We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monty's Raw Bar

Monty's Raw Bar
300 Alton Rd, Ste 102, Miami Beach, FL 33139-8914 (South Pointe)
305-672-1148
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #333 of 898 Restaurants in Miami Beach
Price range: $25 - $35
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: South Pointe
Miami, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I only come to this place a few times a year. But it is wonderful. I love the food, service, and location. There is also a wonderful boardwalk to walk on after you eat.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    86
    42
    24
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, Washington
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Happy Hour!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Recommend for Happy Hour! Great deals and great people watching! And bird watching...it's fun to watch the little birds try and sneak in and steal crackers.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
237 reviews 237 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
298 helpful votes 298 helpful votes
“Monty's Mediocre at Best”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Upon arrival we were met by a not so charming server and seated outside as requested. We asked about specials and happy hour specials. She grimaced and said she was not sure. We suggested she go find out. Meanwhile we waited and waited and watched the boats...and to our surprise some good sized rats making their way from the edge of the restaurant across to some bushes and a structure by the sidewalk dock side located closest to the restaurant. These rats were not on night patrol. Given this restaurant has so many open air spaces it was clear to us where they were eating. Waitress came back and we ordered a few glasses of chardonnay and a platter of seafood. Oysters were well cleaned and fresh, stone crab was a yellow type that was just OK, shrimp were tasty but previously frozen. Tip of 15% was included and we did not leave a dime more. We had dinner elsewhere later.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Way Over priced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

I was a little disappointed with my bill after excellent service by a phenomenal waitress Cierra at Monty's. The food was not really extraordinary. I could have taken a boat or car simply somewhere else for half as much. For that amount I could have easily walked over to Joe's Stonecrabs or or any of high end restaurants in that area for food twice as good as what I had.
Just very disappointed for food that shouldn't be priced that high.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We were looking for a place to eat after going on a boat tour at the Miami Beach Marina. We wanted something nice but casual and Monty's was perfect. First, parking at the Marina was free, which is almost unheard of in Miami Beach, so I loved that! You have the option of sitting by the pool outside (yes, they have their own pool), or inside where you can cool off from the heat. The menu had a good variety of options...I had the lobster and shrimp wrap. The portions were very generous and it was excellent. Everyone in our group liked their meal. I also thought the prices were reasonable for the area. I would recommend this place for all ages and will return on my next trip to Miami Beach.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monty's Raw Bar also viewed

 

Been to Monty's Raw Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monty's Raw Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.