We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mashup in Miami” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Setai

Save Saved
You added The Setai to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Setai
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2001 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free!
Ranked #7 of 201 hotels in Miami Beach
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
105 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
“Mashup in Miami”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Is it a rogue Aman? A condo tower? A pool/bar scene? Asian, Deco, minimal? Formal sophistication or beachy bling? The Setai is all of these things and more.

This hotel feels like the troubled teenage child of celebrities, fresh out of rehab, not yet sure who she is but benefiting from the best genetics and connections.

While every part of this hotel is good if not excellent, I didn't fall in love with it and didn't leave wishing I'd booked a longer stay. A big part of this was because I stayed with a friend and we wanted two beds. We were upgraded to a suite and they made a daybed into a second bed. This was OK, but the daybed bed was small and in a part of the suite that didn't have blackout shades so very bright in the morning. It would have cost us less to book two rooms at the Mandarin Oriental or Four Seasons (or one room with two beds). If you're looking for a room with two beds, I'd suggest staying elsewhere. If traveling solo or with a partner, then the Setai room set up is ideal. While the room reminded me of many other Aman's/Chedi's, it was the smallest and least exceptional example of this Bawa-SEAsian tropical hotel room I've stayed in. I didn't like hanging out in our suite.
The other underwhelming part of the hotel was the food. It was an unchanging B+. It was all very good hotel food, but nothing exceptional or nuanced. Also while there were healthy options, there wasn't an amazingly healthy set of menu options.

The staff was, without exception, fantastic.

Room Tip: If you're looking for a room with two beds, don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    352
    84
    39
    31
    22
See reviews for
96
254
26
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brasschaat, Belgium
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Great Hotel to stay. The style is Asiatic influenced and the staff is so nice and helpful !

We stayed in the Hotel rooms street side and these are very comfortable and stylisch, thow at night it can sometimes be a bit noisy...whilst it did not affect our sleep in very comfortable beds....!

The Breakfast is great with all one can dream of from fresh juices, to eggs/bacon, ...nuts, whatever, very nice. The restaurant at the pool is very convenient. And when you want to lay near the Pool you will be taken care of a team that makes sure you feel well !

In the evening we went to the restaurant : delicious, no other possible qualification. Try the curries...and the chocolate soufflé....you will not regret.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Beware of your valuables! This hotel is known for theft at the pool area. The week of November 19th I was the victim of theft of approximately 13k at the pool; in a matter of minutes my IPhone, IPad, and Cartier watch were stolen. The police "stated it is not uncommon at this hotel". The hotels security at the back entrance off the Boardwalk is NOT ACCEPTABLE! It is virtually non existent! They claim they have cameras, security, truth be told nothing is safe here. It should be a responsibility of a hotel to provide top security for guests. They do not! I was told that they had security at the back gate, i found that not to be true. I entered without ever being checked to see if I was a guest. The Mgr on duty stated they allowed non guests to their public restaurant, and people to access and view the hotel! And in another breath stated they had security at this entry point....

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I’m writing this review whilst on my way back to London after a week stay in the Setai Miami. The experience is still fresh therefore it’s easy to summarise the pros and cons of this hotel.

Positives:

1. The hotel is quiet in terms of footfall, particularly in comparison to the W or SLS next door which host various pool parties…etc.

2. The Iranian bartender is an absolute genius mixologist.

3. The room furniture and decoration look nice, the lighting across the hotel creates a nice ‘mood’. The bed is amazingly comfortable with high thread count linen.

4. Possibility of a very flexible late check-out (i.e. 4pm) at no extra charge.

5. Very helpful and pro-active concierge – this is important to ensure access to good venues.

Negatives:

1. The standard rooms are not well designed – the bathroom is semi-open plan, immediately as you walk in, there is a tiny cubicle on the left with a shower, and a tiny cubicle on the right with a toilet. Vanity areas are on either side and a bathtub is in the centre of the room in front of the bed. I hated this tremendously. The suites of course have a bathroom and come at a cost of $1500 per night (I asked).

2. The lighting across the hotel is too dim with no option of brightening things up in the room. We felt like we were living in a basement and got changed in the dark for a week straight.

3. The standard rooms face an extremely busy road with direct view of another building. Over the time of our stay, there were major road works all day – pneumonic drills, trucks reversing beeps, builders shouting at each other...Not relaxing at all but also no attempt by the hotel to warn us or even remotely acknowledge and try to respond.

4. Poor quality/flimsy fixtures. During the time of our stay, the black-out blind broke, the TV remote didn’t work properly, and the rain shower head was not sealed correctly and therefore sprayed water everywhere.

5. Room service/restaurant prices are borderline ridiculous. Even for Miami Beach.

Just reflecting on all of this, it’s clear that the negative far outweighs the positive. It pains me to give this place a 'poor' rating but this is only because it highlights how stupid I am for spending all the money to stay here. Unfortunately, the Setai will continue to survive with no need to change due to it's ‘trendy vibe’ and the many visitors who are clearly happy to pay for a little bit of Miami cool. That’s a shame in my opinion.

Room Tip: Try not to stay in a room facing Colins Avenue – it’s a busy/noisy road and prone to road works.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

South beach by nature is not a great service oriented place. The Setai does it best. Instead of the usual high turnover staff that plagues most south beach hotels and restuarants - they seem to have some stability and hence quality.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This hotel did not disappoint. The Asian inspired theme is quite relaxing. I don't think the pool areas can be beat. My husband and I were visiting for a long weekend at the very end of October and were here mainly for the 80 degree temperatures. We felt very much alone at the pool even tho there were others around us...not your typical Miami beach experience,but exactly what we were looking for! The service at the pool was a little slow, but the staff was always eager to help... Even tho they did need several more people working.

Room Tip: We had a two bedroom suite with 2 bathrooms , a kitchen and living room. 3104.... Amazing views of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My Husband and I used this place to get away to celebrate our 20 est anniversary.
It was magical. Beautiful setting, great service, wonderful spa, amazing pool...and the bar..I really recommend their signature Passion Fruit Martini with Chili

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Setai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Setai

Address: 2001 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#5 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#13 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Setai 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Setai is an intimate, serene oceanfront resort in the heart of South Beach. Its design vision artfully combines the rich architectural history of the neighborhood and its cultural diversity with the International Art Deco movement, particularly its influence in Asia. The Restaurant at The Setai invites you to experience a menu that features various cuisines and traditional flavors of Europe's "Sun Coast," inclusive of the Mediterranean regions of Spain, Italy, the South of France and Provence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Venere, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your The Setai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Setai Hotel Miami Beach
Setai Hotel Miami Beach
Setai Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Setai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.