We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decadent” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Plaza Miami Beach North

Save Saved
You added Howard Johnson Plaza Miami Beach North to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Howard Johnson Plaza Miami Beach North
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   8701 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33154 (Formerly Howard Johnson Plaza Dezerland Beach & Spa)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free High Speed Internet
Ranked #177 of 201 hotels in Miami Beach
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Decadent”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Four year ago (2010) was a good hotel; today (jan/2014) is not the same, plus there charging for parking and sports facilities, free before. Great location (North Miami Beach), quiet location opposite the beach.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria R, Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Miami Beach North, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Guest,

I apologize if you were not aware of these charges prior for the parking and the resort fee prior to your arrival. We are so happy that you enjoyed the great beach location. Thank you for your comments as all feedback helps to improve the hotel.

Best Regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    25
    46
    38
    43
See reviews for
68
41
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is perfectly located on the sea cost - however the design is quite outdated, and the breakfast included in the price is quite pure vs. European breakfasts; the staff is really helpful - special thank to Omar, who was helping us to have a real honeymoon experience here! Thank you very much !! - Beata & Geza from Hungary

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria R, Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Miami Beach North, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

We are so happy you liked out beach location and that you thought our staff was helpful. I will be sure to let Omar know the comment you left for him on a job well done. We hope you enjoyed your honeymoon and that we will see you again.

Best Regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great location! Front desk staff awesome! HIGHLY recommend updating entrance, and more accessible! Too many steps! Not very up to date with handicapped accessibility as well.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria R, Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Miami Beach North, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent visit. I would also like to thank you for recognizing a job well done by our front desk staff. I will communicate your concerns regarding the entrance and handicapped accessibility as all comments help to improve our hotel.

Best Regards.
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Maria
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I booked this hotel through bookit and the description they have on this place is not the same as reality. If you want to be let down this is the perfect place. You will be disappointed on this hotel at almost every turn. One positive thing about this place is the staff was pretty friendly and the hotel is on the beach. Aside from that get ready for the let downs. Do not be like me and think everyone on here is exaggerating they are not.

1) the description mentions continental breakfast .. guess what .. its not included you will have to pay for a breakfast $10 each person buffet .. bland food .. save your money there is a Denny's 1 mile down the street half price and gourmet food compared to what they serve. I have never stayed at a hotel that mentions continental breakfast in their page description and only to not offer it at the hotel so why mention it ?? As far as I am concerned deceptive advertising. Even motel 6 offers free coffee in the morning in their lobby .. NOPE .. not even coffee in the lobby.

2) "There is never a dull moment with tons of fun in the sun, premium shopping, amazing dining, and of course the universe`s hottest nightlife". Also part of the description .. its no where near anywhere within walking distance unless you take a cab or taxi or bus .. to even buy something for lunch .. hell a snack unless you eat there. There is nothing but a used up bar with a dance floor that use to be there but other than that you are not near anything .. but if you just want peace and quiet and nothing happening .. its the perfect place for you.

3. FREE Wireless Internet Access???? Really .. unless you are in the lobby go to one side of the room and you get no access you have to be in the lobby .. want internet from your room .. nope you are not going to get it ... you will have to come down from the 7th floor or the 9th floor .. to get internet access .. and slow at that, you gotta be in certain areas .. another joke.

4. if you want to stay in a room that is so outdated .. rooms so worn down .. it looks like no one has put money in to it .. for the last 10 -20 years .. this is your hotel .. take a trip down memory lane .. because you can see that at one point in time this hotel had some class.

We called bookit after our first night to get the hell out .. the rooms were so damn small. They were able upgrade us to bigger rooms which made it more tolerable so we stayed and I know on a weekend on short notice it might have been hard to find another place. There was no charge for the upgrade and they were very helpful. But in retrospect, I wish I would of just changed places.

Room Tip: if you need affordable choose some where else this is not the place to put a damper on your vacation...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria R, Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Miami Beach North, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,
T
hank you for taking the time to post a review. We would like to apologize for falling short of your expectations during your stay. Unfortunately the breakfast is not included in the hotel stay as the restaurant is separate from the hotel. We are sorry you were not aware of his and will make sure to notify the third party you booked with so that the information can be corrected for future guests. We are happy to hear you like our location and the staff treated you well. Thank you again for your comments.

Best Regards,
Hotel Management
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Yes the price is cheap, but the hotel needs some SERIOUS renovation.
The hotel itself smells like armpits, WIFI Only works downstairs in the lobby. It looked and smelled dirty.
The hallways smells, the rooms all smell like if they were for smoking, the rooms where dirty. The bathrooms where dirty and dusty. The kitchen was nasty.
The service at the pool sucked, and the pool itself wasnt bad but it was run down.
Had tile chips INSIDE the water. I kept stubbin my toe hen i'd walk.

Would i visit again? Probably not.. Would i recommend it.. Heck No!!
At the end of the day, you get what you paid for.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria R, Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Miami Beach North, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the taking time to post your review. I would like to take this opportunity to apologize for falling short our expectation due to a few issues you have encountered during your stay. I would communicate your concern to maintenance and housekeeping so that they can correct any issues.

Again, thank you for staying with us and for providing your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Plaza Miami Beach North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Plaza Miami Beach North

Address: 8701 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33154 (Formerly Howard Johnson Plaza Dezerland Beach & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#103 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Plaza Miami Beach North 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Priceline, Wyndham, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Tingo, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Howard Johnson Plaza Miami Beach North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Dezerland Beach Miami Beach
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Dezerland Beach And Spa
Howard Johnson Plaza Dezerland Beach & Spa
Howard Johnson Miami Beach
Miami Beach Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Plaza Miami Beach North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.