We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend for luxury travelers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Setai

Save Saved
You added The Setai to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Setai
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2001 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Marina Del Rey, CA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Highly recommend for luxury travelers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

I do not understand why Setai isn't in the top 10 hotels in Miami. And totally disagree with tripadvisor's number 1 ranked Betsy. My husband and I have stayed at the Betsy and found their rooms small and the overall property just okay. Not a ton of luxury or space at the Betsy. In general, rooms in Sobe are small and we were looking for more space. We scored with our studio suite at the Setai, unit 401 which we booked on vrbo.

After a week at the Setai, we can't imagine staying anywhere else. The front desk clerk walked us to our rooms and gave us a tour of the features. That set a really nice tone to our stay. The door men always opened doors and greeted us warmly. And the bell captain was very hospitable.

Our studio room felt spacious and well laid out. The bed was relaxing.They had a great illy coffee machine and a fine breakfast tea that we really enjoyed. There's a his and hers closet. A safe, nice furniture. Housekeeping and turn down service were great. Each night at turn down, a different delicious chocolate was left on our bed. And the day we checked in, we were greated with strawberries and chocolates too. Nice small details. We slept like logs here and our room 401 was very quiet. We never heard our neighbors. We loved the pool area. Three pools at different temperatures. The beach loungers were really comfy and the guys who set up our stations were always really nice and set them up with just the amount of shade/sun that we requested. A few tripadvisor reviews claimed the service here wasn't up to par, but we disagree. Overall, we thought the service here was warm and attentive.

The food here is surprisingly good. We don't normally eat at hotel restaurants, but we kept coming back because their food was delicious. The breakfast buffet is like a Vegas style parade of food. It's expensive at $36 pp plus 20% grat, but not bad for a splurge. And the bar and lounge food had small plates that we really enjoyed. We were surprised to find decent dim sum served here. And they had a nice beef steak salad too.

There were a few areas that could use improvement. Service for drinks and food at the pool can be slow at times. And one day, we literally waited 30 minutes for our drinks we ordered at the beach. But service at pools and beach are always difficult to get right. The gym is small, but adequate. And indoor hallways were always freezing.

But overall, the Setai is a five star property. If you're into luxury travel, I'd highly recommend.

Room Tip: If you're an Amex holder, book your room through Amex and you can get comp breakfast for two dai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    339
    81
    39
    31
    23
See reviews for
90
250
24
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Just returned from a long weekend at the Setai with my husband. Gorgeous property.

What we loved:

- Proximity to South Beach nightlife. Easy walk to W, Delano, etc. for nightlife.
- Oasis feel. So peaceful - unlike so many SoBe places. The pool area feels like another planet.
- Host at the restaurant. Went there for breakfast and he was incredibly attentive. Even though I arrived just as breakfast was closing he made me feel welcome and made sure I wasn't rushed.
- Q, the bartender. He rocks. And introduced us to a tasty new drink with a chili pepper in it.
- Our room. We were in the Art Deco main building. The condos looks terrific too, but we were perfectly happy in our place - large room, had all the amenities (robes, good wine in mini-bar, etc) that made us feel special.
- Beach. Great set-up,. By far the Setai's beach lounges were superior to the other hotel's set-ups! And they were great about adjusting the umbrellas, etc when we were settling in.
- Our room wasn't ready at check-in so while we waited for about 15 mins they kindly offered us free cocktails (which usually go for $18 each) at the bar. It was worth the wait for our room!

What we didn't love:
- The slow service everywhere except by the above-mention bartender and breakfast host.Was hard to track down servers at the pool and on the beach.
- Ordering a poolside beer took 10 mins to find the server and another 15 minutes (really) before it arrived. And it wasn't busy at all. The servers were very polite but then disappeared for way too long before arriving with the order. Slow service each time we were at the pool - a total of four orders. And once they messed up the order. I do have to say that as a result, the did give us complimentary beer and wine and they were very apologetic, but still, the delays were horrible.
- Food prices. Ridiculously pricy....but so is all of South Beach! The breakfast was amazing (I had an omelette) and dinner was very good.
- Spa - was smaller than I imagined it would be. While you are waiting for your treatment, you sit in the lobby where others are checking in for treatments. I had a bikini wax which I only noticed after I'd left was a bad job - I won't go into details but they were not thorough. And the woman who gave me my treatment had me wait with her while she replaced the sheets and cleaned up before walking me down for check-out, which seemed odd to me.

