We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very poor the hotel itself plus staff.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Plaza Miami Beach North

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Plaza Miami Beach North to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Plaza Miami Beach North
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   8701 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33154 (Formerly Howard Johnson Plaza Dezerland Beach & Spa)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free High Speed Internet
Ranked #169 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Limerick, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very poor the hotel itself plus staff.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Do not go there. The hotel looks as if it hasn't been renovated since the 80's. It looks old, it smells old. Rooms extremely basic, used up, smelly and looking dirty. Staff's attitude horrible. I haven't experienced such an unfriendly and uninterested approach anywhere so far. Those people seem to be punished and offended every time they need to open their mouth to speak to the client. On the last day there was a line of people waiting for hours to check in as " the system was down". No explanation, no appologies, it was obvious they were a nuisanse to the staff and they were treated alike. I spent a week there as it was close to my friends house but honestly I wouldn't recommend it to anyone. The only plus is the pool area that is accaptable and proximity of the beach.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    35
    75
    57
    49
See reviews for
92
64
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

This place is in disrepair. Everything. The rooms are small, every bed in the hotel is a double, it's truly horrible. We are afraid about bugs and no wonder since the place is in horrible shape and no doubt would not look clean even if the walls were bleached. The internet I the rooms does not work. It's 1 am and there are a bunch of us sitting in the lobby using the internet. We were not expecting much but the ceramic mismatched floors and the hard beds and the ugly toilets and the bathtub with the chunk missing are just too horrible. We checked in late and it's too late to leave and find another place but I would gladly lose the ninety bucks if it were 4 pm. Do not stay here. Howard Johnson's should be ashamed.

Room Tip: Don't stay here. It's worse than some youth hostels I have stayed tin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

We left a gift card in the safe. The maid, or some other employee stole it. Manager was unresponsive, always in a "meeting". The front desk lady hung up on me twice when I asked for the mgr. And on top of it all, the room was a dump, dirty, gross, the pool was nasty, the beach guy was mean. I wouldn't wish this stay on anyone!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Lobby Uninviting! I arrived at 10:00pm no one was at the Front Desk so I hit the Bell waited 10 min hit the bell again and waited 5 minutes. An unfriendly lady finally came from the Office(as if I was disturbing her) and Checked me in. I didn't care for the area AT All!! Shops/Eateries too far off from Walking Distance! I checked out in the Morning!!! Won't go back!! Old Needs Updates Badly!!!!!!

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was a rip off. It is a filthy place with roaches on d wall. The hotel is nothing like u see online.the floor in d rooms are dirty, d carpet in d hallways are nasty.was a real disappointment. Pay a little extra and stay somewhere else. Read reviews before booking. Sorry we didnt

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson City, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

When I travel, I make sure the hotel has a gym. This hotel advertises it has a gym. The first day at the hotel I searched for the gym to no avail. When I asked the front desk I was told they no longer had a gym. I stated their web site states they have a gym and I was told in a rather disgusting manner their web site says many things they don't have. On my last night, my heat went out in my room. When I went to the front desk, I was met by the same arrogant attendant. He promised a service person would come. Three hours later no service person. When I enquired again, I was met with the same smirk and same response. Fortunately, another attendant exchanged my room.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Saying here is a trip to the past. Old cars in the lobby. Characters in the lobby. Most of the main floor space is empty. Rooms are clean and roomy. Nice pool area with hot tub. On the beach. Reasonable parking fee.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Plaza Miami Beach North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Plaza Miami Beach North

Address: 8701 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33154 (Formerly Howard Johnson Plaza Dezerland Beach & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#101 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Plaza Miami Beach North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Plaza Miami Beach North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Dezerland Beach Miami Beach
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Dezerland Beach And Spa
Howard Johnson Plaza Dezerland Beach & Spa
Howard Johnson Miami Beach
Miami Beach Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Plaza Miami Beach North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.