We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'll be here again my next visit to Miami” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Setai

Save Saved
You added The Setai to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Setai
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2001 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free!
Ranked #8 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
México
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“I'll be here again my next visit to Miami”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

This is my preferred hotel in Miami. Decoration is great it certainly gives you relax time from the sun and colorful Miami scene. The regular rooms were actual suites, with well thought amenities (like iPhone Bose dock), indoor jacuzzi, two separate hand washers, dark relaxing perfect shower and extremely comfortable bed mattress and pillows. It even has a little living room area.

The pools were a real treat, I even eventually forgot about the ocean. Three different temperatures for any taste. The pool staff is always eager to help you, get you magazines or pass you wet towels and complimentary chilled water.

Both restaurant are very good, a little bit pricy but you are already splurging. Good seafood quality, you have to try the oysters. On Sundays the buffet brunch with unlimited Taittinger made us über happy.

In general the staff has the exact attitude to make you feel comfortable, pampered but not in a fake extra-friendly way.

Location is very good unless you are into the party scene, then you will have go walk a bit.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    352
    84
    39
    31
    22
See reviews for
96
254
26
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

The Setai was a very good experience, had stayed at W before and it felt like a college party compare to Setai.
The best feature about this hotel is the great service you receive, nothing comes close on south beach.
Rooms are great in the tower, had a beautiful 2bdrm suite, although expensive. Very relaxed atmosphere and mainly european guests.
I would recomend it and will come back.

Room Tip: Tower rooms are much better but much more expensive as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I really love this hotel! I've stayed here three times over the past year (December 2012, June 2012, December 2011), for four or so nights each time.

On each of my visits I stayed in the tower part of the hotel in a one bedroom suite. The views from the tower are fantastic (because the hotel is so much taller than the surrounding ones, you have these great sweeping views of the ocean, Miami Beach, and the bay) and can be enjoyed from the private terrace each suite has. Because you're so high up, the suites are completely quiet despite being right in Miami Beach. It's great to be in such close proximity to the restaurants, retail, and nightlife of Miami Beach while at the same time staying somewhere that feels so serene.

Suites are quite large: you're essentially getting an apartment, complete with fully equipped kitchen and a washer and dryer. The kitchens are the best I've encountered in a hotel, and really do have enough equipment for you to cook meals or even bake.

I can't not mention the showers, which are the best I've used. They are some special kind of rainfall shower which, when turned up full blast, make you feel like you're being drenched in some kind of wonderfully warm tropical hurricane. Amazing! The baths are really great as well and are roomy enough for two tall people to share.

The public areas of the hotel are just as nice as the suites themselves: elegantly decorated and beautifully landscaped. Room service is quite expensive but the food is good, and being able to eat al fresco on your terrace overlooking the ocean is pretty lovely.

This hotel is really good about taking care of small details and making every area of the property beautiful. Can't recommend it enough! It's one of my favorite hotels in the world.

Room Tip: Higher floors are better because of the views. I've never stayed in the art deco building but i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We rented a 2-br unit from the owner. This was a faboulous unit with great views, facing south east. My wife and 2 kids had a great time. The owner was a decent guy. the security was refunded on time. Much cheaper to rent directly from the owners than the hotel. This was our second time back and it's always a great experience. Our favorite was the pool and beach amenities. They have a new manager, collin scarlett and he is very helpful and considerate.

Room Tip: cheaper to rent from the owners, thru vrbo.com or homeaway. the rooms facing south east have better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
105 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Is it a rogue Aman? A condo tower? A pool/bar scene? Asian, Deco, minimal? Formal sophistication or beachy bling? The Setai is all of these things and more.

This hotel feels like the troubled teenage child of celebrities, fresh out of rehab, not yet sure who she is but benefiting from the best genetics and connections.

While every part of this hotel is good if not excellent, I didn't fall in love with it and didn't leave wishing I'd booked a longer stay. A big part of this was because I stayed with a friend and we wanted two beds. We were upgraded to a suite and they made a daybed into a second bed. This was OK, but the daybed bed was small and in a part of the suite that didn't have blackout shades so very bright in the morning. It would have cost us less to book two rooms at the Mandarin Oriental or Four Seasons (or one room with two beds). If you're looking for a room with two beds, I'd suggest staying elsewhere. If traveling solo or with a partner, then the Setai room set up is ideal. While the room reminded me of many other Aman's/Chedi's, it was the smallest and least exceptional example of this Bawa-SEAsian tropical hotel room I've stayed in. I didn't like hanging out in our suite.
The other underwhelming part of the hotel was the food. It was an unchanging B+. It was all very good hotel food, but nothing exceptional or nuanced. Also while there were healthy options, there wasn't an amazingly healthy set of menu options.

The staff was, without exception, fantastic.

Room Tip: If you're looking for a room with two beds, don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasschaat, Belgium
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Great Hotel to stay. The style is Asiatic influenced and the staff is so nice and helpful !

We stayed in the Hotel rooms street side and these are very comfortable and stylisch, thow at night it can sometimes be a bit noisy...whilst it did not affect our sleep in very comfortable beds....!

The Breakfast is great with all one can dream of from fresh juices, to eggs/bacon, ...nuts, whatever, very nice. The restaurant at the pool is very convenient. And when you want to lay near the Pool you will be taken care of a team that makes sure you feel well !

In the evening we went to the restaurant : delicious, no other possible qualification. Try the curries...and the chocolate soufflé....you will not regret.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Beware of your valuables! This hotel is known for theft at the pool area. The week of November 19th I was the victim of theft of approximately 13k at the pool; in a matter of minutes my IPhone, IPad, and Cartier watch were stolen. The police "stated it is not uncommon at this hotel". The hotels security at the back entrance off the Boardwalk is NOT ACCEPTABLE! It is virtually non existent! They claim they have cameras, security, truth be told nothing is safe here. It should be a responsibility of a hotel to provide top security for guests. They do not! I was told that they had security at the back gate, i found that not to be true. I entered without ever being checked to see if I was a guest. The Mgr on duty stated they allowed non guests to their public restaurant, and people to access and view the hotel! And in another breath stated they had security at this entry point....

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Setai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Setai

Address: 2001 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#5 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#6 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#13 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Setai 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Setai is an intimate, serene oceanfront resort in the heart of South Beach. Its design vision artfully combines the rich architectural history of the neighborhood and its cultural diversity with the International Art Deco movement, particularly its influence in Asia. The Restaurant at The Setai invites you to experience a menu that features various cuisines and traditional flavors of Europe's "Sun Coast," inclusive of the Mediterranean regions of Spain, Italy, the South of France and Provence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Venere, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your The Setai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Setai Hotel Miami Beach
Setai Hotel Miami Beach
Setai Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Setai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.