We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mother daughter retreat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Canyon Ranch Hotel & Spa Miami Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Canyon Ranch Hotel & Spa Miami Beach to your Saves list
Canyon Ranch Hotel & Spa Miami Beach
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   6801 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33141   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Midweek Breather
Ranked #8 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
NYC
Top Contributor
309 reviews 309 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Mother daughter retreat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Why do we keep going back? Is it perfect-no. Is it in a great location- not really.Every time there is a third night free I get motivated. Here's the thing we love the spa treatments, the classes are good, the private trainers (Walid, Hillary are excellent) but it can be very relaxing or very intense depending on your mood and inclination. The rooms are nice and have kitchens if you want to grocery shop and stick to your diet. Not all rooms are equal. Facing the ocean is more expensive. Some rooms are a little bigger. I have to say there is massive construction going on across the street and we didn't hear much noise. My daughter loves the saunas, showers and herbarium. I love the facials and every treatment. My worst scenario is the relaxation room which is very zen with drinks and nuts and magazines. It takes me a few days to relax enough to enjoy it! This is sort of like going to camp without the supervision. If you want to sit on the beach or at the pool the whole time no one cares, you do as little or as much as you want. That is what we love! Mild annoyances are studios that are a little far so you cannot always get there. You can go to classes most of the day and not spend extra dollars for private training. Whatever works. We tend to meet friends in Miami. Bal Harbor is very close by and a beautiful shopping area with good restaurants. My daughter likes to go to South Beach and try new places and walk on Lincoln Road. I like to go to art exhibits and try restaurants that got great reviews and then I think I am doing too much and should just curl up with a book and call it a day. This trip was off season which was great, quiet and easy to get appointments but they were fully booked for the holiday so i am glad we got out of there before it started. It is not as enjoyable when they are fully booked but I am always glad to have gone.My only complaint is that every trip requires a few days to get the kinks out.This trip I really relaxed and after having been sick all winter began to exercise again so I am thankful.I also love the fact that i can get my daughter to go with me (not so easy at this age) and spend time with her alone. Sort of the same as having your child in the car with you- they have to talk!Four days of bonding was enough, I mean great!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanyonRanchHotel-Spa, Managing Director at Canyon Ranch Hotel & Spa Miami Beach, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you and your daughter for sharing your experiences with all. We are pleased to see that you both have taken full advantage of our services and offerings as well as all that Miami Beach as a destination has to offer.

Healthy regards

Matthias Kammerer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    103
    48
    27
    11
See reviews for
123
191
62
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newark, New Jersey
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012 via mobile

It was our 5 th stay for my daughter and I. We love it here as we can attend great exercise classes, try some new things too like TRX , eat well and have a lovely room. The other benefit is that you are close to Bal Harbour for great people watching and shops so you can leave the premises too but you must have a car. The surrounding area has improved over previous years and we woke up one morning to the sound of the workers building the Publix market across the street. The instructors are very professional and energetic. We stayed here for 4 nights with the last night free promotion. Other than that promotion, there are very few deals here. They add18% gratuity onto all your bills which I feel sometimes makes the service better and other times worse. this is also one of the cleanest spas I have been to and is the standard by which I judge others. The wifi does need improving and had some slow times. Otherwise, the food is delicious and proper portion controlled. We also made regular use of room service as it is only an additional $2 charge. Make sure you order the purple potato popovers- they were awesome. We will return again next year but there should be some recognition or upgrade for returning customers.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanyonRanchHotel-Spa, Managing Director at Canyon Ranch Hotel & Spa Miami Beach, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you and your daughter for the immense loyalty. We greatly appreciate your feedback and apologize for the Wi-Fi inconsistency. Upgrades to our Wi-Fi infrastructure are in progress and stability and speed are improving. We look forward to your next visit and make sure to recognize you.

Healthy regards

Matthias Kammerer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

The good: Rooms are huge and very nice. Property is beachfront and pools are great and plentiful. Location is ok (too far north) but easy to grab a cab and take advantage of Miami's nightlife. Most of the classes were very good. Spa is above average but services were excellent. The bad: Service really runs the gamut here. Servers in the restaurant tended to be very bad, especially at breakfast and lunch times. It was almost as if they had never been trained at all. They were nice, just clueless. Housekeeping spent 10 minutes trying to get open a cabinet where she insisted a washer/dryer would be. I told her (in Spanish) that I did not think there were washer/dryers in the units. After a call to her supervisor, she was told, sure enough, that only the residences had w/d. On my last day there, as I was walking around the spa in my robe that hung to the floor (I am very petite) one of the spa attendants asked if I would like a small sized robe. Of course I would! I wish I would have known those were available 3 days earlier. There are plenty of people working everywhere around the property, they just need to be better trained and/or more eager to help.
All in all this is a nice property with plenty to offer. I went with a group of women and we had a great time. We took advantage of the classes, the spa, lectures, and Miami! I have seen this property on Rue La La before and it was a great deal; grab that if you can!

