We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“South Beach Visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sanctuary South Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sanctuary South Beach to your Saves list
Sanctuary South Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1745 James Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Trip Advisor Only Rate
Ranked #70 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Saint Augustine, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“South Beach Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We choose the Sanctuary for it's proximity to the downtown area. It was easy parking, 1 block off the main street, great facilities for drinks and dining and the rooms were very cool! When we walked into our room, we thought it was a very modern apartment style. Cool furnishing, nice bathroom and the bedroom was very nice.
It is not a 5 star, but for the price it is great as your usually out and about most of the time anyway!

Clean, friendly and super location makes this a good choice without spending $$$!

We would go back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusto A, Manager at Sanctuary South Beach, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
On behalf of the entire Sanctuary Team, thank you for your wonderful compliments and for posting this great review. We take pride in ensuring our Guests have a seamless stay. Please contact me at aaguilera@meninhotels.com on your next visit to Miami.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    111
    54
    40
    52
See reviews for
32
153
23
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is nice but not a four star hotel it doesnt have a parking lot me and my husband stayed there last week march 26 through march 31 2013 ( last week) we had to park in a parking lot in front of the hotel which is the only one avaliable, in the Parking Lot They STOLE my sunglasses which I left in my car plus we are pretty sure they used our rental car cause the gas tank was half empty they even left garbage of food they ate inside our car so they probably used it all night cause we walked during the nights so I DOnT recommend this hotel where things get stolen from your car ! We were really upset and we noticed it when we were on our way to the airport so we couldnt complain. We will never ever stay in a hotel were the parking lot steals your things and the hotel kept the keys of our car during the night so they should be responsible of such terrible thing! dont recommend it at all! ALSo please notice that this was march /april 2013 but this page only allows us to write a complain for 2012 so silly ! MAFIOSOS

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusto A, Manager at Sanctuary South Beach, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
I’m very sorry to hear about your experience with the parking lot across the street, and we will bring your incident to their management’s attention as we take theft very seriously. I can assure you that this is not a common occurrence and none the less will make sure that this is addressed to prevent any future incidents. We truly value you as our guest and I hope to welcome you back in the near future to the Sanctuary South Beach. Please contact me at aaguilera@meninhotels.com on your next visit so I can coordinate a wonderful stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, California
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Came in room wile i was away ..evan though i displayed do not disturb on door.......went through my items ....missing items......and charged my card multiple times for deposit for items i didnt use....and when i checked out and asked to speak to mgr.....the girl at front desk laughed and said come back on monday to talk to mgr...knowing i was flying out same day.....when i said that i was getting on plane ....she laughed again and said "oh well" ......dont stay at this hotel.......not to mention doors dont lock ....wifi didnt work.........the danceing and bar above me on roof only private partys not for guests........T.V didnt work.........refridgerater didnt work.........and found a cigarette butt was in the bed ....

Room Tip: Dont stay there unless you want a view of a brick wall out window
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusto A, Manager at Sanctuary South Beach, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear T0mmy, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts from your recent stay at the Sanctuary Hotel. I apologize if the service that you received was unsatisfactory and for any inconveniences you went through during your recent stay at our hotel. We are taking your detailed feedback very seriously and will use it for training purposes as our goal is to provide exceptional service and create remarkable experiences for all our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Really interesting hotel, restaurant and club space. Rooms were comfortable and modern yet furniture and fixtures looked to be from Ikea. Cool rooftop deck. Staff were very friendly and immensely helpful for arranging travel plans, etc. Free breakfast was limited but decent enough. Good location and tucked away from the hustle and bustle -- however, the night club is on the roof and very noisy until at least midnight. We had to wake up early for our flight and this was not ideal. Overall, a good experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusto A, Manager at Sanctuary South Beach, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear WxmanMD, I apologize for the minor challenge you encountered with regards to the noise. We appreciate all feedback and recommendations so we can continue to improve our guest's experiences. We are delighted to hear that despite the challenge you encountered your overall stay was great. Please contact me directly at aaguilera@meninhotels.com on your next visit to Miami Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I haven't had the pleasure of staying at this hotel, however was invited to a party at their rooftop bar last night. It has a great view of the South Beach skyline, with a wading pool (2ft 10in max), plenty of secluded bench seating, a dance floor area and two bar areas. The rooftop is split into two sides with the elevator in the middle. It made last night's party great, because despite having a lot of people in a small space, the two areas made it seem less crowded.

The staff were amazing, extremely friendly, professional and helpful. They were on top of everything, making sure the area stayed clean the entire night. Only moments after setting down an empty glass someone would come by to pick it up.

I don't know their pricing, however from a guest's point of view, it is a great option for private parties.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

I just checked in to room 214 on January 19. While the overall furnishings appear to use high end furniture, Sanctuary skipped out on the important details. The bathroom shower and toilet look like they haven't been replaced while the hotel tried to renovate the rooms with modern furniture. The toilet is the old school round toilet seats rather than the extended new toilet seats that you would expect to come along with the decor of the overall room. The shower tiles were broken and left there with the possibility of guests hurting themselves on it. The microwave in the kitchenette was not cleaned before my checkin. It still had remnants of someone else's food in there. While there was a Keurig coffee machine and a few coffee capsules, there were no spoons or coffee stirrers. There was no complimentary tea either.

Internet was not working. After speaking to Tatiana who was nice enough to reboot the routers, I was able to connect but with speed worse than dial-up. Ultimately gave up.

Sanctuary was originally a motel before renovations; unfortunately my overall impression is that they still kept the feeling of a cheaper motel with lack of attention to details.

I have photos showing all of the above observations.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

We were in Miami for a volleyball tournament at the convention center...so perfect location just a few blocks away! Rooms were very clean, I requested a quiet room and was placed on the quiet side of the building. Bed was quite comfortable, plenty of room for our queen air mattress that slept a couple of players. Zen garden in the foyer with bamboo trees and trickling water was beautiful and peaceful. We needed extra pillows and sheets which we were given quickly. Continental breakfast was a nice start to the day. We also ate at OLA...the restaurant that flanks both sides of the entry---had a fabulous time with great food, drink and friends! Used valet parking ($30) and all was good. Loved it and will be back!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusto A, Manager at Sanctuary South Beach, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post this review. We are thrilled you decided to choose the Sanctuary and that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us! Your review will be shared with the entire Sanctuary team. Please contact me at aaguilera@meninhotels.com on your next visit so we can coordinate another great stay at the Sanctuary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sanctuary South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary South Beach

Address: 1745 James Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sanctuary South Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sanctuary Hotel and Spa is in an ideal South Beach setting for those who want to be away from it all but in the middle of it all. Our four star boutique hotel is located steps away from Collins Avenue, the Fillmore at Jackie Gleason Theater, Miami Beach Convention Center, New World Symphony, Washington Ave., and Ocean Drive. Whether your trip is business or leisure our knowledgeable staffs will guide your South Beach experience and make sure that exceptional service is unlike any other Miami Beach Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com and Tingo so you can book your Sanctuary South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctuary South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Sanctuary South Beach Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sanctuary South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.