We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monty's Raw Bar

Monty's Raw Bar
300 Alton Rd, Ste 102, Miami Beach, FL 33139-8914 (South Pointe)
305-672-1148
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #346 of 858 Restaurants in Miami Beach
Price range: $25 - $35
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: South Pointe
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Really beautiful place to (almost) watch the sunset, right on the marina. its maybe a little cheesey, but the raw bar deals during happy hour are the best you'll find in south beach and its always good. Havent tried much of the new menu but it seems to really have improved. love the casual, outdoor local vibes

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    91
    44
    26
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I only come to this place a few times a year. But it is wonderful. I love the food, service, and location. There is also a wonderful boardwalk to walk on after you eat.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Washington
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Happy Hour!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Recommend for Happy Hour! Great deals and great people watching! And bird watching...it's fun to watch the little birds try and sneak in and steal crackers.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
238 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
“Monty's Mediocre at Best”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Upon arrival we were met by a not so charming server and seated outside as requested. We asked about specials and happy hour specials. She grimaced and said she was not sure. We suggested she go find out. Meanwhile we waited and waited and watched the boats...and to our surprise some good sized rats making their way from the edge of the restaurant across to some bushes and a structure by the sidewalk dock side located closest to the restaurant. These rats were not on night patrol. Given this restaurant has so many open air spaces it was clear to us where they were eating. Waitress came back and we ordered a few glasses of chardonnay and a platter of seafood. Oysters were well cleaned and fresh, stone crab was a yellow type that was just OK, shrimp were tasty but previously frozen. Tip of 15% was included and we did not leave a dime more. We had dinner elsewhere later.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Way Over priced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

I was a little disappointed with my bill after excellent service by a phenomenal waitress Cierra at Monty's. The food was not really extraordinary. I could have taken a boat or car simply somewhere else for half as much. For that amount I could have easily walked over to Joe's Stonecrabs or or any of high end restaurants in that area for food twice as good as what I had.
Just very disappointed for food that shouldn't be priced that high.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monty's Raw Bar also viewed

 

Been to Monty's Raw Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monty's Raw Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.