We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best restaurant, the best menu and the best service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ola at the Sanctuary

Ola at the Sanctuary
1745 James Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
305 695 9125
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Ola at the Sanctuary is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 985 Restaurants in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $65
Cuisines: Latin, Central American, Caribbean, Spanish, Cuban, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: 17th
Description: Good for Romance, Special Occasions, Entertaining Clients, Large Groups, Private DiningDinner Options: Reservations, Dessert, Late Night, Out door Dining, Private or Semi Private dining available for large groups
Saint Simons Island, Georgia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“The best restaurant, the best menu and the best service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Ola is located in the Sanctuary Hotel about one block north of Lincoln Avenue. When you enter the hotel, you are in the restaurant Ola. They have both indoor and outdoor seating. This restaurant is quite exceptional. The decor is beautiful and sexy.
We love restaurants that make it easy to sample their fair through a combination of apps and small plates. Ola delivers for those who enjoy variety and easy sampling. We started with a ceviche, there are about ten to choose from. You could make a dinner out of their many ceviche. The Mystery Meatballs are excellent and the sauce is fabulous. We split the Churassco steak and then finished with the Tres Banana dessert. It was outstanding and the service was attentive and helpful. It is clear that this is one of the leading upscale restaurants in Miami Beach.
If you need a cab, just walk a block to Lincoln Avenue and any or the cross streets should have available cabs.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Russ106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,066 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Special Anniversary dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

The food in this restaurant is simply spectacular . We were guided on our choices by our wonderful waiter Jackson from Venezuela. He described the dishes perfectly and was very attentive. We received a selection of complimentary ices with Happy Anniversary written with chocolate. Beautiful surroundings, delicious food and great Martinez's

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ulsteron2ur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ola is a solid choice on Sobe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

The service was great. Everything she did, said and told us about was spot on. The atmosphere and ambiance was decent for a couples dinner. The food was very good. We shared one of the ceviches, the sugar cane tuna, lobster empanada and the cigar dessert. Salad and bread too. Everything I would recommend save the empanada.

Would recommend and go back

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hye Goes T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Genius”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

The chef at this restaurant is a genius. Who could think of making lobster empanadas with squid ink and make it taste so good? This is one of the top restaurants we have been to. You can see all the zagat awards on the wall as a proof that this is no ordinary restaurant. Everything we had here was amazing.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank samAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent meal in Miami beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I celebrated our 20th anniversary at Ola. Alejandro and other service staff were great. Food was delicious. We had the mixto seviche, which was amazing. The lobster and short rib empanadas were yummy. We really liked the smoked marlin tacos, but both thought that less mayo/sauce would have made them better. We also split the Cuban pork entrée, which wasn't huge but was outstanding. Wine list included St. Supery sav. blanc, one of our napa favorites.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank prosier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ola at the Sanctuary also viewed

 

Been to Ola at the Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing