We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Prima Pasta

Cafe Prima Pasta
414 71st St, Miami Beach, FL 33141-3016
305-867-0106
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 832 restaurants in Miami Beach
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Cafe Prima Pasta is one of the best Italian restaurant in South Florida.Since 1993 Cafe Prima Pasta has been nominated "one of the best" by The Miami Herald and Zagat.We specialize in homemade pasta, bread and desserts, this is the place choose by many celebrities such as John Travolta, Matt Damon, Don Shula, Steven Bauer, Cindy Crawford, Joe Jackson, Jon Secada, Gloria Stefan, Lili Stefan, Lenny Cravitz, Michael Jordan, Iggy Pop, the BeeGees, Fleetwoodmac, ub40, Charly Garcia, Calle 13, Mana, Diego Torres and many many more.Very Fresh Italian food and good service.Give us a try.
Westminster, Maryland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“What a gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

A lovely evening from start to finish. We chose to sit inside because the music outside was a little loud and because the inside was so lovely. Beautifully lit, and nice without being the least bit pretentious. We started with the beef carpaccio, which is divine: tender, sliced filet with lemon juice, olive oil, black pepper, and parmesan. Classic fettucini alfredo is a great way to test an Italian restaurant, and this one was just wonderful -- handmade pasta makes all the difference. We finished up with tiramisu, and it was perfect. Light and not too sweet -- a lovely little treat.

Dinner began with a cocktail, and the martini list is creative. The wine list is fairly priced (especially for the area,) and the red selections were nicely varied. The white list wasn't particularly interesting.

The service was professional and attentive, and never intrusive.

All in all, a must visit!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    531
    131
    40
    16
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hallandale
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Prima Pasta is an old favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We have been coming to this quaint, off the beaten track restaurant on 71st and Collins forever. It has never disappointed. The pasta is home made and you can't beat that. Even my kids love it, and they are hard to please. As a Realtor in the Miami market, I have brought tons of out of towners and clients to this eatery, and none have had a bad meal. Hard to say that anywhere in Miami. This is a definite go, but make reservations, or be prepared to wait!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Amazing food and staff !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

The food and the atmosphere is fantastic. All the staff are polite especially our waitress Virginia who was amazing. Try the pudding as they are homemade and delicious. It is easy to find, has a parking lot at the side and indoor/outdoor seating.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best Italian Meal and Homemade Cheesecake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

I'm Italian and grew up with great food. Cafe Prima Pasta hits it out the park with authentic Italian cuisine. The bread and tricolore salad with arugula, radicchio and Parm cheese were okay. But my main entree was amazing!!! I had Fiocchi Rapera, a homemade pasta filled with cheese, pear and topped with roasted prosciutto and truffle sauce. A perfect ending was the homemade cheesecake ... the best I've ever had!! Our waitress and waiters worked like a well oiled machine ... warm, friendly and efficient. You could tell by the framed celeb pics and old Italian charm that Cafe Prima Pasta is a favorite.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Our server Christian Fernandez was amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I went to Prima Pasta with two friends of mine, it was our first time at Cafe Prima. I must say the food was delicious and the prices were very cheap! Amazing, but what made this experience beyond great for us.. was the service. Our server was so great! Super friendly and had us laughing the whole time. We will definitely be back, so we can have Christian as a server! One of the best lunch experiences I've had in a while!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Prima Pasta also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Prima Pasta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Prima Pasta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.