We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Benchmark - service does not get better” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Setai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Setai to your Saves list
The Setai
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2001 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Setai Escape
Ranked #10 of 202 Hotels in Miami Beach
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“The Benchmark - service does not get better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Miami is notorious for its poor service - this is the exception. Intuitive, friendly and professional at every stage. From the sophisticated, calm Lobby, spacious rooms, superb spa and pool - you are in for a real treat. Only gripe (and its minor) is the WiFi (free) is a bit slow and the sink is designed so you have minimal space to lay things out. This is definitely the hotel that the other hotels in Miami should be trying to emulate

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    374
    88
    43
    31
    22
See reviews for
101
271
26
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

5 STAR!!! I have stayed here 10 times now... I love it! I tried staying at another hotel because setai had construction going on the dates I planned to be there. I will never make that mistake again. The service is amazing and the rooms are very nice. I will never stay anywhere else in Miami!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I decided to stay at this hotel during Columbus weekend (Miami Carnival). I tried so much to really love it...... I really did. I think it's over hyped/over priced for no reason. The room was small, very clean, and the staff was attentive. When I'm dishing out this kind of money; I don't want nice... I want an experience, and that it wasn't. I don't hate it, but I don't love it either. Will not be returning.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We have stayed at the Setai many times. In general, their tower suites is good. Excellent location (one of the best on South Beach) . Nice views. Clean suite. Good service. Good food. Good people. Good spa.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We have stayed at the Setai twice and really enjoyed the room and proximity to the beach. For our needs, we like the location a bit further north of all the Miami Beach "action" and found the class and sophistication right to my wife's liking. This is one of her favorite hotels. Rooms are quiet and the blinds will give you near darkness just in case you stayed out late and need to sleep in. During our last stay, the warmest pool was dominated by some loud kids which was unfortunate. However, while the pool is not "the scene" for singles, it is perfect if you want to relax. The only negative is the price of the restaurants at the hotel. We usually had breakfast at Maxine's diner which is a short two block walk and found the prices for our minimalist serving size just right. If money is no object, this is a 5 star rating.

Room Tip: Staying on the Collins Ave side is OK but you should try to avoid the first two floors of rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

It used to be a great hotel but be carefull they are making works till december and they dont tell you !!!! Pool is closed and they are making works inside the hotel so when you are in your room you hear all the noises !!! Dint go until they finish is not worth it !!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

The hotel is gorgeous, the lobby smells very well, but The house keeper robe my Chanel wachtch and some new BCBG dresses I just bought a day before besides some other things. It was a day of shopping. They seem to be sorry but the thing is my things are gone. Also the pool was not working is now in renovation.

Room Tip: If you go there yo have ti have all your things locked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Setai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Setai

Address: 2001 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#13 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Setai 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Setai is an intimate, serene oceanfront resort in the heart of South Beach. Its design vision artfully combines the rich architectural history of the neighborhood and its cultural diversity with the International Art Deco movement, particularly its influence in Asia. The Restaurant at The Setai invites you to experience a menu that features various cuisines and traditional flavors of Europe's "Sun Coast," inclusive of the Mediterranean regions of Spain, Italy, the South of France and Provence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Escapio, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Setai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Setai Hotel Miami Beach
Setai Hotel Miami Beach
Setai Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Setai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.