We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better luck next time” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Plaza Miami Beach North

Save Saved
You added Howard Johnson Plaza Miami Beach North to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Howard Johnson Plaza Miami Beach North
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   8701 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33154 (Formerly Howard Johnson Plaza Dezerland Beach & Spa)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free High Speed Internet
Ranked #166 of 201 Hotels in Miami Beach
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    30
    55
    44
    47
See reviews for
74
51
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

When we walked in the hotel looked like it should not belong in miami beach.it was old n not up to date. It is in desperate need of a paint job. The big open bar space was abandoned n when we checked in our room wasn't ready for the 3pm check in. When we finally got to our room.it was small and out dated, including the old tv. I went to take a shower n there was very little pressure and the water kept changing from hot to cold. Then we were charged 13 $ a day for parking and 13$ resort fees which is ridicules. Then the hotel couldn't even have a free continental breakfast. This was our first trip to Miami n and was really disappointed with this hotel. I would not recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria R, Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Miami Beach North, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the to share your review. We are constantly looking to improve service and your feedback will certainly help us do accomplish that. We apologize that not 100% of your stay was to your satisfaction.

Again thank you for providing your comments and giving us an opportunity to improve for all of our valued guest.

Best Regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The propertie need urgently a full renovation I dont going to sell the chain very bad wi fi conection and the smell of all the areas is very very bad

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria R, Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Miami Beach North, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Valued Guest,
We appreciate your feedback and thank you for taking the time to provide us with your comments, every bit of information is valuable to us. I apologize that every aspect of your stay was less than 100% satisfactory. The appropriate departments have been notified regarding the comments so that way may improve the areas of concern you have mentioned. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Best Regards.
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our experience with the staff was great. Loved the service and the hotel is in a very good area on the beach walking distance to almost everything as far a shopping. Very clean facility, a little outdated but it all works so not too bad would of loved to have had HD TV but it worked for us since we only spent 2 night there.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria R, Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Miami Beach North, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Valued Guest, Thanking you for choosing us and taking the time to provide your feedback. We are pleased to note that you enjoyed our location, and the hospitality of our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Best Regards, Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

ENGLISH Y ESPANOL: Everything about the hotel is so-so. It's got all the basics, even a pool and decent location, but it's not optimal in any way. No hay nada que resalte de este hotel pero tampoco tiene nada malo.

English:
It's hard to review this hotel because there was nothing bad nor anything great about it. It's got all the basics, even a so-so pool and it's directly on the beach, but still cannot reach four stars bc it needs some updates and could be slightly better located. Parking there is very expensive so is the breakfast - and it's a pretty crappy breakfast. You're much better off going into Surfside (a very quaint old Miami-style restaurant area) but it's too far to Walk every day. But if you drive it's less than 5 minutes. A plus is you are straight on the major Miami Beach thoroughfare (Collins Ave), which also has the north/south bus route, which is great, but most hotels are right on the bus routes in Miami Beach because it's so narrow.
Note: many complain about the cleanliness and unfriendly workers, but I found that the housekeeping staff kept the rooms clean and they were very kind and attentive.

ESPANOL
¿Cómo critico al hotel, si no tiene ni bueno ni malo? Cumple con todo lo básico, y hasta tiene una piscina (nada fuera de este munro) y está en la misma playa. Pero está en Miami Beach NORTE, que quiere deicer que para llegar a la acción de South Beach tienes que pasar o 40 minutos en bus o manejar bastante, pero sinceramente me ENCANTA Surfside. Es una zona de los 60's o algo por el estilo de Miami Beach. Para los que no aguantan las cosas que no son nuevecitas nuevecitas nuevecitas, pues les molestará que el hotel necesite remodelación. A mi no me molestó la verdad. Lo que sí me molestó fue que decidí no alquilar un auto porque el estacionamiento era tan caro y tuve que ir a Surfside a desayunar todos los días porque el desayuno era super caro y para colmo era una porquería. Para llegar a Surfside tardas como una media hora caminando, 5 minutos en auto, o 10 minutos en bus. Lo bueno: como casi todos los hoteles en Miami Beach, tienes acceso directo a las rutas de bus. Estás en la misma avenida principal de la playa: Collins Ave.
Notar: muchos se quejan de la limpieza y de empleados antipáticos, pero mi habitación estaba limpia y los empleados fueron muy amables conmigo.

Room Tip: All rooms have a bit of a view whether they are on the side or directly facing. There might be some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria R, Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Miami Beach North, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Valued Guest,

We'd like to take the time to thank you for writing such a detailed review. We are glad that your overall experience was a good one that you enjoyed our location, the service, and the value.



Again, thank you for choosing to stay with us - We hope to have the opportunity to have you back.

Warm Regards,

Howard Johnson - Miami Beach North Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Its not a luxury hotel, its very simple but confortable. Everything was working well, i have nothing to complain.
I've found a cheap hotel and its good enough for the price I've paid.
If you are looking for a better hotel and if you can afford it, go and book an expensive one and do not complain for what you are paying for.
The hotel has a great location (Close to the Bal Habour Shopping), very close to Collins, Ocean Drive and every good place to be in Miami!
I would go back and stay there again!

The negative point is the WiFi that didnt work in the room. Every time we needed it we had to go to the reception.
i think is a point that should be invested because nowadays its something that we cannot live without.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria R, Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Miami Beach North, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Guest,
I'm glad you enjoyed our beach and thought us to be in a great location. I'm sorry the Wi-Fi was not working in your room, I will make sure to notify our provider of this issue.
Best Regards, Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Plaza Miami Beach North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Plaza Miami Beach North

Address: 8701 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33154 (Formerly Howard Johnson Plaza Dezerland Beach & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#99 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Plaza Miami Beach North 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Wyndham, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, BookIt.com, Tingo, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Howard Johnson Plaza Miami Beach North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Dezerland Beach Miami Beach
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Dezerland Beach And Spa
Howard Johnson Plaza Dezerland Beach & Spa
Howard Johnson Miami Beach
Miami Beach Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Plaza Miami Beach North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;