Miami Beach boutique hotel combines the flexibility of a la carte hotel services with many of the limitless healthy choices of acclaimed Canyon Ranch health resorts. A feast for your senses, Canyon Ranch Hotel & Spa in Miami Beach offers inspiring healthy living opportunities in a stunning luxury hotel setting – plus easy access to everything an exciting city has to offer. Housed in the modernized and restored Carillon Hotel – a classic of Miami Modern architecture – Canyon Ranch Hotel & Spa in Miami Beach will enchant you with its exquisite design and matchless views. Situated on more than 750 linear feet of uncrowded white beach, Canyon Ranch Hotel & Spa is convenient to both Bal Harbour and South Beach. This all-suite hotel just 30 minutes from Miami International Airport is an oasis of tranquility, warmth and healthy living in one of the world’s most vibrant cities. In a serene atmosphere of casual elegance, you can relax in your spacious, luxuriously appointed suite, float in a sparkling pool, savor healthy gourmet cuisine and organic wines and spirits at award-winning Canyon Ranch Grill™, work out in the largest and most beautifully appointed Spa in South Florida, and discover unsurpassed Canyon Ranch spa, fitness and health and wellness services. With its beautiful beach and menu of activities for parents and children, this splendid oceanfront hotel also offers a taste of the Canyon Ranch healthy living experience for families. From morning walks on the beach and the thrill of our two-story indoor rock-climbing wall to integrative health experts to advise and inspire you, you’ll find endless ways to reawaken your spirit and refresh your soul at Canyon Ranch Hotel & Spa in Miami Beach. Whether you’re traveling for business or pleasure, our Miami Beach boutique hotel offers an abundance of choices. In this magnificent oceanfront setting, kick back and relax, get outside and play, or explore our holistic approach to health and wellness with top experts to guide you. You can also take advantage of the legendary Canyon Ranch signature spa services that are conveniently offered a la carte to fit your schedule. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, LHW, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Canyon Ranch Hotel & Spa Miami Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canyon Ranch Hotel And Spa Miami Beach
Canyon Hotel Miami Beach
Canyon Resort Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canyon Ranch Hotel & Spa Miami Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.