We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good quick food but 18% tip???? c'mon” 3 of 5 stars
Review of T-Mex

T-Mex
235 14th St, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly San Loco) (Flamingo / Lummus)
(305) 538-3009
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #267 of 869 Restaurants in Miami Beach
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night
Neighborhood: Flamingo / Lummus
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“good quick food but 18% tip???? c'mon”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

Nothing fancy.. just the annoying thing is that regardless of whether or not they do anything, in addition to tax, they tack on an "18% gratuity". Certain establishments (like this one) do not earn that amount in tips, and if you saw the place, and the ambiance, you wouldn't tip either.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    21
    7
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good food...cashier took a while to warm up”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2011

I found this place about 10 years ago on a visit and remembered it as a neighborhood take out hangout. I raved about it then.
Same place but upon walking in this time the girl taking orders took a while to warm up to us. Took her ages to take her hand off her face and get up off the stool she was sitting on bored out of her mind. She finally came around and explained some menu items to us. The Chicken Tacos I had were great and also the Beef Macho Taco was good too. Sides of Rice/Beans served in a little hard taco bowl very nice. Liked the food a lot if you can get past the bad service. Next time I will get my food for take out. It is open till 5/6 am so I guess it's your late night snack coming out of the bars.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scituate, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
65 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great quality and very cheap”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2011

Now called T-Mex and opposite Cafe Deuce on 14th. They make everything fresh to order. It is great value for money and damn tasty Mexican food with a couple of beers. A much better way to spend your money than on the strip. Check it out - also Lime is a good alternative over on Alton.

  • Visited February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
92 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Bad food. Run away fast!!!!””
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2010

T-Mex. This place lives up to it's name. (Tyrannosaurus-Mex)
I had a prehistoric fish taco. They said it was Cod but was some cold hard petrified breaded thing that was a fish in a former life. A chicken taco had some untastful
White dinosaur meat in it. The guacamole I ordered had no taste either and was served in a rancid corn shell.

I could not even eat this disgusting excuse for food.
Unless your drunk and don't know what you're eating,
I'll recommend that you stay away!!!!!

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ehhh... Just average...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

My husband and I went here on a recent visit to South Beach. I had the chicken nachos and he the chicken burrito. Nothing spectacular but quite edible. It was reasonably priced. The food was pretty basic, shredded chicken, jalapenos, etc. Its definitely a place to go when you don't want to spend much. I'd give it another try.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed T-Mex also viewed

Miami Beach, FL
Miami Beach, FL
 

Been to T-Mex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage T-Mex, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.