We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Management” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Cabana Miami Beach

Save Saved
You added Hilton Cabana Miami Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6261 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140 (Oceanfront)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 20%
Ranked #61 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
1 review
“Bad Management”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My friend and I stayed at this hotel for the 4th of July holiday. The décor was beautiful but the staff couldn't be worse. We called the front desk 2 days in a row because it was the afternoon and our rooms still hadn't been cleaned. Lastly approximately 7 days after check out they charged a resort fee when this hotel is not a resort at all and never disclosed that information to us upon check in. Just remember that "everything that glitters aint gold."

Room Tip: Always specify how high up you'd like to be and always request the type of view you'd like t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    8
    8
    1
    5
See reviews for
21
8
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

It was a beautiful location although a bit far from the places we wanted to go to but we were mainly planning to go to the beach. All the staff was friendly but the restaurant and housekeeping staff was really bad. Also out first room had some problems with the outlets not working and the thermostat being broken. First for the housekeeping: on out first day of our stay, housekeeping hadn't cleaned our room and it was almost afternoon, so when we were leaving to go sightseeing we directly asked the housekeepers to clean our room. The house keepers said yes they would get right on it but when we came back hours later our room hadn't been cleaned. We called the front desk and they said that they would clean our room at whatever time we wanted the next day. We chose 11:00 am as the time they would clean our room. At 1:00 pm the next day they still hadn't cleaned our room so the front desk talked to them directly and we had no more problems. The next complaint I have is about the restaurant and room service. The first night of our stay I ate at the restaurant and my stomach became upset which was annoying. The next morning room service messed up our order and the tea and hot chocolate tasted terrible. The earl gray tea I had tasted metallic and my hot chocolate was just hot water and milk mixed with bitter cocoa powder. It was as bitter as can be! Almost every time we ate at the restaurant after that day, our food took way to long to come and we were charged wrong for our order. Everything else was perfect and the hotel smelled like BBQ and perfume. If that hotel was a perfume I would wear it.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed one night, July 16th, at the Hilton Cabana hotel. We had planned on staying two nights but upon arrival and exploring we decided it as too far north ($15 cab ride one way) to most of the places to eat on Lincoln and Ocean Drive areas. Beautiful small hotel in the condo district. There is a 7 Eleven across the street and a few fast food restaurants near. A few restaurants/bars 4 or 5 blocks away but nothing very close. Hotel has been open about 3 or 4 weeks. Everything was new and it is very nice. If you are seeking to just hang on the beach and relax, this is a good place. We were very pleased that the staff helped us move to the South Beach Hilton without any change fees etc. Service was good at the hotel as well. Two pools with one at the beach that is small and one on the 3rd floor with cabana’s etc. In short, if you looking to get out and shop, hit restaurants and night spots you should stay at the Hilton Bentley (awesome hotel). If you want to get away from most everything this is a good hotel for that. As a little disappointed as we were told the vacancy was low and we were not upgraded to an ocean room as the Bentley did for us but overall it’s a good hotel choice if the location works for you. Only other negative about South Beach is that they put an 18% service charge on every place you go. In Fort Lauderdale and other areas they do not. We usually trip more than that but never add if it is automatically included as it seems many servers get 18% if they try to please the customer or not. While South Beach if fun we moved up to Fort Lauderdale Beach Hilton and love the area much better.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Jersey
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We just got back and had had a really nice stay. Everything about our stay was great except for the actions of one member of the management staff, who single handedly pulled the needle off the record. First I will go over the positives, and there are a lot. Although this is by no means an inexpensive place to stay, nowhere worth staying in Miami Beach is. You are away from South Beach and it was very relaxing during the days. The staff could not be more friendly and helpful. From the bartenders to the cabana girls at the pool to the staff on the beach, they could not have been more helpful and really went out of their way. the front desk staff and bell staff were very attentive, with particular kudos going out to Monique.

The rooms are very nice, we had an oceanfront balcony with a great view of the beach. Rooms were clean and beds were comfortable. Our room had an extra half bath, which was great.

We felt the food at the restaurant was very good, although we only ate breakfast and lunch, mostly at the bar or pool. The one time we sat down at the restaurant for breakfast, the service was BAD, really bad. It was incredibly slow. My wife ordered a croissant with her breakfast and they brought out a bagel. They said it would take a minute to replace, came to the table 3 times the rest of our meal to see if we got it, but we never did. Then they brought the bill with it still on. The waiter seemed at a loss as to how to take it off the bill and we waited 15 minutes to get it corrected. The real issue, I think, is that the young lady who seemed to be the manager was too busy delivering food and busing tables to do her job as manager.

