We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Ceviches” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ola at the Sanctuary

Ola at the Sanctuary
1745 James Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
305 695 9125
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Ola at the Sanctuary is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 833 restaurants in Miami Beach
Price range: $25 - $65
Cuisines: South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: 17th
Description: Good for Romance, Special Occasions, Entertaining Clients, Large Groups, Private DiningDinner Options: Reservations, Dessert, Late Night, Out door Dining, Private or Semi Private dining available for large groups
Waterloo, Canada
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Incredible Ceviches”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

This place has the largest menu of ceviches I have encountered. We sampled 4 of them and all were outstanding. Good wine selection, good service, on a comfortable outdoor deck. But you do pay for it.... it ain't cheap

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OLA1745, Owner at Ola at the Sanctuary, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
It's great to read you tried 4 out of the many ceviches we have at Ola. We loved reading your feedback. We do hope you return again and are able to try the other ceviches and items on our menu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    467
    132
    49
    14
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best salmon I have had in a while.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Really enjoyed my first visit to this restaurant a few weeks ago. Had the lobster empanadas for an appetizer and it was amazing. But the salmon entree I order topped it! The best salmon plate I have had in a while.

Nice location on the beach, great outdoor seating, wonderful service, and amazing food. Highly recommended. Will be back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OLA1745, Owner at Ola at the Sanctuary, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear you loved our Panela Salmon. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
“Still awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

My wife and I had dinner at OLA last night for the third time. I posted reviews after our previous two visits, so I won't go into a lot of detail here, but this time was just as awesome as before. OLA remains our favorite South Beach restaurant, and will always be on our short list when we visit the area.

The only item we tried this time that we hadn't had before was the Hamachi Nikkei ceviche starter. I'm not a fan of either raw fish or ceviche, but our server Jorge insisted that this was nothing like any ceviche we might have tried before, so my wife (who likes raw fish) decided to order it, and I tried some. My wife loved it, and I actually liked it too, so thanks to Jorge for suggesting it.

The other repeat items we had were the Smoked Marlin Tacos starter, the Filet Mignon Churrasco for my wife, and the Roast Cuban Pork for me. Unfortunately, we were too full for dessert this time.

The service from Jorge and the other staff was exceptional as always. I'm already looking forward to our next visit!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A Rehearsal Dinner to Remember!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

After spending months trying to set up my rehearsal dinner at another hotel, I decided that I should call Ola since the last time I was there the food was incredible. I spoke with Laylah Seda, Event Manager and within minutes she sent me menu options based on my groups needs. Now to understand by what I mean "Needs" let me share some of them.... 6 picky children who live on pasta alone, 1 vegetarian, and 2 diabetics! Not only were they accommodating to our food needs, they went out of their way to ensure each person had exactly what they needed. Here was our menu for the evening:
Apps:
Marlin Tacos - Now I've had fish tacos before but these were beyond "tasty"! the filled, STUFFED with marlin, season to perfection and were gone in seconds not minutes.
Short Rib Empanadas - Not all restaurants make fist sized empanadas that are filled to capacity, completely tender and juicy, and accompanied with a simple creamy habanero sauce& orange rosemary marmalade that just melt in your mouth. Most places they are dry and chewy so if you want something to make your mouth water, get these!! They were my favorite part of the Apps, which I must say hard to make the choice because of the next one which was..
MEAT BALLS! yes, that might sound strange for a restaurant that doesn't serve Italian food but these were no ordinary meat balls. Kobe beef with a foie-gras cherry sauce. Our part of 19 (will talk about that in a minute) all fought over which app was the best and could have been satisfies with eating more apps just for dinner.
SO my group of 19 became 21 when a couple of people unexpectedly joined us... I panicked, but the restaurant staff adjusted so quickly and easily to this situation I was put at ease immediately. It was like water off a ducks back for them and you would have never know we didn't plan for it. Which brings me to another point of the service - the number of time Laylah contacted me to check in was incredible. I was never in doubt that we would have a great event because of her attentiveness.
DINNER!! - BRANZINO, POLLO CRIOLLO, ROASTED CUBAN PORK take your pick!
The branzino came with SMOKED sweet plaintain mash and WOW, I want the recipe!
THe chicken came with a sweet potato gnocchi that added a flavor I couldn't picture being sooo tasty.
The pork was juicy and just melted in your mouth. I can go on about each dinner choice but I don't know which one to rave about more. So basically what I am saying is YOU CAN'T GO WRONG WITH ANY FOOD CHOICE! Nor can you go wrong with the customer service.
Ola will forever be an establishment we will visit when we are in town!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OLA1745, Owner at Ola at the Sanctuary, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Congratulations on your wedding! We are pleased that you chose Ola to celebrate your rehearsal dinner. Thank you for sharing your experience and we hope you return next time you are in Miami.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisbon
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Good food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

We go to Miami every year and we eat here every time as we really like the food. Great quality and delicious, unusual dishes. Past few times though, we were very unlucky to have dinner at the same time as large group table. The noise was deafening to the point where we could not hold a conversation at all and not only was it loud but constant swearing. I think that the restaurant should keep this in check as it was hell for all the other patrons. If I decide to go back I will call on the day to make sure that there are no large table party !!!! I hope they take notice as it was a shame to have a perfectly beautiful night of great food, completely spoiled.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ola at the Sanctuary also viewed

 

Been to Ola at the Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ola at the Sanctuary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.