We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serenity in South Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Setai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Setai to your Saves list
The Setai
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2001 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Setai Escape
Ranked #10 of 204 Hotels in Miami Beach
Mahopac, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Serenity in South Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

While South Beach is know for its wild and crazy atmosphere the Setai is a tranquil and relaxing "away from it all" getaway. Party in SOBE and relax at the Setai. Very upscale and a beautiful Asian vibe sets it apart from most other SOBE hotels. Not to be missed if you want a hideaway in the midst of all the craziness, fun and partying South Beach has to offer...

Room Tip: Try to get one of the condo units in the tower building residences.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    88
    44
    31
    23
See reviews for
103
279
26
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We spent 4 nights at The Setai and the property is great. We had an Ocean Suite on the 32nd floor with a balcony. Excellent views. I felt the room was a bit small as it was a suite with a kitchenette and an additional bathroom. However the hotel restaurants, service, pool and beach facilities make up for this. Only niggle was a bad odour when we would walk from outside the lobby to the hotel restaurant through a corridor.....it looked like their refuse containers were stored there and decaying food was contributing to a bad odour. We also had to call every evening for a breakfast menu pre-order card. There was corridor refurb work going on so you could hear drills going off and also some occasional hammering, Check to see you aren't on a floor where this work is on.

Room Tip: Get a high floor that faces away from the W. The W is known to host loud parties which guests have c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

This hotel level of service and standards are some of the best I've seen. Every member of staff be it by the pool, at the bar, having a drink in the courtyard or in one of the restaurants is on hand at your service.
I stayed four nights here and it has to easily be one of my best experiences while at a hotel. For a star it's slap bang in the heart of South Beach.
The pool is a tranquil oasis to send your day in and if you fancy the beach instead they have there own private strip with beds and full service.
In the evening it has a lovely bar with great bar tenders who greet u by name and remember what you like to drink. This combined with the outside courtyard makes it a great evening to relax and enjoy all the Setai has to offer.
Can not wait to return.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

This hotel doesn't miss a beat when it comes to offering a classy, sexy, upscale, perfect stay! It is gorgeously decorated throughout and the rooms have a very special touch! The Setai is also in a great location in Sobe so it makes it very convenient! Hands down, the outdoor zen garden/bar is the most romantic places I have been to in Miami for drinks. It is always a treat to go to the Setai! Amazing!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Had high expectations based on reviews read on Trip Advisor and on the experiences of friends who have visited the hotel. Overall, I enjoyed our stay and the hotel lived up to my high expectations. It is a beautiful resort with every luxury expected in a five star destination. Location in heart of South Beach is huge plus. It is nicest hotel I have stayed in in the South Beach area and I find it far superior to the other five star hotels in South Beach.
Its important to know that the rooms within each category are not all the same. Layouts vary significantly. We were given a room that was very different from the courtyard suites pictured on website. I was expecting double vanities -as per website description of my reserved room -and our room did not have them. To our surprise, on a holiday fully booked weekend, we were given- without being told in advance - a room equipped for guests with disabilities outfitted with special handrails and other modifications. It was not what we expected on our vacation.When we tried to switch, there were almost no options for us. We had to wait until next morning and tried again with a different manager and were given a different room that offered a better layout although in a noisy location at the hotel. We took it! We spent a lot of our valuable vacation time dealing with the numerous front desk managers on duty trying to get placed in a room worth the price this hotel commands and charges. To their credit, management was very nice about our request to switch rooms and made every effort to accommodate within the category we booked -but sadly for us it took persistence and much effort on our part and we lost time and gained aggravation in a short vacation. This took its toll on the experience and quality of our stay. However it is likely just a rare incident that most guests do not have to worry about.
The beds are very comfortable and the crisp well pressed linens and down pillows are amazing. The blackout electro shades ensure a deep sleep.The bathrooms are nice and the rain shower with excellent water pressure delivers a spa like experience. The breakfast buffet is wonderful and fully staffed by excellent attentive servers. Don't miss the great cappuccino. The beach is lovely and the lounge chairs are large and comfortable. Umbrellas are provided at no extra charge as well as sunscreen and chilled Voss water. The courtyard is stunning and offers a great setting to meet friends for a drink before dinner. The doorman are very attentive and there is a hotel car available for complimentary short rides.
Overall an excellent hotel with well trained polite staff. I expect to return when in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, USA
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

This hotel is by far the best on Miami Beach. It is absolutely 5 star with all the amenities and service you would expect. The staff is very friendly, professional and is well trained in hospitality. They never refuse any request. Extra chocolates in the evening - no problem. Can I have a smoothie while sitting in the courtyard and watching the World Cup - yes right away and on the house.

The property itself is impeccable, spotless and totally high end. From the three restaurants, to the bar, to the pool area, gym, spa and all common areas, you cannot find any flaws. Anywhere you go, you feel comfortable, relaxed and wanted. The staff on the beach sets you up on a chair, brings over a tray of cold water, cold spray, a cold wet towel and a complimentary smoothie every now and then.

The food at the restaurants is also top notch. Breakfast is an endless buffet with anything you'd ever want.

The only quirk, and its not really a problem, is that the rooms have a bathtub in the living area below the tv. In discussions with other guests, everyone seemed to agree this is bizarre. Even if you are in the bathtub, you cannot see the tv because its right above you. What if the tv falls into the tub? When you get out of the tub, your living area will be all wet. Very strange, maybe I'm missing something.

The crowd here is sophisticated and you don't get any of the trashy South Beach crowd roaming the halls being loud and rowdy. I will definitely come back here every time I am in Miami.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Perfect retreat on the beach. Our room was beautiful, as was the view over South Beach. Everything oozed calm and quiet which is what we were looking for. The beach beds and service were fantastic, as were the pools. The service was outstanding and very friendly. And the little muffins and macaroons housekeeping left were a very nice, and delicious, touch.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Setai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Setai

Address: 2001 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#5 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#14 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Setai 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Setai is an intimate, serene oceanfront resort in the heart of South Beach. Its design vision artfully combines the rich architectural history of the neighborhood and its cultural diversity with the International Art Deco movement, particularly its influence in Asia. The Restaurant at The Setai invites you to experience a menu that features various cuisines and traditional flavors of Europe's "Sun Coast," inclusive of the Mediterranean regions of Spain, Italy, the South of France and Provence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Splendia, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Prestigia and Tingo so you can book your The Setai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Setai Hotel Miami Beach
Setai Hotel Miami Beach
Setai Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Setai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.