We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss this gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ola at the Sanctuary

Ola at the Sanctuary
1745 James Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
305 695 9125
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Reserve with OpenTable
Update
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 810 restaurants in Miami Beach
Price range: $25 - $65
Cuisines: South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: 17th
Description: Good for Romance, Special Occasions, Entertaining Clients, Large Groups, Private DiningDinner Options: Reservations, Dessert, Late Night, Out door Dining, Private or Semi Private dining available for large groups
california
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Don't miss this gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

What a gem!!!
Nationally acclaimed Latin Chef, Horacio Rivadero, has brought the essential flavors of Latin America to OLA Restaurant in Miami Beach.Begin your gastronomic adventure with a specialty mojito then be prepare to be blown away by Chef Rivadero's' world renown ceviches. Entrees are prepared with a creative combination of Pan Latin, Spanish and Caribbean flavors.
My husband and I ordered many things so we could share & taste!
They serve a wonderful gluten free bread with cheese
Ceviches:
Tuna & foie gras (amazing!!!) - the Kumquat-yuzu sauce was out of this world
Hamachi Nikkei - beautiful presentation and delicious flavors
Wahoo ceviche with watermelon - yummy yummy yummy!
Kobe meatballs in foie sauce - out of this world!
King crab salad - wish it would have been a larger portion - we inhaled it!
Braised pork - Slow cooked with black bean broth, steamed yucca, celery root and black trumpet mojo - we asked for jalapenos to spice it up - it was devoured!
Flan de Queso for dessert - Pistachio cake, mixed berry salad, guava foam, and balsamic vinegar reduction sauce

When we are back in SOBE we will visit OLA again for sure!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OLA1745, Owner at Ola at the Sanctuary, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
We are very pleased to hear you had a great dining experience at Ola Restaurant and noticed you were able to try quite a few things on our menu. Thank you for your review and we hope you will visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    428
    120
    48
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“One of the best restaurant experiences in South Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Ola is a real gem. A mid sized restaurant that is very inviting, bustling with activity but is easy to have a conversation in. Very deep menu, great wine list with expert service.

I've eaten here several times and have never been disappointed. You can make a meal out of several of the small plates or feast your way through the courses of the menu.

Each and every dish is superbly prepared and served in perfect portions. The presentations are well done.

If you go see if you can request a table in Alejandro's section. His service is spot on!

Try this place once and you will return again each time you visit SOBE...

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OLA1745, Owner at Ola at the Sanctuary, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
We are very pleased to hear you had a great dining experience at Ola Restaurant Thank you for your review and for being a returning guest and we hope you will visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Hood”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

It was good food really enjoyed the trip there and valet was sooooo packed. They lost my keys in the drain but I would come back

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OLA1745, Owner at Ola at the Sanctuary, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
We are sorry to hear that Valet lost your keys while you were dining at Ola. We are not affiliated with the Valet/Parking services. However we are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your dining experience at Ola Restaurant. Thank you for your review and we hope you will visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Best ceviches ever (and much more)!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

The ceviches are out of this world. We tried the Hamachi and the Corvina ceviches and they were indescribably seasoned and soooo tasty. Next were the meatballs: delicious. Last was the churrasco a lamb filet that I still feel in my mouth. I wished this meal never ends!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OLA1745, Owner at Ola at the Sanctuary, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your dining experience at Ola Restaurant. We read you enjoyed the different ceviches we have available and we have a lot more on our menu list for your next visit :). Thank you for your review and we hope you will visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Latin Eats”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

We found the food to be innovative and well prepared -- our server told us the Chicharron ("Crispy rock shrimp coated with rice and corn flour with a sweet and spicy panka sauce with micro cilantro") would melt in our mouths and it did! Very delicious. The staff are passionate and knowledgeable about the menu, the prices are what you would expect and the location is only a block from the Delano. Overall, we had a very good night and would come back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OLA1745, Owner at Ola at the Sanctuary, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your dining experience at Ola Restaurant. Thank you for your review and great compliments towards the staff. We hope you will visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ola at the Sanctuary also viewed

 

Been to Ola at the Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ola at the Sanctuary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.