Now I will get to why I will not go back. The last night of our stay, we had an issue wit the night manager regarding billing. We had put the room on one credit card, but ended up spending a lot more at the hotel then we thought we would, so we were going to switch credit cards at check out. Imagine our surprise when we got back to the room our last night and found we were locked out (keys did not work) and a copy of our bill showing we were about $100 over the limit on the card was taped to the outside of the door where anyone could see all the details of our stay. When we went down to the front desk, they got the night manager. I am not going to give names, but this girl was unapologetic, even after we updated the credit card information, and treated us like we were common criminals. She said they tried to contact us, but we did not answer and that this was their policy. There was no message on either of our phones. There was one missed call on our room phone (the one in the room we were locked out of). Quite frankly, for someone in the hospitality industry, she had no people skills whatsoever and I would advise the hotel to keep her from interacting with the clientele as much as possible. really a sham because everyone else there was so nice. I did not like the way we were treated and I did not like the fact our personal information was taped to the outside of our door. So despite what was otherwise a really nice stay, I won't be going back.

Room Tip: Get a waterfront view on an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This hotel is brand new, with an extremely helpful and energetic staff. The rooms are spacious and very clean (the hotel is brand new) with spacious showers and actual King size beds. We were ocean front and had a magnificent view of the beach and pool area, with a huge balcony. The public areas and pools are really nice - and beach-side, with plenty of pool towels. We got two free beach chairs with our room, which I've never received before in all my travels. The pool bar makes really good drinks, and has a large screen TV for watching sports (World Cup soccer). The valets quickly open the front doors as you enter and leave, they hustle the cars around very quickly, and they were very helpful with directions. The front desk staff (Arthur, in particular) couldn't have been more helpful; every request was jumped on, and he even sent some items that we left behind to us, after personally searching for them. The manager, Michael, quickly authorized Arthur to fix a reservation mistake that I had made, and we were immediately allowed to go to our room while they cleared it up for me. The cleaning service in our room was great, with our room and bathroom being cleaned very thoroughly. On checkout, due to MY earlier booking mistake, there was an issue to be worked out that was fixed immediately by yet another manager at the hotel. I can't say enough great things about this hotel. The location is right on the beach, and there is a pizza place, liquor store, Subway sandwich shop, and other amenities within a 10 minute walk right on Collins Ave. I will be looking for excuses to return to this property!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

I absolutely loved the hotel staff especially the valet staff. Everyone was so friendly and accommodating. We wanted to visit little Havana while in Miami and German suggested things to do including eating authentic Cuban food at Versailles. German couldn't have suggested a better place it was delicious and affordable ( Miami is an expensive place to visit)!

I would have loved breakfast in bed,but room service was too pricey. Ihop is just a couple of blocks away. We had a nice ocean view room but you could hear the guest in the next room. Overall a great hotel and I will stay here again on my next visit to Miami!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My husband and I stayed at this hotel during the 4th July weekend (3 nights).
We booked a 1 KING BED PREMIUM ROOM-OCEANFRONT-BALCONY. When we arrived we got a room at the 7th floor with view on the roof top. So we asked for a change and we were happy that they immediately accommodated us at the 9th floor with a a much better view. The hotel has 10 floors (the 10th is for the penthouse). The room was welcoming, spacious and clean. The balcony is perfect to enjoy the breeze and the view on the ocean in front of you, even if the hotel is squeeze between two tall apartment complexes so the view on the side is limited.

The hotel opened two weeks before our arrival so all was NEW, which is a plus. However, we thought that a few things were still to be better organized. For example, the service on the beach for towels and chairs can be improved. The personnel was kind but a bit slow.
The restaurant needs major improvement for the dinner menu. The launch menu good, although overpriced. However, we had dinner at the hotel the first night and it was so bad that i could not finish it (I had the sting-ray and it was super greasy, un-eatable!!) My husband is French-Belgium and found spelling mistake int he menu and did not appreciate the deep fried duck (which was supposed to be something else according to the name of the dish).

The concierge service is very good and you can trust Benjamin and his crew with their suggestions for things to do around and for helping with shuttle transportation. In general you would expect that they offer a free shuttle service form the Airport, this is not the case for this location, but at least they help you with taxi or private shuttle at a decent cost.

The hotel is closed to the bus stop (line 120, L or S), if you want to take to go to the north beach or to the south beach. There is a small gas station nearby which sells food, drink and other goods. However, there is no good restaurant at walking distance.

All in all, we were happy but not overwhelmed. We think they ares still adjusting their service since they just open and you have to accept that everything is charged extra (including your umbrella on the beach!).

Room Tip: look for top floor (8th-10th) in room with balcony. If you take a regular room your view on the beac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Cabana Miami Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cabana Miami Beach

Address: 6261 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > Oceanfront
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Cabana Miami Beach 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This upscale, Art-Deco style ten-story hotel is located on famous Collins Avenue, north of South Beach, and includes 119 feet of beach front property. Convenient to all that South Florida has to offer, Hilton Cabana Miami Beach is set within the quickly emerging sub-market to South Beach known as "Millionaire’s Row" that is filled with restaurants, entertainment and nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Venere, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Despegar.com so you can book your Hilton Cabana Miami Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Cabana Miami Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.