We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sanctuary South Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sanctuary South Beach to your Saves list
Sanctuary South Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1745 James Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Trip Advisor Only Rate
Ranked #80 of 201 Hotels in Miami Beach
Castelfiorentino, Italy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

the general service was good specially the helpfulness of the concierge but the breakfast quality was poor. no bread at all, no hot milk, no kind of salty food and the jam was really poor. it can be easily improved

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio L, Manager at Sanctuary South Beach, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback. I will definitely look closer to your review and work on improving all the points you mention.

We hope you give us another chance in the near future.Please email me at iluciano@meninhospitality.com in order to book your next stay.


Regards,

Ignacio Luciano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    101
    49
    39
    52
See reviews for
30
143
20
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Myself and my boyfriend stayed for 3 nights in late June. We arrived and went through some of the check- in process before being told to come back because our room wasn't ready. On returning we had to go through the process again with a different guy (same questions), there was then an issue with the system so it took around half an hour. Although it was annoying and an inconvenience the staff were very apologetic and offered us a free drink at the bar that evening.

On entering our room it was lovely and spacious but it was quickly apparent there was a bug infestation. They were all over the bed, in it and under the pillows. The bed obviously hadn't been changed for a long while, which was strange as we had been made to wait for a room in the first place.

I spoke to the manager who did find us a new room although he wasn't particularly apologetic.

The room was lovely to look at but in reality it was worn, not particularly clean and generally in disrepair. The 'steam shower' didn't have the correct buttons to work, the toilet roll holder didn't stay in the wall properly, the balcony doors didn't close or lock (kept in place by a block of wood) and the lovely big television didn't have any channels and therefore was useless.

The location of the hotel was absolutely great, only round the corner from the beach and right in the middle of the main tourist areas. Furthermore the staff were lovely, the guy on the front desk personally rang our room to apologise for the bugs which was very kind of him, he was also very helpful with recommendations and helping us get across to the sister hotel. 'The gale' is a very short walk away and has lovely rooftop swimming pool and a gym. I would definitely recommend staying there.

Unfortunately on returning home I realised i had left a fairly expensive bikini in the bathroom of our room. I immediately emailed explaining where I had left it and if it could be arranged to have it returned. I am yet to receive a reply over 3 weeks later.

I had read reviews that suggested some of the staff were not entirely honest and prefer not to take too much notice, however when no one has got in touch about my missing belongings after so long I do start to have questions.

Overall this hotel is in a great location, the front desk staff we came into contact with were lovely and very helpful.

I am not a 'picky' traveller but this hotel is not worth what we paid for it. Of the 9 hotels we stayed in of very varying quality over a three week period this was by far the most disappointing. It is worth getting a lower rated hotel for less money that would be in better condition.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio L, Manager at Sanctuary South Beach, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Guest

Thanks for your review. I looked into our emails and I did not see any email requesting a bikini. We do have it here in our lost and found. We have been calling the number you provided and it is disconnected. I also emailed you, and it looks that the email provided belongs to another person.

Please email me at iluciano@meninhospitality.com in order to take care of this asap.

Regards,

Ignacio Luciano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyc
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

I went to SoBe for my birthday. My friends & I had a great time. The service was great & everyone & I mean everyone was friendly & extremely helpful. The location was great & convenient. I will be back next year.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio L, Manager at Sanctuary South Beach, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Guest

I am so glad to know you and your friends enjoyed your stay at the Sanctuary South Beach. Please email me at iluciano@Meninhospitality.com in order to block the best room and rate for you next year stay.

Regards,

Ignacio Luciano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

While in Miami for a conference, a friend and I decided to share a room at the Sanctuary due to the location from the convention center and also a WALK away from the beach! The rooms are very 'trendy' and feel nice. We really weren't in the room for all that long but it did serve it's purpose. There are a few things here and there that could be updated - like the little window by the bed that really doesn't seem to lock so well.

The staff and customer service was great, plus the free breakfast was a definite plus! I would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio L, Manager at Sanctuary South Beach, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Guest

I really appreciate the time you took to review your recent stay at the Sanctuary South Beach. Thank you very much for your kind comments, I will definitely share them with the entire hotel staff.

Please email me at iluciano@Meninhospitality.com in order to get the best rate next time you decide to visit South Beach.

Regards,

Ignacio Luciano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

This honestly was the best hotel ever. Everything from the room, to the food, and everything in between was just fantastic. Luis, Maria, and Eddy were exceptional. They routinely would check up on us via text message to insure that our stay was nothing less than superior. If you are looking for a relaxing, friendly, and convienient place to stay, this is definitely the place for you!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio L, Manager at Sanctuary South Beach, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Guest

Firstly, many thanks for writing a review about your recent stay at the Sanctuary South Beach. It is a great pleasure to know you received an excellent customer service from Eddy, Maria and Luis. We hope to have you stay at the Sanctuary in the near future. Please email me at iluciano@meninhospitality.com in order to get the best rate.

Regards,

Ignacio Luciano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

I finally came around in writing a review.. Me and my boyfriend booked this hotel for a 3night stay in May- and we have to agree that it was the best service and hotel ever. For my boyfriend he has been to Miami numerous of times, for me it was my first. He was very pleased, and we agreed whenever we return to Miami...SANCTUARY HOTEL will be the ONLY hotel we will stay in!! :)

1. Eddy (reception) is very very polite, nice and helpful- we LOVED him!
2. A block away from the beach and the loud Collins ave- its a perfect hidden spot that is yet around everywhere you want to be.
3. Room is spacious, clean, and the bed is very comfortable

Room Tip: The second floor is best but if you would like a nice Buddha Fountain outside your hallway, the firs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio L, Manager at Sanctuary South Beach, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at the Sanctuary South Beach. I am most delighted to know that you enjoyed your visit and you consider us the ONLY hotel to stay in (South Beach). We hope that you will visit us soon, please send me an email at iluciano@Meninhospitality.com in order to get the best rate.

Regards,

Ignacio Luciano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I have been staying at the Sanctuary once or twice a year for the past 5 years... and this time was no different.. Eddy is just wonderful.. and I can't wait to return in November! This is the only hotel for me on South Beach.. Rooms are spacious and that bed provides some of the best sleep ever, although i didn't do much sleeping.. It's SOUTH BEACH.. DUH!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio L, Manager at Sanctuary South Beach, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your awesome review on TripAdvisor. We are very honored to have you at the Sanctuary South Beach every year. Thank you for your great comments regarding Eddy.

We hope to see you in November, please email me at iluciano@Meninhospitality.com in order to get the best available rate.

Regards,

Ignacio Luciano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sanctuary South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary South Beach

Address: 1745 James Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sanctuary South Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sanctuary Hotel and Spa is in an ideal South Beach setting for those who want to be away from it all but in the middle of it all. Our four star boutique hotel is located steps away from Collins Avenue, the Fillmore at Jackie Gleason Theater, Miami Beach Convention Center, New World Symphony, Washington Ave., and Ocean Drive. Whether your trip is business or leisure our knowledgeable staffs will guide your South Beach experience and make sure that exceptional service is unlike any other Miami Beach Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sanctuary South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctuary South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Sanctuary South Beach Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sanctuary South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;