We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont Let the Price Fool You!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Plaza Miami Beach North

Save Saved
You added Howard Johnson Plaza Miami Beach North to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Howard Johnson Plaza Miami Beach North
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   8701 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33154 (Formerly Howard Johnson Plaza Dezerland Beach & Spa)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free High Speed Internet
Ranked #177 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Dont Let the Price Fool You!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Yes the price is cheap, but the hotel needs some SERIOUS renovation.
The hotel itself smells like armpits, WIFI Only works downstairs in the lobby. It looked and smelled dirty.
The hallways smells, the rooms all smell like if they were for smoking, the rooms where dirty. The bathrooms where dirty and dusty. The kitchen was nasty.
The service at the pool sucked, and the pool itself wasnt bad but it was run down.
Had tile chips INSIDE the water. I kept stubbin my toe hen i'd walk.

Would i visit again? Probably not.. Would i recommend it.. Heck No!!
At the end of the day, you get what you paid for.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria R, Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Miami Beach North, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the taking time to post your review. I would like to take this opportunity to apologize for falling short our expectation due to a few issues you have encountered during your stay. I would communicate your concern to maintenance and housekeeping so that they can correct any issues.

Again, thank you for staying with us and for providing your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    21
    39
    31
    39
See reviews for
54
36
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Hotel is old, furniture is horrible: with spots and holes, old-fashioned TV from last century, we have only 2 working outlets to plug in in our room. Rooms not be cleaned until you ask, lack of towels, room maid always put only 1 towel set in our room in spite the fact that there were 2 people in room. Sunbeds in the beach was distributed by person who usually was late: Italian man shows up sometimes by noon, sometimes by 9-10 am, so people had to sunbathe on the their towels or on a sand. Also he collected sunbeds by 6 pm, and did not let people who show up around 5 pm to use them. And last one totally inappropriate thing: instead announced $12 hotel fee per day they charged $14: $13 + taxes! Pros: jacuzzi, drinks and prices in bar, ocean beach nearby.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria R, Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Miami Beach North, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Valued Guest,

We appreciate your feedback and thank you for taking the time to provide us with your comments, every bit of information is valuable to us. I apologize that every aspect of your stay was less than 100% satisfactory. The appropriate departments have been notified regarding the comments so that way may improve the areas of concern you have mentioned. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Best Regards.
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conway, South Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is OLD so realize that before you book; if you're looking for high-dollar, fancy hotel, this is not it. If you are looking for a place to shower and sleep this could be the place for you. The lobby, lobby staff, pool, pool bar, pool bar staff were very accommodating. It's just an OLD hotel, built probably in the early 1950's. I loved that instead of carpet the floors were tiled, OLD tile but who cares, tile beats carpet any day in my opinion.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria R, Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Miami Beach North, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. I am thrilled that you found us a good value and that our staff made you feel welcome. We hope you will be back to visit with us again.

Best Regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

no frills hotle room, few outlets to plug in anything you may need. AC units failed in 2 rooms so I had to transfer to a new room, ( twice ). No fresh drinking water in vending machines. Smoke smell in my room even though it was a non smoking section ( floor).

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria R, Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Miami Beach North, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I would like to take this opportunity to apologize for falling short of your expectation due to other guest smoking and not having fresh drinking water. We do have non-smoking floors but unfortunately, some guest do not comply. Whenever incident like this is reported, our security is dispatched to put an immediate stop to such violations. As far as the drinking water, I’m sorry we did not have it in the vending machine we will be contacting our vendors to see if this is something we can obtain for our vending machines.

Best Regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Aside from the hotel being completely outdated (which I could deal with), the infestation of roaches is beyond disgusting. If you're lonely and need company this is the place to go... Roaches will keep you company in bed! Three Roaches were crawling on my bed. Absolutely ridiculous! And the electricity went out three times in the 5hrs we were there. Don't bother staying there... We couldn't even stay the night... We left at 2am!!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria R, Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Miami Beach North, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I would like to take this opportunity to apologize for falling short due to the few issues you mentioned in your review.
Maintenance and Housekeeping have been notified of your comments to make sure these issues are taking care of moving forward and pest control has also been called . Thank you again for your feedback.

Best Regards, Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Howard Johnson Plaza Miami Beach North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Plaza Miami Beach North

Address: 8701 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33154 (Formerly Howard Johnson Plaza Dezerland Beach & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#100 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#177 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Plaza Miami Beach North 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Howard Johnson Plaza Miami Beach North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Dezerland Beach Miami Beach
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Dezerland Beach And Spa
Howard Johnson Plaza Dezerland Beach & Spa
Howard Johnson Miami Beach
Miami Beach Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Plaza Miami Beach North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.