We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still the best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Setai

Save Saved
You added The Setai to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Setai
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2001 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
New Jersey, USA
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Still the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

It was one of our several stays a the Setai Tower over the several years and it is still one of the best Hotels I know. Great area of SB, pool facilities, rooms, restaurants are so good that you never want to leave. Staff is excellent and we love the breakfast and very comfortable beach chairs. The only two things to mention are cost of everything at the hotel (high :) and TV remote that can be a little less complicated to use. But I guess it is not a problem for the kids.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    340
    81
    40
    31
    23
See reviews for
90
250
23
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
norwood
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

There is one 5 star location in Miami and it is the Setai - no question. But since the management/ownership changed some things changes also for the guest - and some of these changes might not be for the best. Let´s pick valet parking; during our 8 day stay we where presented with more than 5 different cars due to mix ups and waited an average of 25 minutes to get your car. We suggest to change or challenge the 3rd party valet car company to get them up to the same service speed this 5 star landmark demands. Lets move to food. Why the new ownership skipped the best peking duck restaurant in town is a miracle, but the new restaurants is mostly empty and a new/international interpretation of italian food is not innovative at all. If there is any chance to switch back to the peking duck, please do so to please your longtime and returning guest. And let the beach personal get a supervisor to put themselves into a 5 star service attire all the way - we had some lazy days where the beach was a service desert.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

This is not the first time we were staying in this hotel. This time we found the service under average compared with other hotels of this category we are used to, especially when you pay over $2000 a night.
The room are large and pleasant although the noise insulation is far from being perfect. The valet parking requires every time a long wait, the room service is slow. You do not feel like you get what you expected for your money. The restaurants that we tried i.e The Grill and the pool bar have been disastrous. In both places we waited for ever before getting the dishes and when delivered this was very mediocre.
We will not come back.

Room Tip: High floor, ocean front
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Nice hotel. A bit pricey, which I typically don't mind. My main problem with the place is that I was told one of their three pools was heated to 90 degrees. When I was there, the pools were all too chilly to set foot in. I was told that the pool heaters couldn't keep up with the cooler air temperatures that time of year. I subsequently stayed at a hotel in Palm Beach where the air temperature was the same but they managed to keep a much larger pool plenty warm. They seem to try, and take good care of guests. So a generally positive experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and I spent the Most wonderful week of holidays of our life!
From our arrival to our departure everything was great ,
The room was gorgeous , the bar is a must see in Sobe, our diner at the Grill restaurant was excellent.
The daily breakfast in the courtyard was amazing, the welcoming smile of the Hostess , the service and the quality and variety of food provided.
Top notch service at the pool and Beach what a wonderful atmosphere . The frozen cocktail were excellent.
Once again thank you for this mémorable week!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is a luxurious haven in the hustle of south beach. From the moment of check in with a welcoming cocktail to the large comfortable rooms everything is designed to make you feel at home The service is excellent and the pool and beach glorious. I would highly recommend if you want pure luxury.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

If this is a 5 star hotel, then pigs really can fly!!
From broken doors, broken blinds, broken lights, leaking toilets, blocked sinks to idiotic and sometimes rude staff, this hotel has it all. Mind you, most of the above room problems cannot be seen as the bedrooms are so dark!
Make sure if you do go, it's very warm as you will freeze in the grill room.
Only one shining light, the bar and staff were excellent. (Spent time there drowning sorrows!)
One to definitely miss.

Room Tip: Don't go
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Setai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Setai

Address: 2001 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#22 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Setai 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Setai is an intimate, serene oceanfront resort in the heart of South Beach. Its design vision artfully combines the rich architectural history of the neighborhood and its cultural diversity with the International Art Deco movement, particularly its influence in Asia. The Restaurant at The Setai invites you to experience a menu that features various cuisines and traditional flavors of Europe's "Sun Coast," inclusive of the Mediterranean regions of Spain, Italy, the South of France and Provence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, LHW, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Setai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Setai Hotel Miami Beach
Setai Hotel Miami Beach
Setai Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Setai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.