We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but not perfect” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Setai

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Setai to your Saves list
The Setai
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2001 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Peoria, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice but not perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Nice hotel. A bit pricey, which I typically don't mind. My main problem with the place is that I was told one of their three pools was heated to 90 degrees. When I was there, the pools were all too chilly to set foot in. I was told that the pool heaters couldn't keep up with the cooler air temperatures that time of year. I subsequently stayed at a hotel in Palm Beach where the air temperature was the same but they managed to keep a much larger pool plenty warm. They seem to try, and take good care of guests. So a generally positive experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    89
    45
    31
    23
See reviews for
104
288
26
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and I spent the Most wonderful week of holidays of our life!
From our arrival to our departure everything was great ,
The room was gorgeous , the bar is a must see in Sobe, our diner at the Grill restaurant was excellent.
The daily breakfast in the courtyard was amazing, the welcoming smile of the Hostess , the service and the quality and variety of food provided.
Top notch service at the pool and Beach what a wonderful atmosphere . The frozen cocktail were excellent.
Once again thank you for this mémorable week!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is a luxurious haven in the hustle of south beach. From the moment of check in with a welcoming cocktail to the large comfortable rooms everything is designed to make you feel at home The service is excellent and the pool and beach glorious. I would highly recommend if you want pure luxury.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

If this is a 5 star hotel, then pigs really can fly!!
From broken doors, broken blinds, broken lights, leaking toilets, blocked sinks to idiotic and sometimes rude staff, this hotel has it all. Mind you, most of the above room problems cannot be seen as the bedrooms are so dark!
Make sure if you do go, it's very warm as you will freeze in the grill room.
Only one shining light, the bar and staff were excellent. (Spent time there drowning sorrows!)
One to definitely miss.

Room Tip: Don't go
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

I am staying right now in this hotel for two nights I cant sleep because of the noise in the street coming in the room. I cant imagine that I am paying 900 dollars in a hotel that I cant sleep in. My room number 508 and I dont advice anyone to stay in this room because the isolation of the windows is terrible. This is my worst experience ever in staying in any hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Extended family stayed at the Setai over the Holidays. Here is a drill-down

1. Room: We stayed in a two bedroom suite and loved the Duxiana beds, the amenities and the furniture. I am a sucker for the washer dryer since I refuse to pay 10 dollars for laundry on a tshirt.

2. Beach club: Wonderful three-temperature pool area. I loved that one is reserved for the kids and that you can order of the restaurant in the lounge areas. Voss water is delivered with a facial mist and the lovely ladies and gentlemen bring complementary fruit and smoothies.

3. Restaurants: We had lunch almost every day in the lounge chairs or the pool bar and the menu is somewhat limited. If you are doing a long weekend its great, but if you are there for 7 days, you kind of run out of things to try. The Restaurant is excellent, try the risotto, it is to die for...the lobby lounge is gorgeous but be advised that the expensive bar bites are very small.

4. Beach. I am conflicted here, the beach lounge chairs are so close together, you hear the conversation of the next lounge chair guest...but I guess this is the price to pay in SoBe

5. Common areas: Gorgeous, the rose decorations were beautiful and there is a distinct and lovely smell throughout the hotel. Reminds you of an Aman hotel in Asia.

6. Now the reason I gave this 4 stars instead of 5 is that I was somewhat bothered by the crowd. Is this the hotels fault? Of course not! But to the reviewer who said this is the Four Seasons of South Beach I have to disagree. I love the FS because it is unpretentious luxury. Guests are courteous. I saw at least 3 guests snap at the nice pool attendants saying that they no longer wanted their salad, they wanted to hold more lounge chairs than they could, you get the picture...No thank you, please. These are the Holidays people- these wonderful staff also has families and would rather be with them so show a little class...

Room Tip: Choose one of the suites in the residential tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

I'm always conflicted about where to stay in Miami. My husband and I like luxury, ocean and good food but find South Beach to quickly get cheesy and loud. We don't care for The Four Seasons in Miami because of the location and find the W Hotel, although very pretty, too loud. The Setai ended up being the perfect compromise of wanting to stay in a luxurious South Beach location without feeling like you were in South Beach. It was elegant, sophisticated, luxurious and accommodating. The food, staff, rooms were all excellent. It is the best pool/ocean experience on South Beach. The chaise lounges are luxurious, the bottled water, the food, the towels, they think of everything and do it better than all of the surrounding hotels. The spa was small but well done and I had an excellent massage with Carolina. Although there were some minor hiccups, they were so minimal compared to the overall experience and happily and quickly taken care of that I won't even bother to mention. I finally felt peace in South Beach. If you want luxury and elegance, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Setai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Setai

Address: 2001 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#6 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#14 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Setai 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Setai is an intimate, serene oceanfront resort in the heart of South Beach. Its design vision artfully combines the rich architectural history of the neighborhood and its cultural diversity with the International Art Deco movement, particularly its influence in Asia. The Restaurant at The Setai invites you to experience a menu that features various cuisines and traditional flavors of Europe's "Sun Coast," inclusive of the Mediterranean regions of Spain, Italy, the South of France and Provence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Prestigia, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Setai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Setai Hotel Miami Beach
Setai Hotel Miami Beach
Setai Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Setai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.