We will come here again but use a different spa at another hotel and hope to see faster service at the pool and on the beach.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

This is a wonderful hotel - quite understated by South Beach standards and a clientele that seems to avoid the worst excesses of South Beach. The standard of service was top rate. The restaurant staff were particularly helpful even at breakfast time which became very busy in the lead up to Easter. They always managed to get us a table almost instantly. And the food and selection were also excellent.
Our room was very sleek with good wi-fi and it was well equipped with a high standard of housekeeping.
Be aware that there is also a large apartment block attached to the hotel and the residents have the use of eth hotel facilities. We found that as Easter approached, the pool areas (which are lovely) became full quite early but that did not bother us as the hotel has ample sun loungres on its own area of the beach. It did affect the numbers at breakfast time!
The hotel has a very attractive courtyard area where a bar and food service is offered. It is a real oasis on South Beach. At various times, we dined in retaurants in the W, the SLS and the Fontainbleu and all of them were very noisy and overcrowded which made us really appreciate how lucky we were that we had chosen the Setai where the atmosphere and service level are both so much better!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We visit Miami every year and stay at a friends place very close to the Setai. The last few trips we always make a point to have dinner at the Setai's long bar (Inside, beside the restaurant). They serve great cocktails and the barmen (Phillip and Quentin) are friendly hosts who definitely know how to pour a drink. The ingredients are all first rate and my wife and I always enjoy exploring their various creations. The food is also very good and my wife who is Cantonese, loves the authentically prepared dishes. Bravo to the Setai and their great staff!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

theres nothing this hotel can deliver. excellent staff, great rooms, unbelievable amenities and far more. the beach is right across the joggers path behind the hotel.
From the Management to the front desk staff to the dining staff and even the pool and beach attendants they're all so so nice and accommodating. this hotel is built to give everyone an ocean view.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

My wife and I have stayed here several times and every time we are impressed by how much we love staying here. From the Management to the front desk staff to the dining staff and even the pool and beach attendants they're all so so nice and accommodating and they seem to know your name and smile and say hello... ok i'm gushing but it's amazing. Start your day with a work out and walk on the beach then enjoy the breakfast buffet which was complimentary. The room's are a contemporary design and very comfortable but we spend most of our time at the beach or cycling around on the free bikes from the hotel. The Decobikes station in next to the hotel if the hotel bikes are taken.

Room Tip: In the hotel, the courtyard rooms are quieter and you don't hear the street, the rooms at the en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

This is a very confusing hotel to review. On the pros: the lobby is exquisite, the breakfast buffet (which is complimentary if you are an Amex member) is off the charts, food at the pool delicious, and the service of the staff is best in class. On the cons: the rooms were originally designed well but they are so run down. I'm trying to figure out if it's because they put us in the tower or if all rooms are approximately the same. The tables are literally scratched up and worn down, and the desk looks like something you might pick up on the street at a garage sale it's so old. And paint and tiles in the bathroom look like they VERY much need renewal. And the carpets look so worn down - vacuuming is certainly insufficient to make them look good again. Outside, the landscaping is serene and beautiful - the inside courtyard is a special place to get away from the hustle of South Beach. The pools are small but lovely and maintained at 3 separate temperatures - 75, 85, and 95. We were not given the right information when we booked - I was told by the front desk that all pools would be accessible to the kids and then when we arrived, only the warm pool was made available to them. And then all that said, I have never seen kinder staff in my life. So, as I said: a very mixed bag. In general a very good experience, but truthfully would not have expected the rundown room at this VERY premium pricing.

Room Tip: Better layouts in the tower for families, but I think the lower building is newer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Setai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Setai

Address: 2001 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#19 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#22 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Setai 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Setai is an intimate, serene oceanfront resort in the heart of South Beach. Its design vision artfully combines the rich architectural history of the neighborhood and its cultural diversity with the International Art Deco movement, particularly its influence in Asia. The Restaurant at The Setai invites you to experience a menu that features various cuisines and traditional flavors of Europe's "Sun Coast," inclusive of the Mediterranean regions of Spain, Italy, the South of France and Provence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, LHW, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Setai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Setai Hotel Miami Beach
Setai Hotel Miami Beach
Setai Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Setai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.