We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room service is incompetent.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Setai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Setai to your Saves list
The Setai
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2001 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Setai Escape
Ranked #9 of 202 Hotels in Miami Beach
Hamilton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Room service is incompetent.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

This place has a great location but mediocre customer service and dark drab rooms/bathrooms. The wood blinds are also getting so beat up they look awful. If you order room service they will quote you 30-40 mins and then take 65. It happened to us every time we ordered. We find this very annoying. One morning we ordered before bed because we had an early flight to catch. Guess what? After calling to find out where our order was 5 minutes after the delivery time requested.... They said it would be there in another 20 minutes!! Whoever is running their kitchen should be fired. The housekeeping is also not the best but we think its mostly because its so dark in the bathrooms that its hard to see and clean properly. Go over to the W right next door. Big, bright & clean rooms over there!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    373
    87
    43
    31
    22
See reviews for
100
271
26
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is one of our favorite places worldwide. Very luxurious and spacious rooms, great location directly at beautiful south beach, friendly staff and all in all very nice atmosphere. Wonderful frangrance in room. Will definitely come back!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo, Sao Paulo, Brazil
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

The Hotel is fantastic in every aspect of it. The installations are great and very well cared; the service is wonderful, all the personnel is very kind, gentle and efficient; the swimming pool is something outstanding; and the food and drinks are delicious! A real 5 star hotel!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Setai in May 2013. I am very surprised that this hotel gets so many good reviews - either our expectations are way out (our benchmark is usually Four Season) or other people are usually staying in youth hostels.
Pros:
- location
- breakfast buffet
- Asian restaurant
- Rather quite

Cons:
- Price vs value: looking at the fact that you spend easily 2500 USD per night, the glitches below are simply unacceptable
- Security non existing: they have plenty of walk-in guests without anyone really checking; during our stay, two guests got their valuables stolen at the pool!
- Guests are expected to "reserve" their sun lounges in the morning prior to going to breakfast as all spaces might be taken up by walk-in guests! Remember: you are staying at a supposedly 5 star hotel paying 2500 per night!
- The hotel simply adds 20% service charge to everything - even if you don't like the service you still have to pay it
- Great variability between service levels. Some of the staff are pretty good, others simply have never worked in guest services or are untrained. Waiter would tell you that your order for dinner would arrive appetisers first and then main course. Fact is, that they brought everything at the same time. No big deal, but why even mention that you would adhere to a specific order???
- Only stay in the tower. Even though expensive, the small Art Deco building is a total rip off. Either you are facing superbusy Collins Ave or you have a "view" towards the court yard or a parking space where you don't see anything at all
- Parts of the hotel are in need of renovation or maintenance
- Not sure why some people rave about the pools so much: these are three absolutely average pools with nothing special about it!
- Same issue on sun lounges: standard stuff, not well maintained, need replacement - again we are puzzled what could be so great or outstanding about them (some guests here apparently usually sleep on cardboard?)

In a nutshell: if you usually stay at so-called 4 star properties like a Hyatt, Sheraton or Hilton, you may actually find this place great. If you are used to Four Seasons or Mandarin Oriental properties and the service levels you get there, you are in for a big disappointment.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We live in Miami but wanted a 'Staycation' and although it was hectic outside with closed streets and traffic, inside the the Setai was blissfully peaceful and the 3 swimming pools chilled and relaxing. The pool and beach service was excellent. The Pool restaurant was breezy and excellent.

Room Tip: due to the fact that this original art deco hotel has been renovated recently and a modern high rise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

Third stay and still amazing. Amazing hotel, anticipatory service, awesome beach area, great spa. We love staying here. Entirely expensive but you get what you pay for. Amazing. We wish there were affiliated Setais in other locations.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Just returned from my fourth stay here in the last 18 months. This place doesn't miss a beat and always exceeds my expectations!

I really can't recommend it enough. I've already praised the property in detail in my previous review, and all of that's still true. What I want to call attention to in this review is the service.

After I checked out from my December stay I realized I'd left 2 dresses with a local dry cleaner. Despite the fact that I had already checked out and didn't even have my next stay booked yet, the Setai's concierge service took receipt of the delivery of the dresses from the cleaner and arranged to have them shipped to me at home. Fernando and Daniel were incredibly gracious and patient, even as the dry cleaner missed several delivery dates and made the whole process rather complicated and protracted.

I was so impressed that the staff were so helpful not only during my stay, but after my departure. Looking forward to returning!

Room Tip: Stay in the tower for the best views, they're amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Setai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Setai

Address: 2001 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#6 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#13 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#19 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Setai 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Setai is an intimate, serene oceanfront resort in the heart of South Beach. Its design vision artfully combines the rich architectural history of the neighborhood and its cultural diversity with the International Art Deco movement, particularly its influence in Asia. The Restaurant at The Setai invites you to experience a menu that features various cuisines and traditional flavors of Europe's "Sun Coast," inclusive of the Mediterranean regions of Spain, Italy, the South of France and Provence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Escapio, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Setai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Setai Hotel Miami Beach
Setai Hotel Miami Beach
Setai Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Setai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.