We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nasty!!!!!!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Plaza Miami Beach North

Save Saved
You added Howard Johnson Plaza Miami Beach North to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Howard Johnson Plaza Miami Beach North
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   8701 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33154 (Formerly Howard Johnson Plaza Dezerland Beach & Spa)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free High Speed Internet
Ranked #176 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Miami
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nasty!!!!!!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Oh my god what was wrong with this dump!!!!! Years ago I stayed here but nothing like how it was the lobby smelled like arm pit nasty pool not enough chairs bathroom gross all I have to say is department of health please shut this place down ghetto gross scary!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    20
    33
    28
    36
See reviews for
45
34
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The staff in the hotel was very helpful and friendly. But the hotel is stuck in time, more especifically in the 1960's. It is very clean, but it does need a make-over to keep with the times. The cafe/bar is great, the food excellent and the staff very friendly. The location is great, hopefully they do some renovations to it. It will bring in more guest. My overall experience was good.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The location is great. On the ocean with wonderful park, playground, running/walking paths, great food about a mile away. Far enough from hustle of South Beach but close enough to visit for the day or night.

Most of the staff was friendly and helpful. However they need 3x the staff. Stayed over 4th July weekend. Extremely busy and very understaffed. They few cleaning staff they have were constantly cleaning during all hours and disturbing to guests. The common areas are cleaned around 9am when everyone is out and about. The pool is not ready till about 10.

The building is very old and in need of a complete overhaul. EVERYTHING is falling apart. The hotel doesn't look at all like pictures online. The lobby is bare, the restaurant doesn't have the cars. It is totally neglected. I didn't feel safe. No smoke detectors, broken pieces of tiles everywhere, and exposed wires.

The room (suite with kitchenette) was very comfortable, with sink, microwave, refrigerator, and sitting area. The view to park and beach was great. The room was clean. But everything was very very old and worn and seemed a little unsafe.

The pool area is Terrible. Dirty pool. Dirty pool area. Dirty bathrooms. Dirty hot tub. Dirty restaurant. Unsupervised children, overcrowded pool. No hotel staff at all ever in area. Guests running wild, drinking, dancing, total ghetto area.

Look elsewhere. Will never stay here again.

.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria R, Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Miami Beach North, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Valued Guest,

We appreciate your feedback and thank you for taking the time to provide us with your comments, every bit of information is valuable to us. I apologize that every aspect of your stay was less than 100% satisfactory. The appropriate departments have been notified regarding the comments so that way may improve the areas of concern you have mentioned. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Best Regards.
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This hotel is nothing but old Dirty and smells big time! It needs MAJOR revamping! I felt bad for the kind employees who have to work in this filthy environment! Howard Johnson need to spend the money and renovate this place big time or they need to close it down! I don't know how this hotel can own up to their customers making them believe they are going to Miami for a wonderful vacation, when in fact they are going to cry! Please trust me when I say go to another hotel in Miami or stay home!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Dirty, roaches ,and the worse the next room it was a fight at 5 am you can hear every thing from the next room bad don't go there!!! I feel I was staying in some housing project my advise pay more for something better

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria R, Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Miami Beach North, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I would like to take this opportunity to apologize for falling short due to the few issues you had encountered during your stay. . The appropriate departments have been notified of the issues you have mentioned so that we can improve upon this for future guest. Best Regards, Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The rooms were very clean and they had awesome ocean views. The manager of the hotel was very nice and truly interested in providing the best customer service. The elevator sometimes got stuck but it would be rapidly fixed.
It has a very nice jacuzzi and a big pool. The pool has a children's part and then a big deep area for adults. The hotel is in front of the beach. Please note that you have to pay for parking and a resort fee per day. It is in total $26 daily.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria R, Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Miami Beach North, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to share your review. I am delighted that you loved our ocean view as much as we do and that the room was to your satisfaction. I will make sure to pass on your comments to the manager of the hotel to service that was provided by him to you. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best Regards, Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Howard Johnson Plaza Miami Beach North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Plaza Miami Beach North

Address: 8701 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33154 (Formerly Howard Johnson Plaza Dezerland Beach & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#98 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Plaza Miami Beach North 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Wyndham, BookIt.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Howard Johnson Plaza Miami Beach North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Dezerland Beach Miami Beach
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Dezerland Beach And Spa
Howard Johnson Plaza Dezerland Beach & Spa
Howard Johnson Miami Beach
Miami Beach Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Plaza Miami Beach North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.