We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Setai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Setai to your Saves list
The Setai
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2001 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Setai Escape
Ranked #11 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Stayed here due to business in the hotel. Really a lovely comfortable stay. From the room turn downs, the bottle of bubbly on ice & fresh fruit as returning guest.... The 3 different temp. Pools to the very friendly and hard working beach staff who effortless run around to carry out the chores with a smile. I always look forward to my visit each year in Miami but now that I have been spoilt with the Setai I won't be staying anywhere else. Thanks to all. I will highly recommend and endorse.

Room Tip: Try for a room overlooking the courtyard or in the towers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    390
    89
    45
    31
    23
See reviews for
104
285
26
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
jersey city
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

one word - AMAZING.
this hotel has set the standards for all my future stays at any hotel/resort. from the moment you walk in everything is perfect.(Thank you Francisco F/D)
Staff, Service, Facilities, Amenities, AND THE PROPERTY are just absolutely perfect. Ive been to Miami many times before and ive always complained that hotels in Miami are a hit or miss. This wasnt the case.
The beach was just amazing. We found ourselved debating each day whether to go to the beach or the pool it was just so hard to choose so we had to alternate.
Our room had a beautiful layout. The turndown amenity was a nice touch.
The pool staff made everything perfect especially Anthony and Wisma, they recognized us everytime in the short period we were there. (we didnt want to leave the hotel.)
We were still on property when we were planning our next visit. i would recommend this hotel to anyone and EVERYONE. Do not think about it twice, you would be making a mistake if you did. It is worth EVERY PENNY!!!
Thank you Setai Miami for making this trip the best ive had so far. Cant wait till we return!!

Room Tip: We had the Junior suite. Had a nice soaking tub in the room which was a nice touch!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Just returned from 7 nights at the Setai, what a lovely hotel, great staff, great location and everything is good about it, just as the positive reviews state and the negative ones dont worry about.

Now arriving in Miami is a bit of a problem not the best airport in the world but not the worst but getting through immigration and the getting your luggage can take a very long time so be preapred if you have not been before, even when queuing at the customs desk was very short but it took ages to get through.

Setting foot inside the Setai does take away the stress of the airport, as reviews say its like being in an Asian hotel, it could be Singaore or similar style, very nice and not over done. There is nothning to dislike about it, its not over stated.

The room was a nice second floor courtyard room as the front desk said sometimes people may find the road facing rooms a little noisey at times, so we take full advantage of a courtyard room, though we did not find the outside of the hotel to be at all noisy at any time, just one guest who liked to play loud music on the room Bose system. He soon stopped.

Beaware that the Setai is 2 building, the hotel which is the art deco building and the large apartment block tower which you can get units to rent for short and long term but its not part of the hotel. Lots of websites for renting these can prices vary.

As peopel say, breakfast buffer is excellent, cant et any better and its $72 + taxes + grat for 2 so was around $93 in total, again good food. You can sit inside and outside the restuarant in the courtyard which is really nice with the water feature and laid back atmosphere of the sofa's etc.

The pool area is great, just as the pcitures show is what you get, nice very comfortable sun lounges, easiley the best on south beach if you take the time to walk all the way down and back. The same loungers are on the beach and the beach us excellent and the service by the guys your always well looked after and do give thema good tip they work long and hard hours.

To get to the beach you need to go out the back across the beach walk which is full of people jooing and excercising so look before you step out else you may have an accident! People tend to go out to excercise on the beach walk rather than go to the excellent gym which is by the pool area.

A review said the gym was small but its not, its got everything and is very very good and its also part of the Spa. At least 3 treadmills, 3 cross trainers and every morning i went it was empty which is most unliek the US. Anyway it opens from 07.00-23.00 but never opened on time, just ask front desk to open for you.

Never ate at the restaurant its very expensive really for what tyou get, would say and average meal each is about $150. Very easy to head down to Lincoln Road and this will have all the restuarants you could wish for and very reasonable and even cheap prices though reviews say they are fairly pricey its not really.

Lincoln Road has everything you need but if you looking for very up market shopping with all the glitzy brands and designers head to Bal Harbour where all the nice shops are. About $20 in a local taxi, well worth the visit, at the North end of Miami Beach, takes 15 minutes or so. Good restaurants there to.

We did fell sorry for the people in the W Hotel, like the reviews say there is renovations going on to the hotel next do to them on the opposite side to the Setai and its very noisey and dusty, can't be pleasant, you could hear from the beach but not the Setai and was surprised they are next to each other as would have been my other choice but top marks for peopel saying about the noise and i may have chosen the W.

Looking forward already to going bakc to Miami Beach and liekly the Setai, you must do it!!!.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Ok this is not a Miami experience strictly speaking but by god it's a good one. Our suite was exquisite , although the Asian decor does look better at night than in the day. The service was faultless, our children and parents stayed in another hotel nearby and would always be greeted each morning and told exactly of our whereabouts. The restaurants are exceptional and the pool area superb. Although not really for children they were extremely tolerant of our two young children ( although they are v well behaved!)I adored this hotel as you were made to feel special whereever you went, and every member of staff seemed to know our name from day one, there are not many places I've been too where this is pulled off so successfully. My only tiny criticism would be the spa -bit of a depressing space and I booked a shellac removal which has wrecked my nails, the girl had no idea of what she was doing and charged £100 for it!

Room Tip: Hghi up road or pool side ok in this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Good welcome. Rooms were well decorated, not particularly conmfortable and over priced.
The lavatory glass door opened the wrong way. Safe needed servicing.
We had dinner in the Oriental restaurant, the chef had obviously never been further east than Coral Gables. My Thai beef salad, had no oriental vegetables or noodles, my wife's crispy dusk was soggy and the wine list extremely expensive.
The breakfast buffet was outstanding
The 3 swimming pools of various temperatures looked good, but the shallow patch in the middle, skinned ones knees while doing laps.

Would I stay here again - no. The South Beach W is so much better in every way -except the breakfast.

  • Liked — The open courtyard on the lobby level
  • Disliked — restaurant
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york City, New York, USA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

This hotel doesn't miss a beat with their attention to details. The rooms were spacious and perfectly appointed. A perfect example of the detail was the jewelery box in the safe. The breakfast buffet was complete, and tasty. The pools were great and the cabana boys were unbelievably attentive. We didnt eat at the restaurant in the hotel for lunch or dinner, so i cannot comment, but we did drink at the bar. The drinks were well prepared and the food others ordered looked and smelled delicious. They have a car to take you to your local destinations (though they dont pick up), and the driver will happily point out all he local hotspots if you ask. We will be coming back, miss it already.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We visited the Setai, Miami Beach at the End of April. The hotel is beautiful, and very peaceful. We didn't even feel like we were in South Beach, Miami, but instead at a beautiful Asian resort. The staff was very friendly and helpful, The rooms are beautiful and the General Manager Mr. Richter is a class act! Although with friend it was still wonderful, I would recommend this hotel for Couples Mostly, and anyone looking for a chill vacation in the sun, the pool is beautiful! I will recommend the Setai, Miami Beach to everyone I know going to Miami, and I hope to return again soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Setai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Setai

Address: 2001 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#6 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#14 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#19 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Setai 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Setai is an intimate, serene oceanfront resort in the heart of South Beach. Its design vision artfully combines the rich architectural history of the neighborhood and its cultural diversity with the International Art Deco movement, particularly its influence in Asia. The Restaurant at The Setai invites you to experience a menu that features various cuisines and traditional flavors of Europe's "Sun Coast," inclusive of the Mediterranean regions of Spain, Italy, the South of France and Provence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Splendia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Prestigia and Tingo so you can book your The Setai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Setai Hotel Miami Beach
Setai Hotel Miami Beach
Setai Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Setai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.