We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice stay, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sanctuary South Beach

Save Saved
You added Sanctuary South Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sanctuary South Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1745 James Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Trip Advisor Only Rate
Ranked #79 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Manhattan ad Maas
1 review
“nice stay, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

nice hotel, great service, perfect location and very nice ammenities
near lincoln road mall and the beach, with good beach service
nice rooms and friendly staff
valet parking accross the street
breakfast sufficient and lovely fresh waffels

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio L, Manager at Sanctuary South Beach, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your nice words regarding your recent stay at the Sanctuary South Beach. I am glad to hear our perfect location and good service met your expectations. I hope you stay with us in the near future. Please send me an email at iluciano@meninhospitality.com in order to get the best rate.

Regards,

Ignacio Luciano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    103
    95
    45
    38
    51
See reviews for
29
132
19
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

I enjoyed my stay at the Sanctuary immensely. The suite was spacious, and the minimalist design was cool and relaxing. The location is close to Lincoln Rd., the Bass Art Museum, Collins Ave., and the beach. There's a beach club 4 blocks away that will set you up with lounge chairs and towels. (A $15/day resort fee covers the beach club, WiFi, and breakfast.)

What made my stay at the Sanctuary most special, though, was the warm, attentive service from Maria, Luis, and Eddy. For instance, I requested a wine glass and a cork because I had opened a bottle of sparkling wine, and they were sent up in minutes. (It was even a sparkling wine glass.) The guys who worked at the beach club were great, too.

I will recommend staying here to friends who visit Miami, and I hope to return.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio L, Manager at Sanctuary South Beach, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Guest

In the name of the entire Sanctuary South Beach staff, we want to thank you for such lovely review on Tripadvisor. The front desk team is always at your service and I am very glad to hear they made your stay the "most special one".
I hope yo welcome you at the Sanctuary in the near future, for another Lovely stay. Please email me at iluciano@meninhospitality.com in order to get the best rate.

Best regards,

Ignacio Luciano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

We have spent our spring break at the gorgeous Sanctuary in South Beach. We stayed in their SPA Penthouse, and this is a fantastic room. Spa rainforest shower, glass and beautiful Art Deco decor, large outdoor deck where you can sunbathe or take a siesta. Feng shui design throughout the entire place to facilitate for a balanced, relaxing and re energizing atmosphere. You really feel amazing here. Live bamboo growing inside the middle of the hotel, fresh ocean air circulating in their amazing zen garden, pool is great too. It is very clean and extremely comfortable for our family vacation. The restaurant downstairs Ola serves delicious Cuban American Fusion cuisine. Yummy choice for dinner. Service has exceeded our expectation. Everyone from front desk staff, management, to cleaning and breakfast wait staff has been wonderful and helping us experience an amazing stay. The beach service is also fantastic, we had enjoyed swimming very much. water is warm and waives were perfect to play In the Ocean for hours. Location is great, walking distance to all the party places and Lincoln St. We love it here and I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a getaway to paradise. We will certainly return soon to escape the snow and spend winter break in paradise again : ) Thank you Sanctuary for a dream vacation!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio L, Manager at Sanctuary South Beach, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your fantastic review on Tripadvisor. I am thrilled to learn you enjoyed your Spa Suite, its decor and the best of all, the relaxing atmosphere of the Sanctuary South Beach.
We look forward welcoming you in the winter, for another vacation in paradise. Please email me at iluciano@meninhospitality.com in order to get the best available repeat guest rate.

Best Regards,

Ignacio Luciano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW YORK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

I love this hotel. The name of the Hotel Sanctuary really fits. The staff were Awesome. Eddy,Luis and Andres. I love the fact that you text, to see how everything was going. Kudos to you guys. The only disappointment was i didn't get to use the pool at your sister property GALE. I was to buy :) . Overall wonderful stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio L, Manager at Sanctuary South Beach, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your lovely comment regarding your recent stay at the Sanctuary South Beach. It is great to hear our awesome staff, were able to assist you everywhere via text message. I hope you visit is soon, and you will be able to enjoy the pool at our sister property as well. Please email us at sanctuaryreservations@meninhospitality.com in order to get the best rate.

Best regards,

Ignacio Luciano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

They catered to our every need. Helpful about where to go fun and different foods. The staff was very friendly. The hotel was very pretty. Their food was excellent. I would recommend this hotel to family and friends. I would stay at this hotel on my next visit.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio L, Manager at Sanctuary South Beach, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your great feedback regarding your recent stay at the Sanctuary South Beach. At the Sanctuary, our associates always desire to provide the very best and will be grateful for your kind words. We do hope you will stay with us again. Please email us at sanctuaryreservations@meninhospitality.com in order to get the best rate.

Regards,

Ignacio Luciano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstable, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

We arrived at the hotel and Luiz at the front desk was not helpfull at all. We came with our hands full and carrying our luggages and he didn't eve try to open the door for us. He just stood there watching us until my husband asked if there was someone that could help us. The room was extremely dirty and dusty. There was a thick layer of dust on the fans and my daughter has asthma so we knew this was going to be a problem. We called maintenance right away so they could change the filter for the fan. The bathroom was dirty. The bathroom faucet was broken. The room smell was awful! The next day we talked to Carlos(hotel manager) and he was very helpful and offered another room. The other room was still dirty but not as bad as the other room. I will never go back and would not recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio L, Manager at Sanctuary South Beach, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to comment on Tripadvisor regarding your stay with us. I am so sorry to hear about your disappointing experience. I truly apologize for any inconvenience occurred. I am the Hotel Manager at Sanctuary South Beach and I will be always available to you. Please contact me directly in the future. I would be grateful for the opportunity to host you next time you visit Miami Beach. Do not hesitate to send me an email at iluciano@Meninhospitality.com in order to get the best rate.

Regards,

Ignacio Luciano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

I almost didn't write a review because I wanted to keep this place a secret- It's truly a hidden sanctuary set back from the craziness and noise of Ocean Ave. The room was large, the bed was comfortable, and the sauna in the bathroom was nice (although the lighting in the sink area was a little too dim). The best feature was definitely the roof top pool- which, although it didn't have water views, was nearly empty- during spring break week! The restaurant, Ola, is also fantastic- great tacos and dessert!

The service is also above and beyond- with the front desk texting us to check in on our stay, make dinner reservations, offer recommendations, etc.

For the price and the location, Sanctuary is a great find.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio L, Manager at Sanctuary South Beach, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank your for taking the time to comment your recent stay with us. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your large suite and roof-top pool deck. Our prime location lets you walk to all main attractions in SoBe and lets you rest at night in a comfortable bed hidden from all the craziness and noise. Once again, thank you for your comments and we hope to see at the Sanctuary soon. Please send us an email at sanctuaryreservations@meninhospitality.com in order to get the best available rate.

Best regards,

Ignacio Luciano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sanctuary South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary South Beach

Address: 1745 James Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#79 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sanctuary South Beach 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sanctuary Hotel and Spa is in an ideal South Beach setting for those who want to be away from it all but in the middle of it all. Our four star boutique hotel is located steps away from Collins Avenue, the Fillmore at Jackie Gleason Theater, Miami Beach Convention Center, New World Symphony, Washington Ave., and Ocean Drive. Whether your trip is business or leisure our knowledgeable staffs will guide your South Beach experience and make sure that exceptional service is unlike any other Miami Beach Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Sanctuary South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctuary South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Sanctuary South Beach Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sanctuary South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;