We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury vacations in Miami” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Setai

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Setai to your Saves list
The Setai
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2001 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Luxury vacations in Miami”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

During our stay of one week at the Setai we had a way to appreciate the high quality that this hotel offers. Eventhough our room was the most economic it was really nice, comfortable and with a nice living area and bathroom. The hotel in the other zones is really nice, the outdoor area with pool and spa were fabulous. The staff in all the zones was really gentle and always available. The concierge members were really available and would reserve all the attractions and activities you would like to do during your stay in Miami. I really reccomend this hotel for a luxorious stay in Mjami.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    447
    102
    49
    34
    25
See reviews for
124
326
28
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey, USA
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

It was one of our several stays a the Setai Tower over the several years and it is still one of the best Hotels I know. Great area of SB, pool facilities, rooms, restaurants are so good that you never want to leave. Staff is excellent and we love the breakfast and very comfortable beach chairs. The only two things to mention are cost of everything at the hotel (high :) and TV remote that can be a little less complicated to use. But I guess it is not a problem for the kids.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwood
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

There is one 5 star location in Miami and it is the Setai - no question. But since the management/ownership changed some things changes also for the guest - and some of these changes might not be for the best. Let´s pick valet parking; during our 8 day stay we where presented with more than 5 different cars due to mix ups and waited an average of 25 minutes to get your car. We suggest to change or challenge the 3rd party valet car company to get them up to the same service speed this 5 star landmark demands. Lets move to food. Why the new ownership skipped the best peking duck restaurant in town is a miracle, but the new restaurants is mostly empty and a new/international interpretation of italian food is not innovative at all. If there is any chance to switch back to the peking duck, please do so to please your longtime and returning guest. And let the beach personal get a supervisor to put themselves into a 5 star service attire all the way - we had some lazy days where the beach was a service desert.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
313 reviews 313 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
235 helpful votes 235 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

This is not the first time we were staying in this hotel. This time we found the service under average compared with other hotels of this category we are used to, especially when you pay over $2000 a night.
The room are large and pleasant although the noise insulation is far from being perfect. The valet parking requires every time a long wait, the room service is slow. You do not feel like you get what you expected for your money. The restaurants that we tried i.e The Grill and the pool bar have been disastrous. In both places we waited for ever before getting the dishes and when delivered this was very mediocre.
We will not come back.

Room Tip: High floor, ocean front
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Nice hotel. A bit pricey, which I typically don't mind. My main problem with the place is that I was told one of their three pools was heated to 90 degrees. When I was there, the pools were all too chilly to set foot in. I was told that the pool heaters couldn't keep up with the cooler air temperatures that time of year. I subsequently stayed at a hotel in Palm Beach where the air temperature was the same but they managed to keep a much larger pool plenty warm. They seem to try, and take good care of guests. So a generally positive experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and I spent the Most wonderful week of holidays of our life!
From our arrival to our departure everything was great ,
The room was gorgeous , the bar is a must see in Sobe, our diner at the Grill restaurant was excellent.
The daily breakfast in the courtyard was amazing, the welcoming smile of the Hostess , the service and the quality and variety of food provided.
Top notch service at the pool and Beach what a wonderful atmosphere . The frozen cocktail were excellent.
Once again thank you for this mémorable week!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is a luxurious haven in the hustle of south beach. From the moment of check in with a welcoming cocktail to the large comfortable rooms everything is designed to make you feel at home The service is excellent and the pool and beach glorious. I would highly recommend if you want pure luxury.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Setai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Setai

Address: 2001 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#5 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#15 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Setai 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Setai is an intimate, serene oceanfront resort in the heart of South Beach. Its design vision artfully combines the rich architectural history of the neighborhood and its cultural diversity with the International Art Deco movement, particularly its influence in Asia. The Restaurant at The Setai invites you to experience a menu that features various cuisines and traditional flavors of Europe's "Sun Coast," inclusive of the Mediterranean regions of Spain, Italy, the South of France and Provence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Setai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Setai Hotel Miami Beach
Setai Hotel Miami Beach
Setai Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Setai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.