We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tacos for after the beach or late night” 5 of 5 stars
Review of T-Mex - CLOSED

T-Mex
235 14th St, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly San Loco) (Flamingo / Lummus)
(305) 538-3009
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Seating, Takeout
Neighborhood: Flamingo / Lummus
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great tacos for after the beach or late night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

The Guaco Loco is a hard taco resting in guacamole inside a soft taco shell. They have options of ground beef, fish (chunks, fried) or chicken (my favorite - is shredded). I have been eating the Chicken Guaco Loco with hot sauce and jalapenos (they are pickled not fresh) at this place for more than a decade and I never miss it when I'm on South Beach. They have bottled Mexican beers to accompany (not a full liquor bar). This is a still-have-sand-on-your-flip-flops kind of place so if you want to be served you should go somewhere else, but then you'll have to rinse your feet off.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Service...bof... Food, very good. 17% mandatory surcharge, nop!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

Normally, I would pay a mandatory 17% tip service charge on the bill only if I got that the equivalent in courteous and prompt service for which they didn't.

Overall, the food is pretty good but I don't care how it's a law on that street that you're charged a 17% tip on top of subtotal and taxes... Not worth it.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Elie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“good quick food but 18% tip???? c'mon”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

Nothing fancy.. just the annoying thing is that regardless of whether or not they do anything, in addition to tax, they tack on an "18% gratuity". Certain establishments (like this one) do not earn that amount in tips, and if you saw the place, and the ambiance, you wouldn't tip either.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Dave N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good food...cashier took a while to warm up”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2011

I found this place about 10 years ago on a visit and remembered it as a neighborhood take out hangout. I raved about it then.
Same place but upon walking in this time the girl taking orders took a while to warm up to us. Took her ages to take her hand off her face and get up off the stool she was sitting on bored out of her mind. She finally came around and explained some menu items to us. The Chicken Tacos I had were great and also the Beef Macho Taco was good too. Sides of Rice/Beans served in a little hard taco bowl very nice. Liked the food a lot if you can get past the bad service. Next time I will get my food for take out. It is open till 5/6 am so I guess it's your late night snack coming out of the bars.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MdcToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scituate, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
64 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great quality and very cheap”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2011

Now called T-Mex and opposite Cafe Deuce on 14th. They make everything fresh to order. It is great value for money and damn tasty Mexican food with a couple of beers. A much better way to spend your money than on the strip. Check it out - also Lime is a good alternative over on Alton.

  • Visited February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SCITUATED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed T-Mex also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing