We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tacos for after the beach or late night” 5 of 5 stars
Review of T-Mex

T-Mex
235 14th St, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly San Loco) (Flamingo / Lummus)
(305) 538-3009
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #306 of 842 Restaurants in Miami Beach
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night
Neighborhood: Flamingo / Lummus
Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great tacos for after the beach or late night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

The Guaco Loco is a hard taco resting in guacamole inside a soft taco shell. They have options of ground beef, fish (chunks, fried) or chicken (my favorite - is shredded). I have been eating the Chicken Guaco Loco with hot sauce and jalapenos (they are pickled not fresh) at this place for more than a decade and I never miss it when I'm on South Beach. They have bottled Mexican beers to accompany (not a full liquor bar). This is a still-have-sand-on-your-flip-flops kind of place so if you want to be served you should go somewhere else, but then you'll have to rinse your feet off.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    12
    5
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Service...bof... Food, very good. 17% mandatory surcharge, nop!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

Normally, I would pay a mandatory 17% tip service charge on the bill only if I got that the equivalent in courteous and prompt service for which they didn't.

Overall, the food is pretty good but I don't care how it's a law on that street that you're charged a 17% tip on top of subtotal and taxes... Not worth it.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“good quick food but 18% tip???? c'mon”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

Nothing fancy.. just the annoying thing is that regardless of whether or not they do anything, in addition to tax, they tack on an "18% gratuity". Certain establishments (like this one) do not earn that amount in tips, and if you saw the place, and the ambiance, you wouldn't tip either.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Good food...cashier took a while to warm up”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2011

I found this place about 10 years ago on a visit and remembered it as a neighborhood take out hangout. I raved about it then.
Same place but upon walking in this time the girl taking orders took a while to warm up to us. Took her ages to take her hand off her face and get up off the stool she was sitting on bored out of her mind. She finally came around and explained some menu items to us. The Chicken Tacos I had were great and also the Beef Macho Taco was good too. Sides of Rice/Beans served in a little hard taco bowl very nice. Liked the food a lot if you can get past the bad service. Next time I will get my food for take out. It is open till 5/6 am so I guess it's your late night snack coming out of the bars.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scituate, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great quality and very cheap”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2011

Now called T-Mex and opposite Cafe Deuce on 14th. They make everything fresh to order. It is great value for money and damn tasty Mexican food with a couple of beers. A much better way to spend your money than on the strip. Check it out - also Lime is a good alternative over on Alton.

  • Visited February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed T-Mex also viewed

 

Been to T-Mex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage T-Mex, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.