Room Tip: I had a room that overlooked the street/construction site. It was a corner room and although the vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanyonRanchHotel-Spa, Managing Director at Canyon Ranch Hotel & Spa Miami Beach, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the constructive feedback and our apologies for any inconvenience. We have some training opportunities with our housekeeping, spa and restaurant staff and will incorporate your feedback into that ongoing effort.

Healthy regards

Matthias Kammerer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

My trip Canyon Ranch in Miami was my annual beach vacation but not just any vacation. Last year when I visited, I weighted 70 pounds heavier and was not able to participate in some of the classes, though I tried. I was tired, out of shape, and felt so depressed. The experience was still amazing due to the the wonderful facilities and friendly staff. They care. After loosing 70 pounds, I decided to give it another shot and take full advantage of all the classes, lectures, and Aquavana. It was Ana amazing experience, and through their friendly and very helpful staff, my experience was a true wellness retreat. I highly recommend this resort to anyone who needs to find peace, get in shape, or simply needs to rest. Todd from Minneapolis, MN

Room Tip: Any room is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanyonRanchHotel-Spa, Managing Director at Canyon Ranch Hotel & Spa Miami Beach, responded to this review, May 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are filled with joy reading your story about your two visits with us. It is extremely rewarding to our team that our mission of “aiming to inspire people to make a commitment to healthy living, turning hopes and intentions into the highest enjoyment of life” has had such a positive impact on your life. Congratulations to you and we look forward to your next visit.

Healthy regards

Matthias Kammerer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

I just came back from a wonderful 5-night stay at Canyon Ranch Miami Beach, and I can't wait to go there again. I traveled by myself and wanted to spend quality time at the gym, taking exercise classes, playing and relaxing at the pool/beach, and eating healthy food. Canyon Ranch delivered on everything, or almost everything.

The location is exceptional, right on a quiet stretch of Miami Beach, a 15 minute drive from South Beach. My suite was beautiful and housekeeping service was on point. The spa is very good, though slightly crowded at times. I cannot comment on the treatments as I did not have enough time to do them. The pools are fantastic, and for those like me who prefer a child-free vacation, there is an adult pool and another pool that was nearly always empty (North Tower, 6th floor).
The classes were fun and varied, I did not have time to sample all the choices. The food was delicious, but the portions are small and did not satisfy my voracious appetite after all the activities. Also, there are a couple of hours in which all the kitchens are closed. However, there are a couple of greasy spoon dining options right across the street so this was not a problem for me but it could be for those who do not want to leave the hotel premises.

The only disappointment to me was the gym as it does not have sufficient weight training equipment for my bodybuilding program, but the classes more than make up for it and the instructors are quite fun.

With few exceptions, the staff was adequately courteous and accommodating. One important detail is that I went during the low season which made it for such a pleasant experience.
I presume the hotel is probably very busy and crowded during high season.

In all, I highly recommend Canyon Ranch for a healthy, fun and relaxing vacation. Will definitely return!

Room Tip: At the moment there is major construction across the street, but it does not affect the hotel. My s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanyonRanchHotel-Spa, Managing Director at Canyon Ranch Hotel & Spa Miami Beach, responded to this review, May 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your 5 day experience with us. Your comments on our food portions, operating hours and weight training equipment are well taken and will assist us in improving our services and options. We are also excited to see that you took full advantage of our varied daily programming and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Healthy regards

Matthias Kammerer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

I guess it is the price of being in Miami, but I have stayed and brought several people to stay at Canyon Ranch Miami. I was trying to buy a stay for my mom for mother's day, and called to arrange that and pick up the gift certificate for Mother's Day. I was transferred three times to three different departments to do so. On the third, I was transferred to guest services. I explained what I wanted to do, and she referred me online to buy this. I explained that, no, I wanted to pick up my gift certificate to have something nice to give my mother. She said she would fax me a form. I told her I did not have a fax, and she said if I came in to pick up my certificate, I would have to wait 1 hour to get it. Again, I explained that for this reason I was calling to expedite that, and as guest services, she should be helping me. She then told me she was front desk. When I told her I had asked for guest services, she said, we are also guest services. So, she was at that point arguing with me. She then said she could not expedite that if I did not fill in the form, which I asked how we could then arrange that. I told her twice I could fill that in by e-mail, but by that point I was so unhappy, I asked to speak to the manager. The manager came on the line after putting me on hold for several minutes, and did not apologize or ask what had been my complaint. I again explained I was a returning customer and wanted to bring my mom and that my experience with Canyon Ranch was always excellent customer services, so I asked to speak to her so she would be aware of the situation. The manager also did not apologize and did not ask why I had asked for her, but just asked what I wanted today. I found her response overall unsatisfactory, and I told her obviously the customer service problem I was experiencing today was coming from the top, and I would not be making my reservation based on her response. It is sad that this bad attitude ruined my previously good impression of this Miami hotel and spa. But there are so many excellent spas in Miami, I don't have to suffer bad service.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanyonRanchHotel-Spa, Managing Director at Canyon Ranch Hotel & Spa Miami Beach, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for bringing your concern to our attention. My sincere apologies for this very unpleasant experience. Booking a stay, inquiring about Day Spa Packages or buying a Gift Certificate does currently involve 3 different departments, including central reservations, the spa and front desk. We are working on streamlining this process and are ready to launch a new gift card this summer since the current system is rather slow and cumbersome. The system deficiencies aside, it is no excuse for poor customer relations and a less than personal approach to assisting you with your requests. We are working with the staff members involved to improve their customer service skills

Best regards

Matthias Kammere
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012 via mobile

This was my first stay at CR and I was impressed through and through. The staff was courteous, check in was seamless, classes were varied and fun, food was excellent and the spa was exceptional. I came by myself for a 4 day 'mid-week breather' and was so happy I made the choice. I ate almost exclusively at the Grill and loved the quality of the food and bonus points for the calorie counts. I enjoyed the spa every day and loved that I had access to Aquavana even on the days I didn't have a treatment. The beach was great and I loved having the various pools to choose from. I would come back again by myself or with my friends for a 'girls weekend'.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanyonRanchHotel-Spa, Managing Director at Canyon Ranch Hotel & Spa Miami Beach, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are excited that you had such a terrific stay with us and thank you for sharing it with all. Please let us know if we can be of any assistance in making that “girls weekend” a reality.

Best regards

Matthias Kammerer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Canyon Ranch Hotel & Spa Miami Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canyon Ranch Hotel & Spa Miami Beach

Address: 6801 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33141
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#5 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Canyon Ranch Hotel & Spa Miami Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first of its kind, this spectacular Miami Beach boutique hotel combines the flexibility of a la carte hotel services with many of the limitless healthy choices of acclaimed Canyon Ranch health resorts. A feast for your senses, Canyon Ranch Hotel & Spa in Miami Beach offers inspiring healthy living opportunities in a stunning luxury hotel setting – plus easy access to everything an exciting city has to offer. Housed in the modernized and restored Carillon Hotel – a classic of Miami Modern architecture – Canyon Ranch Hotel & Spa in Miami Beach will enchant you with its exquisite design and matchless views. Situated on more than 750 linear feet of uncrowded white beach, Canyon Ranch Hotel & Spa is convenient to both Bal Harbour and South Beach. This all-suite hotel just 30 minutes from Miami International Airport is an oasis of tranquility, warmth and healthy living in one of the world’s most vibrant cities. In a serene atmosphere of casual elegance, you can relax in your spacious, luxuriously appointed suite, float in a sparkling pool, savor healthy gourmet cuisine and organic wines and spirits at award-winning Canyon Ranch Grill™, work out in the largest and most beautifully appointed Spa in South Florida, and discover unsurpassed Canyon Ranch spa, fitness and health and wellness services. With its beautiful beach and menu of activities for parents and children, this splendid oceanfront hotel also offers a taste of the Canyon Ranch healthy living experience for families. From morning walks on the beach and the thrill of our two-story indoor rock-climbing wall to integrative health experts to advise and inspire you, you’ll find endless ways to reawaken your spirit and refresh your soul at Canyon Ranch Hotel & Spa in Miami Beach. Whether you’re traveling for business or pleasure, our Miami Beach boutique hotel offers an abundance of choices. In this magnificent oceanfront setting, kick back and relax, get outside and play, or explore our holistic approach to health and wellness with top experts to guide you. You can also take advantage of the legendary Canyon Ranch signature spa services that are conveniently offered a la carte to fit your schedule. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LHW, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Canyon Ranch Hotel & Spa Miami Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canyon Ranch Hotel And Spa Miami Beach
Canyon Hotel Miami Beach
Canyon Resort Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canyon Ranch Hotel & Spa Miami Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.